We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 113 Melbourne accommodations

Discovery Melbourne

3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   167 Franklin St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Discovery Melbourne to your Saves list
Discovery Melbourne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
46%
Ranked #57 of 113 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Niice
  • Overview
  • Reviews (110)
  • Photos (38)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    38
    23
    20
    16
See reviews for
2
14
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I took this hostel because it was on a good location. But I forgot to see how were the reviews from everybody. Very expensive for the service they do. Room dirty, broken walls, very cold on winter. The bathrooms and toilets were ok but not the best. No free wi-fi! The only good thing was the bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was not very clean (old stained carpet, bad smell, yellowed sheets, no coat rack and no chair) the bathroom has a doubtful cleanliness. Disappointed also for the breakfast which is not very varies but correct. Plan $10 of pledge for the access pass to the room. Only positive points the pleasant welcome(reception), and the closeness to the Queen... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenMngr, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Antoine, Thank you so much for your review - I am really disappointed that you have not had a great experience - Your feedback is so important to me as we strive to improve our service offerings We are systamatcally going thru our Building doing upgrades on all our rooms and common areas with the intention of providing a... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in this dirty building last week with my wife. we got private double room. However, room was awful. there was lots of dust every where. we could not touch any things as every place was dirty. Although we were there in the weekend, we waked up by construction activities from next building on Saturday at 7 am! we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenMngr, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review - I am really disappointed that you have not had a great experience - Your feedback is so important to me as we strive to improve our service offerings We are systamatcally going thru our Building doing upgrades on all our rooms and common areas with the intention of providing a high level... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very Comfortable beds, best free breakfast (almost a buffet) and good located! Service excellent and very friendly staff! Unfortunately very noisy outside because of construction work, but well thats city. All in all great hostel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm a seasons traveller who has stayed in hostels in Australia and around the world. This hostel is by far the worst I have ever stayed in. All seemed fine from the outset until we arrived in our room (a private double). In our room was a half completed paint job, dirty walls and a transparent ceiling which i'm sure... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GenMngr, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi Robert, Thanks for your review - We are on a Massive upgrade of all rooms abnd facilities in the Hostel at Present - All the Private rooms will be having new King Size Beds, painting and curtains artowrk the works happening over the next couple of months - i am sorry you felt your room wasnt what you expected... More

Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The quilt is so dirty (see the picture)!!! The room is full of unpleasing smell. I've stayed serveral backpacker hotels in AU with simiar price and this is the worst one so far. It harmed our Melbourne tour.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenMngr, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am totally shocked that a Quilt of this nature is even on a bed in my hostel - I will be speaking with Housekeeping this morning and ensuring this never happens again - Thankyou so much for bringing it to my attention I do appreciate it. More

Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pictures were professionally taken, hence very misleading. It's a hostel, they didn't pretend to be something they're not. Basic kitchen amenities, humble rooms, shower and comfortable bed. Hospitable staffs with great attitude. Nice and comfortable huge lounging area for reading or simply to chill out. Very affordable. They even served basic complimentary breakfast, not great, but kudos for the thoughts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hostel is a perfect place to stay. 3 mins walking to Victoria Market. 7 - 8 mins to Melbourne CBD. The staff is great, very helpful. However, the kitchen is not really clean and it's hard to use hot water in the bathroom.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hostel is in a perfect place, close of supermarkets, stores, CBD. The staff is very helpful. The only thing to improve is the cleanness of the kitchen, but the dirt in the kitchen is responsibility of the travellers too, not only of the hostel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Clean, great value good social environment and good facilities! I'll be back! I even had my son with me for a while in one of their fanily room's. Theirs also a great bar in the basement, and they still allow byo upstairs!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Discovery Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Discovery Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Melbourne

Address: 167 Franklin St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Melbourne 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Discovery Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Melbourne with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discovery Melbourne is a large city backpackers conveniently located right in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Enjoy a free breakfast each day between 7am - 9am, newly installed Global Gossips Wifi throughout the Entire Buidling, and if your stay with us for 3 or more consecutive nights, a FREE airport pick up from Tullamarine. (*Conditions apply.) Features include a basement bar, café, cinema, job & travel agencies, rooftop with BBQ’s and 24 hour reception with great local staff.For travellers looking to share accommodation we have 4, 6 & 8 share dorms and also 10 - 16 share dorms for those looking for an even cheaper option. For those wanting some privacy we also have basic private double, twin & family rooms. All rooms have shared bathroom facilities, heating and linen.Our Events Program offers guests many opportunities to explore and make friends! Discover amazing street art & hidden secrets on our free walking tours & head out of the city on our free markets & beach bus tours! Our bar The Velvet Underground has cheap drink specials including Happy Hour until 8pm from Wednesday - Saturday! Great DJ’s get the dance floor pumping and a huge range of events, such as Poker nights, Minute to Win it and Ladies night on a friday. If it’s great coffee & food you’re after, the chefs at our licensed café serve up delicious food 7 days a week including all day breakfast and some of the best pizzas in town! Our fantastic Melbournian staff will make you feel right at home 24/7 Our overnight security, CCTV, lockers and swipe card access will ensure you and your belongings are safe! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
117

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer