We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Melbourne

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Melbourne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Discovery Melbourne
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    33
    67
    54
    43
    35
See reviews for
4
35
76
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (232)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked a mixed dorm (4 persons) on Saturday night. Unfortunately the room we got has a long term tennant and his bed is messy and worst is very smelly and horrible! We can't even stand extra minute in the room. Another horrible thing is the shared toilet, which i'm unable to describe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Paid $190 a night for what was meant to be a twin room then when we got there they booked all the twin rooms out so they have us a two bunk bed room witch is on the best when you are on holiday with your missis, and the end of the corridor that are room came off there was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant R, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear coreym10, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Firstly, I am sorry you didn't enjoy the room that was allocated for you and your partner. You booked a twin room which is supposed to be a set of bunk beds in the room. When you arrived we allocated you to a room with 2 set of... More 

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Vijayawada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place is old and is fine. Dormitories are populated with bunker beds and stuff of others. Got a upper bed :(. Experience should have been better if I have got a lower bed. Overall just fine experience, Value for money is 3.5 / 5.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was friendly and helped us with all our questions. There's free breakfast, which was quite limited but suited us perfectly. The only negative is that it's very cold everywhere, particularly in the bathroom. Good location!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I Really enjoyed my two nights here. The staff were friendly and welcoming I was able to check in early into a big dorm, comfy bed, good showers. Good communal areas, easy to meet people. Kitchen was huge. Perfect location, two minutes from tram stop, two minutes to the queen Vic markets and five minute walk to central I'd stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant R, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Clayre J, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!. It is always nice to hear this comments from guests. We are currently working hard to upgrade our building and make it amazing!. If you're ever in town again, please come see us. We would love to have... More 

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quick summary: staff looked very uninterested, our double room was about 2 by 4 meters, the toilet-unit was a 'fair walk' (far enough for me not to go to the bathroom in the night), we only had a bed and a mirror and breakfast was average (just toast and cereals). On the bright side, we loved the location (next to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant R, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear kjbooij, Thank you for your review. Firstly, I am shocked to hear the comments regarding the staff. That is not what our front office team is about. I always encourage the team to be as helpful as possible. Regarding our rooms. Sorry if we didn't reach your expectations. Our prices in double rooms $90 per night. They are indeed... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

To stay for the week was cheap which i assume is the reason that this hostel is not very nice. To start with: i went to cook my food in the microwave and it was infested by bugs! Not hygienic at all so needless to say i didn't use the kitchen again. Also my room was a 10 bed share,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

Was looking forward to the included breakfast, but upon arrival to the breakfast table, it was a MESS. Could not touch anything as it was covered in milk or jam etc. Walls in rooms paper thin. Points for good location and 24hr reception. Staff was very helpful. Basement bar floor extremely sticky.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant R, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear rkehoe, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Regarding the breakfast, we try to keep it as tidy as possible. Unfortunately, there are days hard to control with that many people having breakfast at the same time. I am glad you found our staff nice and helpful. Once... More 

Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

I only stayed for 2 nights solo the hostel was very good, staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean. In an Excellent location, city centre, right next to the Queen Victoria Markets. I Enjoyed my short stay here

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grant R, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear bridgette483, Thank you for choosing Discovery Melbourne for your stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that everything was up to standard. Please don't hesitate to come see us if you're ever in town. We will be happy to accommodate you again. Kind regards. More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

The room was filthy, the bathroom was disgusting, kitchen and recreation rooms were a mess! The staff were extremely unhelpful.the location is poorly advertised. Free breakfast was sparse at best no crockerly nor cutlery to fit everyone. Foyer was untidy and very unprofessional.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Grant R, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear nikitaK7735ZC, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry we didn't reach your expectations. Firstly, regarding the staff I find really difficult to believe my staff are unhelpful. Our management expectations regarding staff are quite high, and it is unacceptable for my staff to be unhelpful and/or rude to guests. I am sorry this... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Hotel Claremont
#82 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
King Street Backpackers
#68 of 104 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Nomads Melbourne
#11 of 17 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Space Hotel
#18 of 104 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
United Backpackers Melbourne
#11 of 104 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#22 of 104 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Ready to book?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay