We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melbourne Metro YHA

78 Howard St., Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly Queensberry Hill YHA)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Melbourne Metro YHA
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Some of the food (groceries) I bought were either stolen or used by strangers, after I left them (overnight) in one of the fridges or other kitchen 'pigeon hole' storage space - (inbetween the row of fridges and one of the sinks.) - When I went to the reception desk to complain, due to the 12 hour time space the... More 

Helpful?
Thank andrewwF8834RD
Leah K, Public Relations Manager at Melbourne Metro YHA, responded to this review

We’re sorry that you were unhappy with your stay, however it’s important to note that hostels consist of communal living spaces and communal accommodation. If you are looking for accommodation that is peaceful and has less of a youth atmosphere in the future, perhaps you should look in to alternative accommodation to hostels. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As the title says: the staff is awesome and very friendly. Average cleanliness, people very friendly and young, not much party or alcohol, sometimes families and aged people as well. Stayed here for 3 weeks in a row and would definitely come back. Directly around queen vic market and just a few minutes walk to cbd. Close to supermarkets and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philipp791
Horsham, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

When you think of the word hostel you usually associate it with the words 'dirty' or 'shady' due to its link to backpackers. However I have stayed here on multiple trips with large groups for schooling events and it lives up to their word. The environment of the hostel is clean which includes the rooms and bathrooms. The safety of... More 

Helpful?
Thank travellinghopper
East Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015 via mobile

Friendly and helpful service on check-in. I opted to stay here over flinders street YHA as Metro had secure parking. Beds comfortable and amenities clean. Located within walking distance to the free tram, Markets and CBD. Halfway through my stay our fan broke, upon reporting to reception there was a knock on the door from the maintenance man and fan... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mikeala A
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2015

Hostel with a good kitchen, community room and laundry facilities. Rooms good but very simple, a bit more color would be nice. Close to a tram stop that is in the free tram zone of Melbourne city. Tenants tend to hang out on the sidewalk at the front to smoke or talk until late. Reception will ask them to leave,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arine_was_in_Sofia
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

Stayed here two nights either side of a two day tour. The hostel was very clean, quiet and well located. The staff were very friendly and helpful with booking tours and accommodation elsewhere. The view from the rooftop terrace was Amazing. I enjoyed the breakfast and it was good value. I would stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank mearbhall
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015 via mobile

I chose to stay here as this hostel was close to the University of Melbourne where I was attending a law conference and because I've been a long time member of Hostelling International. As I was going to be involved in the conference for two full days I only required a dorm bed. I booked my accommodation online for three... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank StarTraveller69
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Melbourne Metro YHA, responded to this review

Hi Star YHA always regrets when a guest does not enjoy a stay at one of our hostels. On this occasion the details of your stay are slightly different than you have recounted here, and in the end you did decided to move some where else that suited you better. You received a refund accordingly. Hostels are communal and do... More 

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015 via mobile

This is the best hostel I've stayed in Australia so far. Very clean and very practical. Someone has thought about what a guest needs: several hooks in the shower, shelves above sinks for personal items, a clothing rail with hangers in the rooms. Lockers & bed lamps. Comfortable sofas and plenty of areas to chill and use the free wifi.... More 

Helpful?
Thank curlyfries2015
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

Huge hostel. Rooms were pretty small. My mattress was comfortable but it was impossible to go up to my bed without making a fair bit of noise. Bathrooms were quite good. Worst part for me was the location. Not in the cbd and not close to anything.

Helpful?
Thank Felipe H
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015 via mobile

Have stayed here frequently since July. Not bad for short stays of 3 nights or less. This hostel gives preference to large group bookings. They are not shy moving you to a different room at short notice to suit their needs. The staff in Brisbane, Sydney and Adelaide are more polite and helpful. This hostel has had very few security... More 

Helpful?
Thank scott_sq
Christina H, Public Relations Manager at Melbourne Metro YHA, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear you did not have as good a stay as possible. Friendly, helpful staff and good security are really important to us. Your review has been passed onto senior management to be discussed and used as part of our continual improvement program. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#88 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
#64 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#11 of 107 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#32 of 107 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#20 of 107 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Urban Central
#26 of 107 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay