We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melbourne Metro YHA

78 Howard St., Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly Queensberry Hill YHA)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melbourne Metro YHA
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Melbourne Metro YHA
Add Photo

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    34
    75
    36
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
23
61
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (157)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We thought this hostel was pretty soulless, the rooms feel rather like prison cells. The kitchen should be ok, as it is large and reasonably equipped, and is cleaned thoroughly by the staff each night. However, it gets left in a complete state by the guests, with dirty dishes filling up the sinks and mess everywhere, so is not nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pambula
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My wife and son and I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of a ten-day driving holiday in western Victoria. I had mixed expectations about using a hostel, but being a new member decided to give it a go and chose this one because of its proximity to Victoria Markets. Very laid back checking in on a weekend,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Spent 17 nights here whilst we explored Melbourne. Very close to the CBD but away from the hustle and bustle. Hostel very spacious, large kitchen, however it was always packed, and I felt for the staff who appeared to constantly be clearing up after lazy people. All staff were friendly and approachable The only downside of our stay was that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pomonal, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

The staff that checked us in were the greatest asset at this YHA, I'm sorry I didn't get their names. I was disappointed that my YHA booking confirmation didn't provide details of what I'd booked - this is something for YHA to consider, not the hostel itself. When I arrived I found that I hadn't booked a room with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina H, Public Relations Manager at Melbourne Metro YHA, responded to this review

Thanks for your comprehensive review and we welcome your feedback. With the email confirmation that you received for your booking, there was a link which then shows you what room type you booked. But we agree that this is not as obvious as it should be and we’ll be working on improving this. YHA has a policy of trying to... More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

while this was a good hostel as far as hostels go it was quite far out of the way of the city centre. There was very loud construction work going on out the back that started early morning, it seems that they have only just started as well so i dare say it will be noisy there for some time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina H, Public Relations Manager at Melbourne Metro YHA, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and great to get your advice for people trying to choose between our two fab Melbourne hostels. North Melbourne is a vibrant area and like many inner city suburbs often has renovation projects underway but any noise is confined to weekday hours. For future reference although Melbourne Metro YHA is slightly away from the city... More 

Paris
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
68 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

I ended up staying in this hostel a number of times while visiting Melbourne. Rooms have comfortable beds, lockers, power points and have a fair bit of room. The communal areas are amazing and we'll equipped with sofas, tv and dvds and rooftop balcony with a nice view. The kitchen is well equipped, spacious and clean, as are the toilets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015 via mobile

This YHA was very friendly and the staff excellent but it is a little way from the city centre. It's a 15 minute March until you hit anything interesting. Apart from that the place was clean and pretty quiet for my stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for one week. We thought it was a good place and the staff were very friendly on arrival and always willing to answer any questions. When we arrived in our room it was very tidy. Our negatives about this hostel is that although it is in the city you have to walk abit to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina H, Public Relations Manager at Melbourne Metro YHA, responded to this review

We’re sorry to hear you did not have as good of a stay as possible. Your review has been passed onto the manager to use as part of our continual improvement program with particular reference to investigating the issues highlighted. Both the comfort of our guests and the cleanliness of the hostel are very important to us. For future reference... More 

Forchheim, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

The hostel is OK. It's nothing special but there is nothing to complain about it. Clean rooms, stuff which takes care and good facility. It's not too far away from the centre itself, so you can go there walking (it takes approx. 20-30 minutes). Of course it's one of the bigger hostels, can be good, can be bad. At least... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Stayed here recently for 6 nights.Very clean rooms and crisp clean bed linen.Very friendly staff.Love the car park undercover but $10 a night seems steep for a backpacker maybe it should be included in the room rate.This hostel is in Nth Melbourne but very close to the Victoria Markets and a short stroll into the city.I stayed on Level 1... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay