We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 172 Melbourne hotels

Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Elizabeth St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights & Save 20%
Save Saved
You added Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne to your Saves list
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
67%
Ranked #89 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Janelle C Brisbane, Australia
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    100
    56
    17
    11
See reviews for
56
56
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Family of 4 stayed 3 nights in 2bedroom. Large living area, good kitchen and two bathrooms. Short walk to the mall, tram stop, Flinders Station and Fed Square. Lots of restaurants (inclu Chinatown) and Woolworths walking distance. From 6th floor had views to Southbank and car parks. Would recommend and will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I booked a one-bedroom apartment for a one-week stay during the Australian Grand Prix. While a little further away from Albert Park than ideal, it's still a great location for CBD-based activities, sight-seeing and dining opportunities. The apartment was refurbished, specious enough, well-appointed and clean with all the necessities you'd need for basic self-catering. A washer/dryer in the room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here because friends were visiting from Brisbane. Had the Queen deluxe one bedroom suite. Positives: Great position, Friendly staff Clean room Negatives: A.C.controls too complicated. Sheets not tucked in. Lift slow and confusing, went up and down several times before getting to right floor. Construction noise from next door, not the fault of the hotel. Would stay again after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stay in a lot of great hotels in the city, this hotel was our nightmare. We stayed overnight at this hotel on the weekend. When our car came back the next day from the valet parking we discovered every tyre was flat! After calling the manager after the distressing situation of trying to drive out of Melbourne with four... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really wanted to like this hotel. I travel weekly for business and the apartment I was given was really nice and welcoming. The shower was excellent and so were the facilities like the sauna and jacuzzi. However, the noise was unbearable. There was a lot of construction and I appreciate that there's nothing the hotel can do. The construction... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We spent 3 nights in these Melbourne apartments. Even though I had booked for a two bedroom apartment with one double and two singles we were first given one with one double and one king. Easy mistake and they very quickly sorted this out for us. Our second apartment like the first was not very clean; in fact the chair... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
fhairie, Manager at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear malcolm h, Thank you for your review and for mentioning our great location. I am very sorry to hear you encountered some Housekeeping issues. If you have a moment, I would appreciate if you could let me know your room number so we can address with our Executive Housekeeper. Please email: florence.hairie@the-ascott.com. Unfortunately the construction noise is beyond our... More

Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

In a Great location for shops site and all most every thing, staff very friendly and helpful and go out of there way to help with every thing. stayed for one night before being picked to fly out on a 14 hour flight to Dubai, not good being woken up at 5.30am by the Building work that’s been carried out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Ann H, Thank you for sharing your Somerset experience with our Trip Advisor community. It is lovely to read you enjoyed the central location of our serviced residence and found our staff both helpful and friendly, we will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team. We apologise however that you experienced a disrupted sleep due to... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Booked through secret hotels so slightly worried when we found out that there was apparently noisy building work next door.We had a suite overlooking the car park and didnt hear any noise from the site whatsoever. On arrival reception had no record of our booking with Expaedia but no matter, the problem was sorted out with humour and efficiency very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Sue D, Thank you for sharing feedback on your time at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne. We are delighted you enjoyed the design and layout of our apartment aswell as our central location. You are right, there is a little bit of construction still occurring around Somerset, but are happy to read that it didn’t interrupt your pleasant stay with... More

Pune, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I are in the middle of a 9-week stay at Somerset. We booked through Corporate Keys International - they specialize in long stay accommodation/serviced apartments. I’m really glad we chose to stay here. For one thing, everything is close by. You’re really at the center of all the action in Melbourne - food, the laneways, night life,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear AjayKamat, Thank you for sharing feedback on your current stay at Somerset on Elizabeth, we are so pleased to read that you are enjoying your time with us so far. We take great pride in providing our guests with a ‘home away from home’ experience, so it is great to know you are impressed with all the comforts and... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just had my first stay at the Somerset and was very impressed with the hotel. The location right in the heart of the city is perfect. My 1 bedroom apartment was spacious very clean & very comfortable. The staff were fantastic and being a hotel owner I would have no hesitation in hiring any of the staff I chatted to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Southgate175, We are so pleased to read that you had an enjoyable first visit with us at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne. We pride ourselves on exceeding our guest’s expectations, so it is always very encouraging for our Guest Services Team to receive comments such as yours, that they made such a positive impression. Thank you Southgate175 for taking the... More

Been to Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne

Also Known As:
Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne Hotel
Somerset On Elizabeth Melbourne
Somerset On Elizabeth Hotel Melbourne
Somerset On Elizabeth
Address: 250 Elizabeth St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the central business district, Somerset on Elizabeth is set among all that Melbourne has to offer. An abundance of restaurants and shops surround your residence, with easy access to transport and the city’s famous sporting grounds, theatres and entertainment precincts.Please note that Emporium Melbourne (Myer Department Store) is currently being rebuilt on the eastern side of Somerset on Elizabeth and is expected to be completed by early 2014. Whilst there may be some noise from construction during daylight hours and occasional night work, we are experiencing one of Melbourne’s shopping icons being reborn which is an exciting time for Melbourne. You will also notice, during this time The Strand Arcade is also in the final stages of completion with the Elizabeth Street and Lonsdale Street façade being finalised in this ground breaking redevelopment. There will be no construction between 20th December2013 to 5th January 2014.We apologise in advance for any inconvenience caused. But look forward to the multiple shopping experiences which will be on our doorstep shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.