We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Melbourne

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Melbourne
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    35
    68
    54
    43
    36
See reviews for
4
35
77
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (236)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With the busy city centre on your door step full or restaurants, bars and shops, and loads of activities going on all the time in the hostel from cinma nights to wine and cheese nights, I would recommend it to anyone! Ali and the other staff there are very friendly and helpful which is also good! 5*****

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant R, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear edwardlanrum, Thank you so much for choosing Discovery Melbourne. We love to hear this sort of comments from guests!. It means we are on the right track!. We work hard to make every guest enjoy the experience of staying with us. Once again, thank you for your comments. Kind regards, Alejandro More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an amazing time at this place. Good location, pretty much everything within walking distance. Super friendly staff, clean rooms and awesome amenities. The bar in the basement is great with cheap beers. Had a few awesome nights down there. ;-) Yummy food at the cafe as well. Over all a very good experience. Will definitely stay there again on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant R, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear MickCali, Thank you so much for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to see comments like this from our guests. It means we are heading on the right direction. Once again, thank you for choosing Discovery Melbourne. Kind regards. More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took a group of primary school students for a 3-day city camp. Horrible experience. They had double booked our floor with an RSA course! When questioned about it, they said they had completely forgotten about it. Security issues with backpackers and older students walking around, bad food, poor conditions, door handle fell off from the inside so the kids couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best place to stay for backpackers.Affordable, central, the staff are really friendly and there is always something going on. best place to meet new people!!! There is a kitchen, laundry, bar, travel agency and indoor cinema - an excellent choice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant R, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear RacheleL_1992, Thank you for choosing Discovery Melbourne. Thank you so much for your comments. We are working hard to make Discovery Melbourne memorable for every single one of our guests. If you're ever in town, please come see us. We'll love to have you again. Kind regards. More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a mixed dorm (4 persons) on Saturday night. Unfortunately the room we got has a long term tennant and his bed is messy and worst is very smelly and horrible! We can't even stand extra minute in the room. Another horrible thing is the shared toilet, which i'm unable to describe.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Grant R, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear fay7718, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If you were unhappy with the room we would've been more than happy to change it for you to a more comfortable place. I take your comments on board regarding our long term guest ans something has been done about it.... More 

Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Paid $190 a night for what was meant to be a twin room then when we got there they booked all the twin rooms out so they have us a two bunk bed room witch is on the best when you are on holiday with your missis, and the end of the corridor that are room came off there was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Grant R, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear coreym10, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Firstly, I am sorry you didn't enjoy the room that was allocated for you and your partner. You booked a twin room which is supposed to be a set of bunk beds in the room. When you arrived we allocated you to a room with 2 set of... More 

Vijayawada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

The place is old and is fine. Dormitories are populated with bunker beds and stuff of others. Got a upper bed :(. Experience should have been better if I have got a lower bed. Overall just fine experience, Value for money is 3.5 / 5.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

The staff was friendly and helped us with all our questions. There's free breakfast, which was quite limited but suited us perfectly. The only negative is that it's very cold everywhere, particularly in the bathroom. Good location!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015 via mobile

I Really enjoyed my two nights here. The staff were friendly and welcoming I was able to check in early into a big dorm, comfy bed, good showers. Good communal areas, easy to meet people. Kitchen was huge. Perfect location, two minutes from tram stop, two minutes to the queen Vic markets and five minute walk to central I'd stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Grant R, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Clayre J, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!. It is always nice to hear this comments from guests. We are currently working hard to upgrade our building and make it amazing!. If you're ever in town again, please come see us. We would love to have... More 

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

Quick summary: staff looked very uninterested, our double room was about 2 by 4 meters, the toilet-unit was a 'fair walk' (far enough for me not to go to the bathroom in the night), we only had a bed and a mirror and breakfast was average (just toast and cereals). On the bright side, we loved the location (next to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grant R, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear kjbooij, Thank you for your review. Firstly, I am shocked to hear the comments regarding the staff. That is not what our front office team is about. I always encourage the team to be as helpful as possible. Regarding our rooms. Sorry if we didn't reach your expectations. Our prices in double rooms $90 per night. They are indeed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Hotel Claremont
#83 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
King Street Backpackers
#66 of 104 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Nomads Melbourne
#11 of 17 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Space Hotel
#18 of 104 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#22 of 104 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
United Backpackers Melbourne
#11 of 104 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay