We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

#20 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Special Offer
Early Booking
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    191
    65
    20
    12
See reviews for
93
292
53
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (658)
  • Mar-May only
    (185)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (150)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (164)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (159)
All months
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here last weekend. The hotel is modern, artistic and minimalist. We stayed in an Open Plan Spa Suite which was spacious and the bed was wonderful. Just a few minor things - it would be great if there were one or two steps in front of the spa - it feels a little precarious stepping over the ledge in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nashville
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Greetings TA Gang! Man where do I even start with The Como Melbourne... Well let me just just start by saying that if you're EVER fortunate enough to make it to Melbourne I'm telling you The Como Melbourne is SO worth whatever you have to make happen to fit this stay into your budget! It's about a 40 min ride... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Loved the ambience, room was immaculate, value for money, great location, not noisy at all. We loved it for a shopping weekend. Only thing was we never got house-keeping, and didn't think to ask them about it as we were so busy!!! Overall, a beautiful hotel x

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Convenient location, comfortable bed, useful facilities. I also loved the Jacuzzi in my own room. Highly recommend if you are looking for travelers looking to explore the south side of Melbourne. You can also enjoy a nice morning running by the Yarra River. Wi-Fi can be very expensive. No free Wi-Fi in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
John K, Director of Sales at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Noriyoshi T Many thanks for your very positive review and 5 star rating. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking. I am so pleased you were able to take full advantage of our convenient South Yarra location and enjoyed your run along the Yarra, it is certainly beautiful at this... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The perfect place to get away from home right in the heart of South Yarra. We stayed here while we went to see Lion King in the city. When we got back, our bags were in our room! A very nice touch rather than having to wait for our bags to be brought up. The room was spacious and so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John K, Director of Sales at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear lizm1962 Many thanks for your very positive review and 5 star rating. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to take full advantage of our great South Yarra location. We hope you will get a chance to use all our facilities on a relaxing future visit. Kind Regards John Korkou Director of... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had hesitated between The Olsen and Como and decided to stay here due to ACCOR Platinum membership affiliation (+ no form of recognition as member were accorded). Requested via email before arrival date for one king/large bed but 2 twin bed (joint together) was assigned - worst, the mattress on one side sunk (should not happened in such hotel category).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John K, Director of Sales at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Bebe1969 As a Loyalty member, you are indeed our most valued guest and it is evident that we did not show this on your recent stay with us. Please accept my apology. We certainly strive to provide the best quality service and experience and it is disappointing to read they were not up to standard. I appreciate all you... More 

Sydney,
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I use to stay at The Como when it was minimalist and everything was either black or white. Since joining Accor it has had a style update. Still distinctly modern, but less austere. The rooms are large and well appointed. Staff are friendly and professional. Large indoor pool and reasonably euipped, but small gym. Hotel is $10 taxi from CBD,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John K, Director of Sales at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear JoanneSydney Thank you for your great review! I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and like the changes we have made to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards John Korkou Director of Sales & Marketing More 

Coomera, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Maybe I've got used to poor service because the quality of service from the staff at The Como was truly outstanding that it really stood out. All of the reception staff were incredibly helpful, friendly, accommodating and above all professional. Quality staff of this calibre make The Como worth staying at just to experience their professionalism. Unfortunately like many Australian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John K, Director of Sales at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Gary M Thank you for your fantastic review, we really appreciate the positive comments! I am pleased your stay was perfect, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards John Korkou Director of Sales & Marketing More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chapel St has lost its pizazzzz as has the Como. Its a good 4 star hotel experience. It was blah blah blah blah. Nothing stood out that is memorable. It wasn't great and wasn't bad. Not what it used to be. I am even finding it hard to write the minimum 200 character review. Trip advisor needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
John K, Director of Sales at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Mike S I was really sorry to read that overall you did not enjoy your visit to South Yarra. We look forward to standing out for all the right reasons next time should you choose to visit us again. We do hope to have the opportunity! If I can assist with any future booking do not hesitate to contact... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I spent a night here the past weekend, after booking we were offered an upgrade for only $30 extra to a suite which we took up.. Spacious comfortable room, modern furniture, very relaxed feel.. Big bathroom with shower, spa etc.. Would stay again.. Perfect location, many restaurants and cafes near by aswell as public transport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
John K, Director of Sales at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear TrentAUS Thank you very much for the 5 star rating! We very much appreciate your recommendation. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your weekend away and enjoyed our facilities. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards John Korkou Director of Sales & Marketing More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

525 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (151)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (343)
Viewed
Gem Suite (64)
Viewed
Gold Suite (51)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (44)
Viewed
Pearl Suite (59)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Studio Suite (25)
Viewed
Suite with Garden (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question