We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

United Backpackers Melbourne

250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000 , Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
United Backpackers Melbourne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
United Backpackers Melbourne
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    32
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
11
55
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place was unreal! From the moment we we checked in staff where friendly, rooms are big and very clean.!!! Me and another mate stayed in a twin ensuite. As we where on a trip away we where there for one thing only. A bender. Great place to drink and meet people. Highly Recommend this backpackers!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really enjoyed our stay here. Clean, large spacious rooms. Beds have plugs and bedside lights which is always a must! Drawers under the bed to keep belongings safe (bit small to fit your backpack in whole, some unpacking required but it's a huge drawer) Security good with key cards for entry. Tv room is awesome, huge comfy pillows and good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cairns, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Stayed from the 16th to 20th October 2014. Staff were very friendly and professional. Room and bedding was clean and well maintained. Amenities were regularly serviced and plenty of hot water. Kitchen and common areas were busy and loud but well designed and stocked. I don't generally stay at backpackers, and was pleasantly surprised to find things quite orderly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hey there! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback - we really appreciate it (and who doesn't like to hear nice things about themselves!). I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We work super hard to ensure that this place is kept super clean and tidy and you sure can't beat... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

We booked a room from the 16th to the 19th of october and said we booked for last month very unhappy as to no refund was offered and every other place in melbourne was fully booked out and had to pay for an early flight home we will be takin this further

Was this review helpful? Yes
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi Guys, I think the first thing to acknowledge is that you did book the incorrect dates. As far as our process are concerned, you will have received both a confirmation from the website after you booked, closely followed by a further confirmation from us once the reservation was entered into our system. Ultimately we can only book with the... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I stayed in a room for 8 and was on the 3rd floor. The hostel was very clean and the amenities (showers, toilets, kitchen, etc.) were always of an excellent standard, the staff were friendly and helpful too. There was also I wide range of activities which were free (although I didn't get a chance to do any). I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am so glad to hear that you had an amazing time with us. Our incredible team work around the clock to ensure that all of our superstar guests have an awesome time with us. What a shame you didn't have time to experience any of our amazing... More

Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I really enjoyed this hostel and it is the perfect location for anyone who wants to explore Melbourne City. I personally, came here for work and found the location was great (being across the road from the Flinders Station) and I could literally get anywhere from this station! There was also, lots going on at Federation Square which was right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts about your stay with United - we really do appreciate it (and who doesn't like to hear nice things about themselves??!!) . I am super happy to read that you had a great time with us. We work around the clock to ensure that our place is sparkling clean... More

Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

This gets booked up quick so you may need to book in advance. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm and chose it because it was near The Forum where I was going to see a gig. I came back from the gig after midnight and saw that there were a lot of people on the floor that has the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello there, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay - I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your (too brief!) stay with us. I reckon you can't beat this location - it's the perfect base to explore Melbourne from - right in the heart of the city (and as you know, just... More

Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

The hostel is really located in One of the best places in town. The beds and rooms, showers etc are clean. But the hostel has more than 250 beds and WiFi is really bad at times. Sometimes I spent several hours trying to log in to the WiFi without success and sometimes I just got kicked out from the wifi,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts about your stay at United - I am glad to read that there was lots you enjoyed about your stay and I certainly take on board some of the things you have mentioned that can be improved. We never want to settle for mediocrity and work hard around the... More

Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

A bit expensive for a dorm - 30 AUD for one night in 12 bed dorm but the location is awesome. Very much in the city central. Just across Flinders St Station, city tram is just down the corner, Fed Square within walking distance (like literally only 3 minutes), Young & Jackson bar also around the corner. The wifi not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello there! Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm super pleased that there was lots you loved about your stay. You are definitely right about this amazing location - super close to all the best that Melbourne has to offer - you can't beat it! Yep we know the WiFi can be temperamental - especially when so... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Perfect location. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean, staff were suitably wacky! Only knock were the showers - 2 temperatures, scorching hot or freezing cold.... Overall I was very satisfied, excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback we really do appreciate it! And I'm really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you get to come back again soon! Happy Travels Jess Operations Manager PS: Oh no! Thank you for telling us about the showers (cause if we don't know we... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Address: 250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000 , Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

14 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay