We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 114 Melbourne accommodations

United Backpackers Melbourne

250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000 , Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers) (Melbourne CBD)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added United Backpackers Melbourne to your Saves list
United Backpackers Melbourne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
81%
Ranked #11 of 114 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Ferraro127 San Martino di Lupari, Veneto, Italy
  • Reviews (85)
  • Photos (14)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (2)
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    26
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Martino di Lupari, Veneto, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I think this is one of the best hostel I've ever stayed. Its position is perfect, just 1 minute walk to Federation square and it is in front of Flinders Street Station, so you can reach every point in the city. Hostel is huge and very clean, the kitchen is very big and can host a lot of people, and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hostel is great!!! I stayed here for a week & would happily have stayed longer. Free WiFi (only on 1st floor in TV room and kitchen) this was good though as this made people go to the social areas and chat. Lockers in rooms - bring a padlock. So clean and new. Staff friendly and a lift in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

location = great. next too major travel infrastructure and CBD hotel itself = great. modern and comfortable backpacker hostel. although the double bed frames are metal, thus make noise when ever you climb up. but meh... staff = 50/50. some are great and friendly and helpful, then the other half are outright rude. i.e. watched a girl at the front... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

United Backpackers is very modern, with 24/7 key card access, 24/7 reception, and cream facilities. The reading light and outlet were very helpful, the kitchen is great, and the bathroom is very big! Also, extremely close to everything. This was my first hostel experience, and I would definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback - we really do appreciate it. I am so glad to read that you had a great time with us. We were your first hostel? We are honored! Thanks for choosing us to share your travels with :) Hopefully we will see you back at United one day... More

Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed three nights at the United Backpackers. The staff were very helpful, everything was super clean and they had great facilities. Flinders street is the perfect location I had no trouble walking to most sights or catching the public transport there. I would stay again and recommend to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi there Alisha K, Wow! What lovely things to say. We think we're pretty good too! United sure does provide the perfect location when exploring this amazing city. Right in the thick of things with a myriad of options just outside the front door! We work super hard to ensure that all out guests can get the most out of... More

Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my first time to stay in a hostel, glad that I chose United Backpackers. Conveniently located, 5minutes walk to the trams and just across to Flinders street train station. Lots of restaurants, shops, supermarkets nearby. Staff and other backpackers were very nice and friendly. Rooms and bathrooms were cleaned every day. Free wifi in common areas. Just a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

WOW! Your first hostel and you chose us! Thank you - what a pleasure :) We think that you sure chose the best hostel in Melbourne - you can't beat this location when visiting this great city, right in the centre of all the action. Happy travels - come back and see us again soon! Jess Operations Manager United Backpackers More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first time visiting Melbourne, stayed at United Backpackers because I got recommendation from my friend who also stayed there months before. Got myself a 8 bed dorm room, and the room was enough for me. Its clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and nice as well. The kitchen which is also the common room also good. It would... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay with us. You're right you know, we reckon we have the best location in Melbourne - right in the thick of things with all the best that Melbourne has to offer right at the front door, you can hardly get closer to the action eh?!... More

Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best backpack in Melbourne, free wi-fi, room kitchen and bathroom clean. Locate in flinders St, just perfect for a couple of days.. A lot of activities in Melbourne, street art, And you can drink in the kitchen :D

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you for leaving your feedback - we really do appreciate it and wowsers - what a lovely thing to say (we think we are pretty awesome too...shhh) Happy Travels Jess Operations Manager More

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with a friend of mine after the AIDS 2014 conference and we were very pleased with our stay. Great location! We stayed in the en-suite room. The bathroom was neat and tidy upon arrival along with the room (housekeeping came on the second day to tidy the bathroom also :)). Staff were helpful and easy to communicate... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your thoughts about your stay - I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We think we are the perfect base to explore all the best that Melbourne has to offer (and yep - especially the food!) and work around the clock to ensure that... More

Busan, South Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel facilities are very modern and clean and you really couldn't get a better location. It's right in the heart of the city, with trams, trains, food, entertainment and shopping right outside the door. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm with ensuite and each bed had its own power point, reading light and large locker - very handy!... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello there! Thank you for leaving your thoughts about your stay at United...I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We work super hard to ensure that all our guests have the best time in Melbourne - we think we are the perfect base to explore this amazing city from, right in the thick of... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage United Backpackers Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Address: 250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000 , Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Melbourne with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come join the fun & excitement at Melbourne’s newest backpackers! Opposite Flinders Station & on the most happening laneway in town, our location is unbeatable but the vibe is even better!At United Backpackers we look after our travellers with modern, sparkling clean & funky facilities, unique experiences, fantastic staff, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Not only are we the newest and coolest hostel in Melbourne, we offer great value for money and an awesome vibe, all right in the heart of Melbourne! If you are looking for something a bit different and a whole lot of fun, then get booking!Us in a nutshell:• Accommodation for 300 superstar travellers in shared & private rooms over 3 levels • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals• FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Brand new, sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock• Fantastic new designer kitchen with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage• Light & bright dining & common room with huge windows and great views • Funky TV/Chill Out Lounge with lots of cushions and free DVD hire available• Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience! • A travel desk and help with jobs• Opening Early 2014 - Bar United, our funky basement bar.* Please note we do not currently have a guest laundry as this will open as pat of the basement level facilities in early 2014.ACCOMMODATION We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers• Bedside light with power point for your charging pleasure• Lots of space• High quality beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access• Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC)• Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Number of rooms
240

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of United Backpackers Melbourne and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from United Backpackers Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer