We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Melbourne

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Melbourne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Discovery Melbourne
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    63
    52
    40
    31
See reviews for
4
30
70
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (215)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
There are newer reviews for Discovery Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Extremely busy checking in long queues. Rooms and bathrooms adequate beds that we're extremly comfortable and a good night sleep was had. Facilities overall were average the bar area was the most disappointing. Felt and looked seedy. The location despite being in the CBD felt a fair way From the main attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Matt N, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Discovery Melbourne. Thank you for your comments, I am glad you had a good sleep!, that is definitely one of our priorities. Regarding the bar, we try to keep it interesting with daily events such as cheese & wine, Ladies night and beer pong. I'm... More 

Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went down with 9 blokes for the World Cup Final, the place was exactly what you'd expect, bunk beds in the room and not much else. They all looked clean enough, bar downstairs was a good launching point for the first night, showers stayed hot, the only thing that I probably could fault was the extreme lack of power... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Cobra1773, Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review. Your group was definitely a lot of fun!. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and your group for the world cup final. I am taking your comments on board regarding the power points in the rooms. This is something that has been raised by some of our guests... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've got disappointed as soon as I arrived at Discovery Melbourne. After you take all the time preparing and flying all you don't need a long waiting for a simple check-in. At the reception there was only 1 receptionist and I waited 35 minutes in a queue until it was my turn. The rooms are ok. The bathrooms need to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Genesi C, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay. Here at Discovery Melbourne we are all about guest experience. I am disappointed to hear we took such a long time to check you in, normally I request staff to take no longer than 5 minutes. May I ask at what time of... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great stay here, its in an excellent location in Melbourne CBD and in walking distance to most attractions. Free breakfast provided which is great for all, very comfortable rooms, and helpful reception staff. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear bethstraiton, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. Thank you for your kind words and for choosing us. Happy travels! Alejandro More 

berlikum
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A good hostel where you get what you pay for! I stayed with pleasure and a great location aswell! Especially the rooftop is lovely where I liked to chill before work and have delicious dinner at the cafe downstairs!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear ilselois, Thank you for leaving us your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Discovery Melbourne. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and enjoyed many aspects of the Hostel and your stay was pleasant. I am delighted to read your positive comments on the cafe and I will be certain to pass these... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

This hostel is without doubt one of my highlights of my stay in Melbourne. The residents are wicked, the staff even greater and chefs just to die for! People say 'Location, location, location' and this simply fits the bill. With vibrant clubs on the doorstep and a bar located downstairs this is a great way to meet other backpackers or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Staff very helpful and down to earth. Hostel very clean and has a good bunch of facilities. 5/10 minute walk to flinders. But you're walking down the main shopping road so isn't a problem. Everything nearby, supermarket and everything. Great stay, this is our second time and would stay again 👌

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Absolutely loved this hostel. My friend & myself had only planned to spend one night here however due to the loving/warm staff and the facilities we extended our stay to a week. The 24hr reception and security reassured our safety as we are both only young. The cafe had great food and at more than an affordable price and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoutelande, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

The location of the hostel is good, its just on the edge of the CBD and next to Queen Victoria Market, the (free) tram is 4 minutes walking. The staff is very friendly as well and the reception is opened 24h/day. Apart from that is the hostel quite dirty, even though the rooms are cleaned every day, its still a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Biel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We stayed in a 8 beds dormitory for 4 nights. The location of the hostel is very good but it's very expensive. We waited 30 long minutes for the check-in... I don't understand why they don't make a easier check-in... It's a waste of time for everybody... Fix it, please. The rooms smell something special that I could identify. Note... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Joris B, Thank you for leaving a review of your experience. Darn! We are so sorry that we did not reach your expectations during your stay. Firstly, regarding the prices of Discovery. I find difficult to hear that you found us overpriced because our rates are right there with the prices of other properties around Melbourne. Regarding check in,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question