We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Melbourne

Hotel website
167 Franklin St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Melbourne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Discovery Melbourne
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    59
    47
    35
    30
See reviews for
4
27
66
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (199)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hostel is without doubt one of my highlights of my stay in Melbourne. The residents are wicked, the staff even greater and chefs just to die for! People say 'Location, location, location' and this simply fits the bill. With vibrant clubs on the doorstep and a bar located downstairs this is a great way to meet other backpackers or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Staff very helpful and down to earth. Hostel very clean and has a good bunch of facilities. 5/10 minute walk to flinders. But you're walking down the main shopping road so isn't a problem. Everything nearby, supermarket and everything. Great stay, this is our second time and would stay again 👌

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Absolutely loved this hostel. My friend & myself had only planned to spend one night here however due to the loving/warm staff and the facilities we extended our stay to a week. The 24hr reception and security reassured our safety as we are both only young. The cafe had great food and at more than an affordable price and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoutelande, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hostel is good, its just on the edge of the CBD and next to Queen Victoria Market, the (free) tram is 4 minutes walking. The staff is very friendly as well and the reception is opened 24h/day. Apart from that is the hostel quite dirty, even though the rooms are cleaned every day, its still a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Biel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a 8 beds dormitory for 4 nights. The location of the hostel is very good but it's very expensive. We waited 30 long minutes for the check-in... I don't understand why they don't make a easier check-in... It's a waste of time for everybody... Fix it, please. The rooms smell something special that I could identify. Note... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Joris B, Thank you for leaving a review of your experience. Darn! We are so sorry that we did not reach your expectations during your stay. Firstly, regarding the prices of Discovery. I find difficult to hear that you found us overpriced because our rates are right there with the prices of other properties around Melbourne. Regarding check in,... More 

Québec
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Discovery has everything a backpacker needs to be happy. Smiles and tips from the lovely staff, big furnished kitchen, a travel agency with very interesting promotions, a bar with happy hour and even a cinema room with a great selection of DVD to choose from. I would recommend it to my fellow backpackers anytime. Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My Girlfriend and I were on a budget and had four nights here. We found more than we expected, A movie room, sheets, roof top chill zone. We cooked here and it was pleasant, We felt the back packer cheer and enjoyed the roof top and movie room. friendly and helpful front desk too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Breskens, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff in the hostel were very friendly and helpfull to stall are lugage. Cause we were early, they also give us a good location for cheap parking. Witch is great in a city. The breakfast was alright for a free breakfast. The only thing what i didn't liked at this place is paid wifi. This is a bit old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Best hostel ive stayed at in Melbourne, great staff, great facilities, really clean and the beds are really nice. Would recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to Melbourne. when i come back this will be my hostel of choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Discovery melbourne is one of the worst place I never have been. Common areas are dirty, the kitchen is a nightmare and it really need a huge reform. You have to pay for everything, wifi, luggage storage, safety box that is normally free in a hostel if you provide your lock. They also charge you 3% if you pay with... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question