We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 112 Melbourne accommodations

The Greenhouse Backpacker

228 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
Hotel amenities
The Greenhouse Backpacker
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Greenhouse Backpacker to your Saves list
Ranked #31 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
714sam Melbourne, Australia
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    92
    46
    21
    14
See reviews for
6
50
107
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (236)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff were nice, expect for the two on the reception on my last day. Acted so unprofessional talking about me right in front of me. I didn't say anything just because I dislike confrontation. My room had no window which wasn't nice, now I ask every hostel I stay at for a window. I met friendly people, bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I have stayed in hostel for a week. Perfect accessible location, near railway station, bus and tram stops. Service and staff are pretty nice. The hostel organized various activities and one thing you must do! Join the city walk! Our tour guide Shanan was very professional. He clearly introduced tourist spots, history and customs of Melbourne City. He showed us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for 5 nights in a single room without windows so it felt a bit like a prison cell (not that I have ever tried it though). Toilets and bath were ok. Breakfast was very simple, but if you like corn flakes you will survive. Kitchen was often untidy which of course only the visitors can be blamed for.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed for 2 nights at this Hostel and the staff was friendly and location was pretty good and easy access to the airport. However, internet only works on the Top floor which is not ideal they should invest some money and make sure that all rooms get access to WiFi not hard on nowadays. Also, whenever you check out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was on my way back to Malaysia from Launceston, Tasmania and we decided to stop by Melbourne for 4 days for a short trip. A group of us, 5 guys 1 girl stayed at greenhouse throughout the trip and it was a fairly good experience. We got the mixed dorm at Level 3 and shared it with two long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at the hostel and it proved to be a reasonable stay. The rooms were a little stuffy as they had no windows but they provided clean sheets and the bathroom was excellent. There is also a floor that has a kitchen and plenty of tables to use for meals. Not bad for the value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We arrived late and the guy on reception was not overly friendly or helpful. We booked a double room and it was ok, but the bed was one of those doubles with the single bunk above and the room looked like an old converted office. The walls were very thin and you could hear everything. There were lockers however, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

This is a really good hostel, exactly what backpacking should be about. It's clean and modern and run well with a properly staffed reception and travel service. Breakfast is good and included in the room rate. The kitchen, showers and common areas are all clean and tidy. The rooms are small but in good condition with decent carpets and good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

This was my first stop in Australia and hoped it wasn't a sign of things to come. Greenhouse is quite a big hostel with lots of long termers who think they own the place and monopolise the pool table so no one gets a look in. The breakfast is minimal and the coffee is the worst I've tasted ever. That's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Rachel, Thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback. I’m sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would like to clarify that we do not have an association with Centerlink and our security procedures involve each guest only having access to their rooms and the floor it is on. In addition we have... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

For a central city location this hostel is pretty much perfect, 2 mins walk from tramlines, 5 mins from Flinders St station. I was very underwhelmed by the hostel in general, as it had fantastic reviews on the websites I read. Private room was very small, basic, too warm with no AC and absolutely no decor or colour. Women's bathrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Greenhouse Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Backpacker

Address: 228 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Greenhouse Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Backpacker Hotel Melbourne

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay