We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 171 Melbourne hotels

Quest Southbank

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Hotel amenities
Quest Southbank
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Southbank to your Saves list
Ranked #94 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Cin06 Bunbury, Australia
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    73
    35
    13
    10
See reviews for
47
29
4
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (177)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at the Quest Southbank on a recent very busy weekend in Melbourne so the rates for this hotel were ridiculously inflated which I found very annoying for the state of the room. The 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment on the 14th floor was very spacious but it needs an upgrade desperately. The bathroom needed regrouting, the showerhead produced a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Cin06, Thanks for posting your review. Please accept my apologies that a few things in the apartment detracted from your overall enjoyment. As I mentioned in my previous post, we are in the process of re-grouting bathrooms to remedy the problem you mention. As for the air-conditioner, we will have our Maintenance people check to ensure it is operating... More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really disappointed with this place. Have stayed at Quest before, although not this property. Our room had stained / filthy carpets, a freezer that hadn't been defrosted since the last ice age and bathroom grout that varied between dirty creme to black. The most surprising thing however was when I advised staff at check out and no one seemed surprised.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear BF_and_AA, Thank you for posting your feedback - it is important for us to know what we get wrong so that we can correct it. Please accept my apologies that we have missed a few key areas in this particular apartment. With regards to the grout, we are actually just about to restart our re-grouting project to tackle this... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friends and I stayed in the three bedroom executive apartment last weekend. Wow! It was amazing. So spacious and clean. The staff were super friendly and the location is so central. I recommend highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Joolzmacca, What can I say expect for thanks for the recommendation! Very happy to read that you thought it was amazing, spacious and clean! As nice to read that you found our staff be to "super friendly"!! Hopefully we will see you again soon. Warmest regards, More 

Mt Eliza, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Quest Apartments for two nights recently with another couple. The apartments are a good value alternative to staying in city hotels especially when there are two couples sharing the expense. The Quest Southbank is well located for a nice stroll into the city and closer by to all the action of Southbank. We did have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Jo K, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with your friends and that you will stay here again! We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back next time you need a 2 Bedroom apartment in Melbourne! Warm regards, More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Melbourne city is great for walking so the location of accommodation is crucial and its often hard to find well priced decent lodgings close to everything. Kavanagh street is only 5 minutes walk away from the yarra and then over into the city so its reasonably close if you fancy a bit of exercise. Location is also good for south... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Charlie C, Thanks for taking the time in posting your review. Glad to read that you found our property to be well located and our apartments to be clean, well appointed and of great value! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne. Kind regards, More 

Adelaide
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

I recently stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment at the Quest Southbank. The location is quite close to a number of restaurants along the southern bank of the Yarra River - mind you, the restaurants are mostly in the upper price range due to the location. The apartments are spacious, neat and tidy. The one I stayed in could do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Fards, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. And nice to read that you found our apartments to be "spacious, neat and tidy"! As I have mentioned previously, we are aware of and are actioning the re-grouting of some of the bathrooms. And we also periodically repaint our apartments. It is also great that you found... More 

Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Looking for good value, close to everything in the Melbourne, than you have to try the quest appartments, kavanagh St South bank. I Have stayed here three times now and haven't had a bad experience. Appartments are well set up and the staff are more than happy to accomadate your specific needs and room configurations. You are a short walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Vikki W, Thanks for posting such a great review - and especially since your have stayed repeatedly and have never had any issues! I think your review speaks for itself - so I will leave it as that! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne! Warmest regards, More 

Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

My sister, daughter and I have just stayed here for two nights. On arrival we headed up to the fifteenth floor to be met by at this stage, a faint smell of garbage in the corridor. When we opened our room we were all horrified by the strong cigarette smell in the room. My sister who is asthmatic immediately rang... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Glenn W, Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies that your stay was severely affected by the smell you encountered. I feel if we had of room moved you on the first night we could have avoided this affecting your enjoyment, as the other guest on that floor - who is at the other end of the corridor - did... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Have traveled, usually with Hotel accommodation. Decided to make this holiday with family member, in an Apartment for more freedom and relaxation for the 10 days. Location is handy to Southbank, and easy to get to trams, trains, eateries etc. Overall place was clean, barring the Master ensuite shower growing black mould in two corners. Only a soap dish in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear GillianM109, Thank you for writing your thorough review! I see that you had a 2 Bedroom apartment on the 10th floor with a city view, which should have been perfect for the New Years Eve fireworks! This is the highest floor for that apartment type. Only our Executive 2 Bedroom apartments are higher floors than what you had. These... More 

NewZealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Short weekend break. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms. A reasonably spacious apartment for a family or two couples. Well equipped kitchen. The location is excellent, near to Southbank river walks and restaurants. Good coffee and an organic grocer just around the corner in Fanner st.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear RedPCGirl, Thank you for posting your feedback! And I am glad to read that you think our 2 Bedroom apartments are "spacious and well equipped" and that we are in a excellent location. I hope that next time you travel to Melbourne with your family that you will stay with us again! Warmest regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Quest Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank

Address: 16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quest Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay