We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

United Backpackers Melbourne

250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000 , Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
United Backpackers Melbourne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
United Backpackers Melbourne
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    42
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
14
66
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (130)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Clean and tidy hostel. It was located in the city. I didn't use the kitchen so I can rate that but a nice hostel. They don't let you have any food or drink in the room. Our room had a bathroom too. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 7 nights and it was brilliant, clean bathrooms, clean dorms and a clean kitchen! The social areas were lovely and big & air conned and there was always something going on in the downstairs bar. The 2 hour free guided tour around Melbourne was very helpful. Staff were great too. The only problems were the really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If it wasn't for the wifi and laundry facilities being down. The wifi seemed very temperamental and it became frustrating when trying to look for jobs/accommodation so we ended up going to the library for wifi as its not accessible in you room. They offered an alternative place to do laundry which did a good job. I imagine the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We leave today from a 4 night stay in United backpackers. We had a great time, the location is absolutely brilliant, everything is on flinders street or just a few blocks behind! We stayed in an all girls 12 bed dorm... Not enough room for the amount of bodies in the room, girls had their clothes and suitcases and backpacks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was meant to be staying one night here, but ended up extending my stay, even though I had free accommodation sorted for the rest of my time in Melbourne! The rooms are clean and well thought out with power sockets and reading lights next to every bed. The social areas are also great for meeting new people, the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Don't get me the wrong location is great and the place is kept clean and the staff are nice but as far as hostels go it's one of the worst I've stopped in . Rooms are like a sweatbox , there's no outdoor area , you cant take alcoholic drinks in even if you just want to keep them in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for leaving your feedback. I'm bummed to read that we didn't meet your expectations. I'm glad that you did find some things that you enjoyed (our staff and location really can't be beat and we work super hard to make sure that the hostel is kept clean and tidy all the time - thanks for noticing!) We... More 

Yokohama, Japan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was the first time to stay in hostel. Share spaces, for example a kitchen, was clean and staffs were very kind. This hostel is near the station (almost 2 minute from the Flinders station),so it's convenient. But sometime a bar under ground was a little bit noisy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback - what lovely things to say. I am really happy that you chose United as your first hostel experience - and I'm stoked that you had a great time with us! (our basement bar can get noisy - a sign of a good time don't you think! - fortunately... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Majority of staff are cliquey and arrogant, unhelpful when asked about the local area. showers were full of hair. Although I paid hundreds of dollars for my stay, they refused to refund me two nights with a whole weeks notice of cancellation (weekend nights which they would easily resell), so I may undertake a tour booked with their very own... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello there, Wow. I am really disappointed to read of your experience at United Backpackers. To be honest, I am surprised to read your comments as they are certainly not in line with the service we aim to provide nor the vast majority of feedback we receive from our guests (check out some of the reviews below - they specifically... More 

Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hostel with possibly the friendliest staff and has to win the award for the best decor. I stayed at the hostel 3 days in November it is a great base located right next to the station and in the heart of the CBD. I stayed in a 12 share mixed room with my cousin, everyone in the dorm was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi There! Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us (we think we're pretty good too!) Yep - best located hostel in Melbourne for sure! Right in the heart of this amazing city! With everything on your doorstep (even better now that all trams in the city centre are free!)... More 

Zaragoza
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went to Melbourne last December 2014 and my experience in this hostel was amazing. The room was quite a mess, but really beautiful and with your own soket in the bed, so perfect. Downstairs, I found a really great entertainment room and an amazing kitchen. They also had a party room in the lower floor. amazing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Wow! What lovely things to say. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully you can come back and visit us again soon :) Happy Travels Jess Operations Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Address: 250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000 , Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay