We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

5.0 of 5 630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    177
    60
    19
    12
See reviews for
82
269
49
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (606)
  • Mar-May only
    (173)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (151)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (164)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (118)
All months
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

WOW, from arriving to departure we couldn't have asked for anything more. Every staff member we had dealings with were friendly, professional, helpful and polite. The room has to be seen to be believed,Just fantastic. The hotel is situated right in the heart of the trendy Chapel St district, only a short ride to the CBD. My only complaint is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
70 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Complacent service and maintenance, tired decor and very average breakfast / meals. In dire need of an upgrade to rooms, facilities and client service levels. Accor and management needs to really address the decay as soon as possible. There are plenty of alternatives closeby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here due to a wedding in the vicinity. Room was booked for us! I was very impressed from the moment we got there until the moment we left! Valet parking, not free, but it makes the entry to the hotel a lot less stressful when you know you have parking available. Front desk staff were cheerful and engaging. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Mark R, Many thanks for your online review. I hope that you had a wonderful time at the wedding, and I am so pleased to read your stay with us was also enjoyable. I am thrilled you were able to take full advantage of our great location and explore the wonderful restaurants we have to offer. Thank you for... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mother daughter 24hr getaway! Location very good especially for shopping, nearby restaurants, hotel breakfast excellent - best omelette I have had anywhere. 2 x King Single beds - not that comfortable (no pillow top)

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Rosalie T, I am thrilled you enjoyed your 24 hour get away with your daughter; it is so nice to be able have some relaxing family time. I am so pleased we were able to make your stay memorable and thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am however sorry we did not meet your... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for a week on business. I had a spa room, it was huge, and absolutely perfect. A working area, huge bath and shower room, lounge area with kitchenette and a very comfy bed. The staff were very helpful. I had some of the food from room service which was nice but not amazing. However it is room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear MrsYatesy, Thank you for your online review. I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your room and you were able to work in a peaceful and relaxing environment. It is also wonderful to read you were able to take a break and escape to our rooftop pool area. I am however sorry we did not meet your expectations... More 

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent 1 night in a suite here and was welcomed with acknowledgement of anniversary which was very nice. Room was large but unfortunately the cleaner had used the toilet and not cleaned it afterward! A quick phone call remedied the situation via an extremely apologetic and somewhat embarrassed cleaner ( not the same one obviously). Reception staff were pleasant but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Kentm1 Thank you for your online review. I am extremely apologetic that the bathroom was not up to standard. This is certainly not a reflection on our usual standards. I am however pleased that we were able to easily rectify the situation. We will certainly follow up with the housekeeping department to ensure this never happens again. I am... More 

Cranbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel and location, but please Brady..... Front reception guy, please work on your people skills. Your in hospitality so chill out a bit and don't accost people who are actually paying guest. Other wise, place can't be faulted and great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Malume, Many thanks for your online review. I am pleased to read your stay was enjoyable and you were able to take full advantage of our South Yarra location. I am however extremely sorry you felt a member of our team missed the mark – certainly not indicative of his usual manner at all and I will ensure to... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Como's location has always been the best for the activities of city living. I returned after many years to find the service as great as I remember right from the greeting at the front door - all the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The rooms were probably not as funky today as they were in past decades (a time... More 

Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear David M, Many thanks for your online review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and felt the service and hotel were as great as you remember from decades ago! Thank you for your kind words about our staff, they certainly will be shared with the whole team. It was our pleasure to welcome you back and we look... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne

175 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (145)
Viewed
Room/suite (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay