We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Melbourne

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Melbourne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Discovery Melbourne
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    63
    52
    40
    31
See reviews for
4
31
71
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved it at Discovery! I stayed 8 nights in a private twin. The facilities & rooms are fairly basic, but just what you need for a great price in a great location. The on site cafe is super cheap :) The free breakfast is an awesome bonus. The staff are fun & friendly! Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

free breakfast is good staff are friendly helpful full of local knowledge .. the facilities are clean daily . rooms are spacious. nice large kitchen . to cook up a good scram ...good location ..amazing atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the best hostel in Australia! Love it! Lovely staff allways ready to help you, lovely beanbag cinema and free breakfest! Downstairs bar is nice and quit cheep! Great location and close to public transport! Next to free tram zone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
sittard
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed in Discovery for 4 nights during easter and I must say it is definitely the best place where we have stayed so far in Australia. It's super clean, beautiful newly furnished rooms and shared bathrooms and the staff is nice! We loved the location, roof terrace, lounge and the indoor cinema and Traveldesk from Backpacker... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear thailalaudy, Thank you for your kind comments. It's been fantastic to read your review!. Please let us know if you are coming to Melbourne again because we would love to accommodate you, and promise will take really good care of you!. Kind regards. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To begin with, I have been at worse hostels. But Discovery Melbourne has a somewhat good reputation which they barely lived up to! The room and facilities were clean, however in the double bed we shared there were no proper sheets. One sheet was placed underneath the big cover/duvet and one on top, which was fairly gross considering that the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Bellaathome, Thank you for leaving a review. Regarding your comments of the sheets on the bed, I am sorry this occurred. I have passed these comments to housekeeping and it will not happen again. Regarding the front office staff, as a front office manager I am shocked to hear that my staff didn't welcome you appropriately!. For me, that... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellant location...nice rooms and beds...nice friendly staff...fast wifi...free breakfast and nice bar...nice travel agency which gives attractive offers...cleanliness of the kitchen and the toilet can be better.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear sayforall, Thank you for choosing Discovery Melbourne and for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us!. Regarding your comments, I apologize if you found that the cleanliness of the kitchen and bathrooms was a let down. I will pass on the details to housekeeping and review the cleaning process. Kind... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at Discovery for a few nights with a friend, decided to take advantage of the seemingly cheap rates and good location. However from the beginning we had issues. We booked through booking.com and upon arrival were told that we had the wrong dates, and they were full so had no room for us. We showed the the booking details... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for three nights in a dirty smelly room. Staff an facilities were ok but the hostel was not very clean. I would recommend taking the time to find somewhere else. The location was pretty good. A few blocks away from the markets and tram stops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Donnie B, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry we didn't reach your expectations. As I've previously mentioned in other reviews we are working hard to renovate our property with a fresher look!. This process is now days away from finishing, and it is looking amazing!. If you give us another shot, I... More 

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On arrival, we were greeted by friendly staff and given the key to our room. The room barely fit out 2 single beds in it and was covered in dust from floor to ceiling. The doona covers had actual hairs on them, disgusting. We went down (finally found the way back to elevators and reception - I really think they... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Lisa P, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to hear the staff looked after you during your stay!. I am sorry you had to request a room change due to the state of the room. I will be passing on this information to our housekeeping team. Regarding the signage, noted!. I will take... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Discovery Melbourne is very well located, right in the city centre, close to all amenities, bars and restaurants. Although the installations doesn't match with the price charged... Stayed in a double bedroom that feels claustrophobic... The shared bathroom is huge, lots of toilets and showers, but the pictures on the website doesn't show the reality, they are dated and most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Luana B, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Discovery Melbourne. Darn!, I am sorry to hear your stay wasn't what you expected. If possible, I would like to know in which level you stayed, reason is I'd like to chase up the shower inconvenience we caused you. I can guarantee that I wasn't... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities