We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Space Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
380 Russell Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Space Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Space Hotel
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    202
    72
    23
    27
See reviews for
32
100
174
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (508)
  • Mar-May only
    (130)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (125)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Space Hotel for a few days while in Melbourne. The hotel is nice, clean, and in a great location for the CBD; just one block away from the free tram zone. The bathrooms are shared with the rest of your floor, but thankfully are individual private rooms. The only negative is that the bathrooms were a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, your comments regarding the service you received from our staff is truly appreciated and has been passed on with thanks. We are aware that at peak times the bathrooms can get messy, additional cleaning can always be arranged at reception when needed. Many thanks for choosing to stay with us... More 

Shanghai, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the best ever hostel I have ever stayed. First, the location is strategic, only 500 meter on foot to the famous free tram stop 35, which is super convenient for travellers to visit CBD area. Second, the check in and out is very smooth and swift, in the time of check in, welcome with smile s given, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and our central location within the CBD area. Very sorry to hear about your missing milk,we hope to welcome you back to Space Hotel in the future. More 

Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Space Hotel was recommended by a girl I met earlier in my travels and I'm glad she did. I arranged to stay in a female only (after some not so great experiences in mixed dorms at other hostels) 6 bed dorm. Each person has a locker in room with enough space for backpack plus and a plug socket, TOWEL!! (such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your recommendations, it is lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and the facilities we have available in our dorm rooms. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our staff who work very hard to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable visit. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a week. I thought I would have jet-lag, so I shelled out for a single room. This came complete with a TV and alarm clock. It was a tiny space, but the air-con worked a treat, and the communal bathrooms were clean and numerous. The location is perfect; walking distance to everything worth walking to, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. It is great to read that you enjoyed our central location and took advantage of all the facilities we have to offer. You may be interested to know that we are currently in the process of updating our WiFi so this should longer be an issue for guests. We hope... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So perfect. Was the best backpacker we ever stay! It might be a bit more expensive than the cheapest one but its worth it. Its like a real hotel, the kitchen is amazing. The service and staff is amazing dont hesitate to tell them if there is noise or anything wrong they will take care of it in the minute.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. The staff love to hear our guests have enjoyed their time with us and the facilities we have available. We have a great team here and we certainly love what we do. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to them. We look forward to seeing... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed in some amazing hostels in my years of travelling through Europe and Australia and I can safely say this is the NOT one of them. Space Hotel (hotel, really? lol) is terrible. They promote themselves as a luxury hostel or poshtel which just makes me laugh bahahaha. I usually don't write reviews unless I feel something is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review constructive review, I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I was surprised to hear that you did not receive good customer service from our reception staff as we constantly receive positive feedback from our guests, on this occasion this was obviously not the case and for... More 

Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There's lots of great things to say about this hostel. Beds (I stayed in a bunk) were comfy and sturdy. I could feel it when the guy above me moved, but only minimally. Lockers provided with good security. There were female dorms and mixed dorms. I was in the mixed dorm and it was just fine. Bathrooms were individual in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for sharing your experience. It is great to read that you enjoyed our central location and took advantage of all the facilities we have to offer. We hope to impress you again on a future visit. More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All in all i can see why this place would cost a bit more than youre average backpacker stay. The facilities are pretty sweet. Personally i prefer a smaller place with a homier vibe - this place is just massive! Thats why its called a hotel i guess. However, how you dare to ask for an extra 5$ for limitted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went there with 5 friends and we were very well treated by the staff. We had a bad experience there with 3 English friends that used to talk loud late at night, but we changed rooms and everything after that was fine. The place is clean, the temperature is comfortable and the service is perfect. Furthermore, the price is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback our staff work very hard to ensure all our guests get the most out of their visit and love to hear when guests enjoyed their stay with us.We hope to impress you again on a future visit. More 

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a hotel to just stay in after I arrived from my 26 hour flight, It was clean and tidy, the kitchen areas were ok, and they look after your luggage if you need to hang around . The bathrooms were ok but its not ensuite. Shower was reasonably good. I dont remember being upset about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

285 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (85)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (40)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (149)
Viewed
Other (36)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Hot Tub (27)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (41)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question