We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nomads All Nations Hostel

2 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Hotel amenities
Nomads All Nations Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    31
    28
    55
See reviews for
Families
0
16
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Nouméa, null, New Caledonia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent a month there, & it's very nice! Good situation because not far from train station, mall, except if you don't like noise of train. I can slep with noise so I don't mind. The room are alright, bed are cleans, staff is friendly, the Ubar (downstairs) is good too, the kitchen is quite big,but not enough of cup... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norderney, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked four nights in this hostel and I did not enjoyed my stay in this because the atmosphere inside the hostel was really weird. Even though some staff were nice and friendly, what I noticed there is really an social issue inside. Newscomers (like me) were not really able to meet new people because everyone minding only their own... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
allnations, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm sorry you found us antisocial. We actually have so many activities pushing to socialise. Including Music, karaoke, trivia, dj, dinner (tacos, BBQ, pizza), welcome drink and kitchen where people always cook. WIFI is indeed free in the common area but you have the possibility to choose super one for that price. Hope to see you again for... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for one week and couldnt wait to go!! The only positive thing to say about this hostel is the location, easy access to get places and it was nice being near southbank. So here are the negatives, there is only one shower working in female toilets on the 2nd floor with no sign of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
allnations, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there I'm quiet suprised about your comments and how in one week you didn't approach the day managers to try to solve some of the issues/questions. In fact, we handle at check in the house rules where clearly state is a Dry Hostel. We have a maintenance issue in the showers but only for 1 day. True, you can't... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Got the weekly rate, I was looking for a place to stay till I rent a room... The kitchen is always dirty, plates, mugs, floor, tables and fridge. The toilets are not ok, dirty sinks, bad showers and smelly floor (mop is constantly smelly). The rooms are extremely noisy because of the trains and trams (which is not a problem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
allnations, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, "They just don't care"... that's pretty easy to say once you are gone. There is most of the time a Duty Manager where you can approach with your concerns and from that point of work on the solutions. It's important as we have many guests that if you have a situation where you are not comfy you come... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

You'll walk in and be wowed! By the enormity of the building. But there is nothing fancy about this place. You get what you pay for... However, I enjoyed my stay here... It is extremely run down, the ceiling leaks, there is theft of belongings, toilets and rooms linger of smoke smell, no air conditioning and no heat, and they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
allnations, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, a cat? Are you talking about here? I reckon you are mistaken us with another place. Call us if I'm wrong. Cheers Nomads all Nations More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I personally wouldn't stay here again, the room was dirty and smelt! The train and team station were loud and the music from the bar downstairs kept me awake! The tap was broken in the bathroom and the showers were terrible! The communal areas were dirty and had all seen better days, I ended up checking out early. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
allnations, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Hi There When we talk about get what you pay for: - Free Wifi, tea, coffee, pancake mix, pasta, rice, welcome drink in the bar, free BBQ, Tacos, great vibes in the bar, free movies, excellent location, friendly Staff! There can be some downsides but it's important to communicate with the staff to make sure we change that out. Sounds... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Went recently to this property as I thought it would give me value for my buck. Paid $165 which is grossly overpriced for a room with 2 bunk beds, top bunk had black stains on it and was awful. When I entered the room there was a musty smell of sweat and smoke, was unbearable to say the least. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
allnations, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there I can see you didn't have a good time but its always important to communicate with the staff about the issues you have. We have management on duty most of the time and there is always ways to find a solution to issues you might have. In order to explain people that there is good stuff about this... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Many reviews on here are well over exaggerated, me and a friend stayed here for 2 nights and couldn't be happier with the hostel, amenities and bar. If you're expecting 5 star accommodation feel free to pay many times the price in a location this great for a hotel room. Being so cheap we didn't expect a whole lot but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

I stayed at this hostel for three nights. The atmosphere is ok, the kitchen is far too hot to cook in and nobody bothers to wash their dishes at all. The rooms are a little dirty but not as bad as some places I've stayed. They say there is free wifi- but only of you go and get the password... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
allnations, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Helen You are probably talking about Mosquito bites. In Summer we have loads of mosquitos around but we have repellent and nets in rooms to avoid this issues. Please, lets remind future guests about the benefits of staying here: - Perfect location, 2 minutes from Southern Cross and all over free trams. - FREE Pancake mix, pasta, rice, tea,... More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Stayed here for my last days in Melbourne. It can get quite noisy at night (close to traffic, bar/pub downstairs) but I'm well used to hostels and sometimes it's just the way it is! They could be more strict on getting people to clean up after themselves in the kitchen, most of the day it was a mess in there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question