We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quest Southbank

16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Quest Southbank
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    54
    86
    40
    15
    12
See reviews for
50
37
4
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (207)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I thought we had found a good hotel in a great spot but unfortunately the fact that they took more bond money out of our card than the cost of the room is unbelievable. We travel a lot due to the nature of our business and are used to the $100 security hold on our credit card but this hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our 2 bedroom apartment was the perfect base for a handful of blokes on a night in Melbourne for a 40th. The apartment itself was clean and very well appointed - seemingly quite new. Kitchen great, not that we used it, bathrooms great and location superb to all things Southbank and a pleasant walk down to the MCG. The IGA... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a two bedroom apartment for my friend and I for a girls weekend for my birthday. The apartment was clean and very well appointed. My room had an ensuite. Although we didn't cook in the apartment, there is everything you would need including a four burner gas cooktop and an under bench oven, Full size fridge, dishwasher and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There were 12 people in our party and 3 double rooms were booked. Each couple had own bathroom and the rooms offered large living area so we could all meet in one space. The rooms were clean, a bit cold and a little noisey from traffic outside but overall great night and stay was had by all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear 966Steph30, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Great to hear that all of your group enjoyed their stay and found our rooms to be clean, spacious and well appointed, We look forward to welcoming you all back next time you need to stay in Melbourne. Warmest regards, More 

noosa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a 3 bedroom apartment and a 1 bedroom apartment for6 people and we got 3 keys so we were constantly having to meet at the lift to go up or let people into this apartment etc and as we worked everyday we were there from 9 to at least 6 or 7 pm it was a real hassle.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear eclecticNoosa, Thanks for posting your feedback and sorry to hear that you encountered some difficulties and problems. Being located in the inner city means we are prone to road noise and construction noise from time to time and it is difficult for us to mitigate this. Unfortunately as our building has a full access control security system, your key... More 

australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't know if it's just me, but I have just read the previous reviews stating that this place is a good clean hotel. I beg to differ. This hotel was booked for us as my husband was in Melbourne, working at Southbank, so he had no say as to where he was to stay. The location is fairly convenient,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear familymam, Thank you for posting your feedback, It is never nice to read bad reviews however it is important for us to hear about things we have done badly so that we can improve. Please accept my sincere apologies for all the problems you encountered. As you mentioned in your post, our guests are normally very happy with our... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here a few times over the years - nice clean apartments. Right close to Southbank for a 5 minute walk to all the action. Always good prices which is attractive. Easy parking and access. Laundry and kitchen facilities in the apartments also. In need of a refresh but not massively outdated by any means. Will stay again, and thanks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Ben F, Thanks for posting your feedback, and great to hear you have been coming back for years! Also nice to hear that your found your room to be clean and attractively priced! With regards to us needing a refresh, we are trying to tick some major things off that list this year. We have recently put in some... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Just checked out today after 3 nights there to go to the Real Madrid game at the MCG. Checked in with my 2 young boys having booked a 1 bedroom place and rang prior to getting there to ensure that there was a second bed for the third person (sofa bed or rollaway). When I checked in the receptionist could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Neil2507, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Firstly please accept my apologies that you did not get the great customer service that the far majority of our guests receive. I will be using your review together with some coaching to improve our customer service delivery, and reinforce that each and every guest interaction must be... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

I stayed here on business... with our Melb office across the road it is ideal position and only a short walk to Southbank & city. I stayed for nearly a week, thus apartment with kitchen & laundry much better than tiny hotel room. Staff were friendly & helpful. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Dougies10, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Glad to hear that you appreciated the spaciousness of our apartments and the kitchen and laundry facilities within the apartment. Our friendly staff definitely look forward to welcoming you back next time you need to stay close to your office! Warmest regards, More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

A very comfortable and clean apartment. We were upgraded from a one bed to a two bedroom apartment which had a spacious lounge/dining and separate well equipped kitchen. All the creature comforts and handy to Southbank restaurants and attractions. Highly recommended. Staff were friendly and helpful. If you are staying in Melbourne and visiting the Arts Centre, this is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear MelbourneRod1960, Thank you for posting your feedback. And great to hear that you found our apartment to be clean, comfortable and spacious! Thank you also for pointing out how close and convenient we are if you are going to the arts Centre or NGV! Hopefully we can welcome you and your partner back next time you need accommodation in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#78 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#7 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Aria Serviced Apartments
#113 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay