We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 172 Melbourne hotels

Rydges on Swanston Melbourne

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Hotel amenities
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges on Swanston Melbourne to your Saves list
Ranked #128 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Andysbitz1917 Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    94
    124
    96
    92
See reviews for
72
112
45
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (467)
  • Mar-May only
    (105)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (139)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (122)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (101)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is only a hop skip and a jump from the CBD, great food places and some of Melbourne's green parks. Comfortable rooms with a good environmental policy. The front desk were very helpful. The free wifi is an nice touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a conference and found room to be everything I expected - clean, tidy, modern. It featured a king size bed, table, shower, view over park. Service standard was a bit poor - waited ages in restaurant to be served and then for meal. We asked for particular glass of wine that was being promoted at the bar whilst... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The bed was comfortable, I slept well; the room was clean; the food in the restaurant was quirky but interesting to try; the staff were friendly and helpful. Location was good for my business trip. It was a cold November period, and the room was cold. I could not find any individual room heating (but I did not ask) so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yeppoon, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently stayed at Rydges on Swanston for four nights (Nov 2014), and would have to rate it as one of the worst, of our hotel stays. The location is good, within walking distance to most attractions. That's where it ends - the rooms are shabby. The mattresses are awful, so bad, we were walking around sore and sleep deprived. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington NZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rydges has initiated an on-line system allowing guests to state room preferences and any special requests 24 hours prior to arrival. Our room preference was submitted as 'not next to the elevator' and the special request was extra towels. On arrival from overseas we were given a room next to the elevator with no extra towels. When this was pointed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RydgesonSwanston, Front Office Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear WellingtonPhoenixFan, Thank you for taking the time to review your time here at Rydges. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to your liking. Regarding the car parking charges, we do feel that it is very reasonably priced as most of the city averages between $40 - $50 per night. Best Regards, Brendan... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm familiar with this hotel and thought a stay a few minutes out of the CBD would be OK. On the upside it has taught me to book ahead of time. While the staff are polite and responsive, it unfortunately didn't prevent a nightmare stay. The cups and spoons needed washing before I could make a drink. Finally after 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RydgesonSwanston, Front Office Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Jules S, I'm sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your recent stay here at Rydges on Swanston. Rest assured I have passed all of your concerns to our Housekeeping Manager, and she will address with her team first hand. On a positive note, I am pleased to read that you found our staff lovely and hope that you... More

Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were able to check in when we arrived, before 11:00, checking in on line was a good idea. They sent an e-mail with an update, saying our room was ready at 09:00, but we didn't check it, although we went there strait from the airport. If you join the loyalty program, you get 20% off your food and drinking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RydgesonSwanston, Front Office Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear IIona Z, Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and we are all thrilled to read that you had such an excellent time! It looks like you got to experience the very best of our local area, and enjoyed the facilities here at the hotel. Please come back and stay with us again, Best... More

Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked the hotel online for two nights. It was booked with breakfast, however when we showed up to eat the next morning they said it wasnt included. So I went to the reception and said that it was part of the booking. The guy behind the counter said it wasnt, but he could give me a discount from $25 to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RydgesonSwanston, Front Office Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear 188lasse, I'm disappointed to read of your experience at Rydges on Swanston as this issue was raised and resolved, to our knowledge at the time. Just to recap, both the hotel confirmation and your own paperwork did not have breakfast listed as an inclusion and it was suggested that you contact the website where you made the booking to... More

Ballarat, Vic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Last minute (3 days prior) booking for overnight (Saturday) stay in October, 2014. Not too pricey and location attracted us. (Wife and two kids). Booked a room with two double beds. Advised via text message that room ready well before normal check in time. This was very convenient. Online check in also a great option. Hotel is obviously an old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RydgesonSwanston, Front Office Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear beejw1, Many thanks for your kind words and feedback on your time with us. It's great to hear that you took advantage of our location with the proximity to Lygon Street and the convenience of trams right outside the main doors. We look forward to welcoming you again, Best Regards, Brendan Spaswick Front Office Manager More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We wanted a nice weekend getaway in the city. This place was recommended by a friend and didn't disappoint. .The front of house staff where friendly Charlotte was a stand out with her warming & nothing was to much trouble approach. Our room looked onto the park which was lovely and the bathroom been clearly updated. As we had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RydgesonSwanston, Front Office Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Timmylo, Thank you so much for your rave review! It's always a delight to receive such positive feedback and Charlotte was thrilled to see your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again, Best Regards, Brendan Spanswick Front Office Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rydges on Swanston Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges on Swanston Melbourne

Address: 701 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges on Swanston Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges on Swanston Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges On Swanston Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Rydges On Swanston Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges On Swanston

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay