We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 170 Melbourne hotels

Quest on Chapel

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   651 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Quest on Chapel to your Saves list
Quest on Chapel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
85%
Ranked #48 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Bethbarc Sydney, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (91)
  • Photos (30)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    46
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
22
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This time round not as positive as last time as chapel street was having extensive roadworks - all day & night. Sleeping was very difficult. Front office staff always excel. Place is starting to look a little shabby.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
QuestonChapel, Property Manager at Quest on Chapel, responded to this review

Thank you Bethbarc for your feedback with relation to Quest on Chapel. Unfortunately the timing of your stay did coincide with the road works being completed along Chapel Street. Whilst this disturbance was inconvenient, please appreciate it is an extremely rare occurrence and we did everything in our power to ensure disruptions to guests were kept to an absolute minimum.... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a great place to stay with great access to chapel streets shopping strip. Very close to south yarra train station. That room was cozy. I liked how it was open plan living.you can order a taxi and shuttle bus from the front desk.you have a small shopping center right a cross the road from you its very hand... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
QuestonChapel, Property Manager at Quest on Chapel, responded to this review

Thank you Jarrod for taking the time to review Quest on Chapel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, found our property to be convenient, and we were able to help you book taxis and shuttle services. We are very lucky to have such a wide range of shops, including some great cafés, and a supermarket... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything closer to the CBD was booked out or extremely expensive for a Saturday Night. On arrival i was very suprised the room was very spacious and clean. Really comfortable bed and a nice balcony. Really for the money you are better off getting an appartment then a hotel room. Only one thing has really annoyed me the $100 they... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
QuestonChapel, Property Manager at Quest on Chapel, responded to this review

Thank you b clark0404 for your feedback with relation to Quest on Chapel. We are certainly glad to hear you enjoyed the alternative to a traditional hotel room in one of our apartments, and happy you found it to be spacious and clean. We do apologise about the delay in the return of your pre-authorization as a bond amount, unfortunately... More

Kensington, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely location for the shopper and business traveler alike. It is however noisy from the outside and from neighboring rooms. The staff are friendly. The rooms are clean. The lift is slow. The balcony is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
QuestonChapel, Property Manager at Quest on Chapel, responded to this review

Thank you graceye for taking the time to review Quest on Chapel. We are very lucky, as you said, to have a lovely location. We are however, disappointed to hear you experienced unwanted noise. Our reception is open 7am- 11pm and have onsite management out of reception times, upon your next stay, if any disturbance from in-house guests arise, please... More

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Liked the location central to everything But I felt we paid too much for the Executive Suite, it just wasn't what you would expect. Torn furniture and bed linen. Couldn't open windows and doors because of sports being played at all hours of the evening and day, very loud. Bed was uncomfortable and sagged in the middle, we both have... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
QuestonChapel, Property Manager at Quest on Chapel, responded to this review

Thank you Julie m for taking the time to review Quest on Chapel. We are very lucky, as you said, to have a very central location. We are however, disappointed to you hear your stay with us was not as positive as you may have hoped. We will have to investigate the leak in the dishwasher you mentioned, as we... More

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had the perfect few days away. We love Melbourne and loved being on Chapel St. Found it very easy to cab it in and out of the city. Loved having the 2 bedroom apartment. Very friendly and lovely staff. Great shopping close by and in the city. Can recommend The Quest on Chapel for sure.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
QuestonChapel, Property Manager at Quest on Chapel, responded to this review

Thank you Kathy M for your glowing review about Quest on Chapel. I am pleased to hear you found our location to be convenient, and you were able to get in and out of the city easily. We are also happy to hear you were able to experience some great shopping, being situated right on one of the busiest shopping... More

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Location was great, staff very helpful and obliging and the views from the balcony took in the City skyline. Will definitely return to this Quest when I travel to my home town once more. Highly recommend it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
QuestonChapel, General Manager at Quest on Chapel, responded to this review

Dear Redcentreyourney, The team and I are very delighted to see your comments from your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on great customer service and we are also thrilled that you enjoyed your apartment with its views. We hope to see you next time you’re travelling back to your hometown again. Please do not hesitate to contact us... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Molly, Marie, and Bianca did an excellent job, they went above and beyond my expectations. The condo is right in the middle of it all, Tram stop is a few feet away, bars, restaurants, grocery shopping, fine dining, Big W (Australia Walmart), all walking distance, 40 mins on tram to Kew, 30 mins to Cricket stadium, 45 mins to the... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
QuestonChapel, General Manager at Quest on Chapel, responded to this review

Dear Hugo S, Thank you for posting your review from your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your trip to Melbourne and that you that found the team here were doing an excellent job. I will make sure to share your comments with the team. We hope that you find another reason for... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The staff were so friendly, helpful and obliging at Quest on Chapel. They had no problem organising taxi's, late check out at the last minute, parking, etc. When they called to confirm the booking during the week before our stay, I mentioned that it was my sister's 30th birthday and from that when we arrived in our room there was... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
QuestonChapel, General Manager at Quest on Chapel, responded to this review

Dear Nics_trip, The team and I are delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope to see you next time you need accommodation in Melbourne’s South Yarra, it was a pleasure having you stay with us.. Kind regards, Pia N / Property Manager, Quest on... More

Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel needs some money spent on it to freshen it up. Similarly the rooms are now quite dated and need refurbishment. Sadly this wasn't reflected in the room rate. Staff were very good however and the location is spot on.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
QuestonChapel, General Manager at Quest on Chapel, responded to this review

Dear Rob H, Thank you for posting your review from your recent stay with us. I’m glad to see that found our team members very good and will make sure I pass this onto the team. We are however surprised to see that you found the rooms outdated as we had a soft refurbishment done only two years ago. We... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Quest on Chapel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Quest on Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Chapel

Address: 651 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest on Chapel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Quest on Chapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Chapel Hotel Melbourne
Quest On Chapel Melbourne

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Melbourne with
any amenities

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne #45 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne #53 Family Hotel in Melbourne #53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
48

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Quest on Chapel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer