We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Space Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
380 Russell Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Space Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Space Hotel
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    204
    74
    23
    28
See reviews for
32
101
177
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (518)
  • Mar-May only
    (140)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (125)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Woke up everyday like I had a broken back but apart from that it's alright nothing special. Handy that there's a bar open till lateish. As close as your likely to get to the city centre probably a 5 minute walk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, all feedback is essential for us to address any issues and to continue our usual high standard of accommodation. I was surprised to hear you did not have a comfortable sleep during your stay with us and would like to apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very impressed with this hotel, we wanted to save a few extra bucks so we decided to stay at this accommodation instead of the "flashier, expensive ones". We paid a great cheap rate that we divided between friends, our room was clean and newly furnished, modern style, on the floor we stayed on (bunkbed rooms) facilities were share... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review, we are happy to hear we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the facilities we have on offer here at Space Hotel and that you received the quality customer service which we always aim to provide our guests with. We look forward to welcoming you back to Space Hotel for another enjoyable visit. More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overnight stay in Melbourne with a few girlfriends, and The Space Hotel was the perfect place for us - really helpful staff, great location, immaculately clean room and private bathroom, and an amazing rooftop hangout area with great views of the city. Definitely planning to stay here again on my next trip down!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Space-Melb, Front Office Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we take pride in customer service and I am pleased you noticed this. I will certainly pass on your kind words to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Space Hotel in the future. More 

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great time here: clean, spacious, lots of facilities: bar, gym, cinema. More than enough bathrooms: I never had to wait for anyone. The roof terras is great. The location couldn't be better as it is a 5 minutes walk from Melbourne Central station. Wifi is not free.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We love to hear our guests have enjoyed their time with us and the facilities we have available and of course the wonderful views from our roof top area. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was clean, with basic facilities. Huge kitchen area for cooking, with washing machine & dryer. Quite away from city center (a little bit of walking required), but very near Lygon Street for Italian restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review, and for choosing to stay with us here at Space Hotel. Our dedicated housekeeping team work very hard to ensure the building is kept clean at all times and always love to hear positive feedback so I will be sure to relay your review to them. We hope to... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

To find something so well priced with a balcony and spa and good location in melbourne isn't easy. This little gem was awesome and more than expected. Wish we could stay longer. Very clean.. only negative was hard pillow but that's minor given the rest was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Space Hotel, so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to Space Hotel for another memorable visit. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

I had to be in Melbourne to sit for an exam and wanted an affordable room close to the exam venue and has a study table. I booked a single room (but was given a twin room, which is nice). The room had two beds and one table and a few power points. Toilets and showers are in the common... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Space Hotel and for sharing your experience. It is great to read that you enjoyed our central location and the facilities available within our twin rooms. Our communal bathrooms are cleaned at least 5 times a day; we appreciate at peak times they can get messy. For any future stays... More 

Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We stayed at the Space Hotel for a few days while in Melbourne. The hotel is nice, clean, and in a great location for the CBD; just one block away from the free tram zone. The bathrooms are shared with the rest of your floor, but thankfully are individual private rooms. The only negative is that the bathrooms were a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, your comments regarding the service you received from our staff is truly appreciated and has been passed on with thanks. We are aware that at peak times the bathrooms can get messy, additional cleaning can always be arranged at reception when needed. Many thanks for choosing to stay with us... More 

Shanghai, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

This is the best ever hostel I have ever stayed. First, the location is strategic, only 500 meter on foot to the famous free tram stop 35, which is super convenient for travellers to visit CBD area. Second, the check in and out is very smooth and swift, in the time of check in, welcome with smile s given, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and our central location within the CBD area. Very sorry to hear about your missing milk,we hope to welcome you back to Space Hotel in the future. More 

Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Space Hotel was recommended by a girl I met earlier in my travels and I'm glad she did. I arranged to stay in a female only (after some not so great experiences in mixed dorms at other hostels) 6 bed dorm. Each person has a locker in room with enough space for backpack plus and a plug socket, TOWEL!! (such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your recommendations, it is lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and the facilities we have available in our dorm rooms. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our staff who work very hard to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable visit. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

285 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (85)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (40)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (149)
Viewed
6-Person Bunk Room (12)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Communal Bathrooms (4)
Viewed
Excutive Queen Room (20)
Viewed
Hot Tub (27)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay