We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 171 Melbourne hotels

Quest Southbank

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Quest Southbank to your Saves list
Quest Southbank
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #85 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
RussellYarrow Brisbane, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (136)
  • Photos (50)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (24)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    54
    24
    9
    9
See reviews for
36
25
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked the Quest based on word of mouth experiences by friends and family who love the hotel's location, cleanliness and staff. I booked a two bedroom apartment for my family of five for 5 nights recently. When we arrived at 1:45pm our room was not ready so no problem to check our luggage and go grab a late lunch.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great rooms, nice and quiet. Awesome location in southbank, only thing that let it down was the man on the desk at check out, didn't offer to help me with my 2 bags or to rung a taxi. This was at 6.30am in the morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having stayed at Quaywest before this apartment was bigger and half the price! May not have marble bathrooms but was well maintained, decorated and comfortable. Staff were very helpful. Would stay there again next time I am in Melbourne.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed on the Friday night (27th) as a night to get out of the house and enjoy some city time. We were greeted with a smile by the girl working the evening shift and a no fuss check in. Very happy all round. Will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear KMelbs, Thanks for the great review! Glad to hear our property was to your liking and that you were happy with everything! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Kind regards, More

sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed here many times over 5 years as it's convenient for my work but increasingly I am disappointed. The first couple of times I was given upgrades but the more I have stayed I find the apartment gets worse - which is the converse of most hotels who reward frequent visitors. This visit was the last straw. I booked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear SydneySuz, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is disappointing to read that you feel that we have gotten worse over the past five years that you have been staying here. Especially when we have an active continual improvement program. This program has recently involved replacing more than half of our beds and changing to... More

Ashfield, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed 3 nights over Easter as 2 couples. The location was good for the ladies as close to the city as the purpose of the trip was an exhibition at Bundoora so we were out most of the day. The 2 bedroom apartment was spacious and having 2 bathrooms was good. The kitchen was a bit light on with utensils... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Peter G, Great to read your review of our 2 Bedroom apartment. Glad to hear you considered it was spacious and clean. I can happily say that all of our 2 Bedroom apartments have 2 bathrooms and a balcony. Also nice to read that you thought our location was good! We look forward to welcoming you and your friends... More

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed at the Quest Southbank at the end of May. We had a 4 night stay which included a Friday night (extremely expensive for same room, purely because it was a Friday which was disappointing). There were 2 apartments between 2 families, as we were there for the gymnastics championships our daughters were competing in. The location was perfect.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear M N, Great to read your review of our apartments as spacious, clean and in a convenient location. We think they are ideal for families travelling to Melbourne. Most hotels will hold some sort of credit card bond on arrival. The amount we hold is clearly laid out in all of our confirmation emails, regardless of if the booking... More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed for two nights, booked via QANTAS FF as i had in the past to house hunt in the Southbank area. Was pleased that this time, the room did not smell of mildew however i was disappointed that at 2.45pm, the room was still being "serviced" by a young man who just would not leave. He decided to strike up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Daylan78, Thank you for posting your feedback. In a way I actually would have preferred that you lodged a complaint at the time, because if one of our staff have made you feel uncomfortable, or dare I say unsafe, then I would prefer to be dealing with it immediately. I am extremely sorry that you have been made to... More

Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have stayed ar Quest Southbank a coupla times....Whilst its no Ritz Carlton, it does offer some amenities that some other hotels dont... Like windows that open and a balcony in some rooms.... And the rooms are a good size.... And the location is pretty good if you visiting the Crown area...Lots do do nearby. But they need to do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear kingrox, I am sincerely sorry that you have had such a horrible experience on arrival. I am definitely not going to palm it off by saying the employee in question had a bad day. This is irrelevant to the guest and therefore irrelevant to me. You are 100% correct in saying that all the advertising in the world does... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed over night. Had booked a one bedroom apartment and a two bedroom apartment. Service on arrival was adequate (someone was having a bad day but was okay) Apartments were clean, little dated in need of a coat of paint. Had all basic items available, roomy. The location is the main reason we would stay again its obviously why you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear BellaalleB, We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. I am glad to read that you feel our location is great and that our apartments were clean and roomy! We do take pride in the size and cleanliness of our apartments. I am sorry that your experience of our customer service was not to our normal standards.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Quest Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Quest Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank

Address: 16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Quest Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne #85 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino and Melbourne’s CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains & trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and Federation Square. Broadband internet access (cable & wireless), Digital TV and Foxtel (8 channels) is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
88

See which rooms travelers prefer