We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 171 Melbourne hotels

Quest Southbank

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Quest Southbank to your Saves list
Quest Southbank
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #84 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014
BellaalleB
  • Overview
  • Reviews (138)
  • Photos (50)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    55
    25
    9
    9
See reviews for
37
26
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Quest Southbank
See the most recent reviews
Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have stayed ar Quest Southbank a coupla times....Whilst its no Ritz Carlton, it does offer some amenities that some other hotels dont... Like windows that open and a balcony in some rooms.... And the rooms are a good size.... And the location is pretty good if you visiting the Crown area...Lots do do nearby. But they need to do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear kingrox, I am sincerely sorry that you have had such a horrible experience on arrival. I am definitely not going to palm it off by saying the employee in question had a bad day. This is irrelevant to the guest and therefore irrelevant to me. You are 100% correct in saying that all the advertising in the world does... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed over night. Had booked a one bedroom apartment and a two bedroom apartment. Service on arrival was adequate (someone was having a bad day but was okay) Apartments were clean, little dated in need of a coat of paint. Had all basic items available, roomy. The location is the main reason we would stay again its obviously why you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear BellaalleB, We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. I am glad to read that you feel our location is great and that our apartments were clean and roomy! We do take pride in the size and cleanliness of our apartments. I am sorry that your experience of our customer service was not to our normal standards.... More

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Beds with dodgy covers and old blankets and toilet bins that aren't emptied. Complained to no avail. Single apartments have bedrooms with no direct outside window access - so no natural light. Don't stay unless you're under budget constraints.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Mia L, I am truly sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay! In regards to our beds, blankets and bedspreads you may be interested to hear that we have just finished replacing every bed in all of our Executive 1, 2 & 3 Bedroom apartments (which make up nearly half of all of our apartments), as... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed overnight with my partner. We were surprised to find our room unlocked on arrival - not particularly safe! The rooms although spacious were bare and dated. Everything look very tired and used. The toilet seat was covered with mould. Thankfully we only stayed for the one night - I wasn't going to dare using any of the cooking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear ao05, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is always disappointing to hear when a guest has experienced a less than enjoyable stay. I am genuinely sorry that you have had a few things wrong with the apartment and stay in general. We are in the process of doing substantial soft refurbishments at the moment,... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this very, very average 'serviced apartment'. From the fact that the lock on the apartment door was missing the cover plate gave us a little idea that the unit was needing attention. With me there for business and my wife there for the shopping we spread out on our own each day. The fact that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear ColandLynne, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and please accept my apologies that you have not experienced a pleasant stay like the far majority of our guests. It may be little consolation however that we in the midst of re-grouting a number of bathrooms to tackle the exact issue you mention. So far we have... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Quest is in a good spot in that it is quiet enough to sleep, but close enough to the river that good restaurants are only a short walk away. The staff were helpful, the room was very comfortable, neat and tidy, with a full kitchen.I requested a room on an upper floor and the staff arranged for this request. (Stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear AlanCarver, Thanks for writing your review. It is nice to read that you liked the location of our property and comfort level of our apartments! Also great to hear that you found our apartments to be neat and tidy. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Kind regards, More

Parkes, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We only stayed the 1 night in a 2 beedroom apartment $269 including parking, with 2 comfy queen beds apartment was surprisingly large with 2 bathrooms 2 tv's cooking facilities,washing machine and dryer ,dishwasher.They even let us park our car in early (12 midday) great central location will definately try to stay here again hopefully for the F1 next year..Only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Mike L, Thanks for writing your review, it is alway good to hear feedback about our property and staff. Great to see that you were pleasantly surprised by the size and appointments of our 2 Bedroom apartments! And as they all have the 2nd bathroom they are perfectly suited to 2 couples! Not so great to hear that the... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
129 hotel reviews
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed 5 nights at a cost of $200 per night for a 1 bed room modern, clean and quiet apartment, which was within walking distance of Albert Park or 1 street over from the tram stop. An IGA with a bottle shop across road which was open 0700hrs until 2300hrs. This Quest is just perfect and does not induge in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear ShaunScotland, We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review, and we are especially happy to read that you were obviously very happy with the property. Glad you liked the location and convenience offered by our property and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Warmest regards, More

Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed in a 2br unit for just one night while attending a concert at AAMI Park. In terms of location this place is perfect if you are going to any of the nearby venues (Hamer Hall, the G, Rod Laver) AAMI Park was a safe and pleasant 45 min walk away. Our unit was very spacious and clean, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear mrssmith1368, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and it is great to hear such positive comments, especially about our location and the spaciousness of our apartments. With regards to your feedback about our sheer curtains, this is an area we are looking at targeting this year in our continual improvement program, so I... More

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed the one night, Location was great, & friendly service. Room was clean & spacious, bed was uncomfortable, felt like two singles pushed together with a large lump in the middle of the bed. Car parking is an extra $20 & a little difficult to navigate around but handy all the same. Be aware of the Bond Hold, $300 bond... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Jaemae, Thank you for sharing your feedback, we always appreciate getting all feedback. I am happy to hear that you considered our apartments to be spacious and clean and that the property was in a great location. We have actually just made plans to update quite a few of our beds. The problem you describe is the down side... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Quest Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Quest Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank

Address: 16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Quest Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne #84 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino and Melbourne’s CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains & trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and Federation Square. Broadband internet access (cable & wireless), Digital TV and Foxtel (8 channels) is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
88

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Quest Southbank and other travelers.
1 question

See which rooms travelers prefer