We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 171 Melbourne hotels

Quest Southbank

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Hotel amenities
Quest Southbank
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Southbank to your Saves list
Ranked #94 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Charlie C Perth, Australia
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    71
    34
    12
    10
See reviews for
46
28
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (172)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Melbourne city is great for walking so the location of accommodation is crucial and its often hard to find well priced decent lodgings close to everything. Kavanagh street is only 5 minutes walk away from the yarra and then over into the city so its reasonably close if you fancy a bit of exercise. Location is also good for south... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment at the Quest Southbank. The location is quite close to a number of restaurants along the southern bank of the Yarra River - mind you, the restaurants are mostly in the upper price range due to the location. The apartments are spacious, neat and tidy. The one I stayed in could do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Fards, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. And nice to read that you found our apartments to be "spacious, neat and tidy"! As I have mentioned previously, we are aware of and are actioning the re-grouting of some of the bathrooms. And we also periodically repaint our apartments. It is also great that you found... More 

Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Looking for good value, close to everything in the Melbourne, than you have to try the quest appartments, kavanagh St South bank. I Have stayed here three times now and haven't had a bad experience. Appartments are well set up and the staff are more than happy to accomadate your specific needs and room configurations. You are a short walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Vikki W, Thanks for posting such a great review - and especially since your have stayed repeatedly and have never had any issues! I think your review speaks for itself - so I will leave it as that! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne! Warmest regards, More 

Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My sister, daughter and I have just stayed here for two nights. On arrival we headed up to the fifteenth floor to be met by at this stage, a faint smell of garbage in the corridor. When we opened our room we were all horrified by the strong cigarette smell in the room. My sister who is asthmatic immediately rang... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Glenn W, Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies that your stay was severely affected by the smell you encountered. I feel if we had of room moved you on the first night we could have avoided this affecting your enjoyment, as the other guest on that floor - who is at the other end of the corridor - did... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have traveled, usually with Hotel accommodation. Decided to make this holiday with family member, in an Apartment for more freedom and relaxation for the 10 days. Location is handy to Southbank, and easy to get to trams, trains, eateries etc. Overall place was clean, barring the Master ensuite shower growing black mould in two corners. Only a soap dish in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear GillianM109, Thank you for writing your thorough review! I see that you had a 2 Bedroom apartment on the 10th floor with a city view, which should have been perfect for the New Years Eve fireworks! This is the highest floor for that apartment type. Only our Executive 2 Bedroom apartments are higher floors than what you had. These... More 

NewZealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Short weekend break. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms. A reasonably spacious apartment for a family or two couples. Well equipped kitchen. The location is excellent, near to Southbank river walks and restaurants. Good coffee and an organic grocer just around the corner in Fanner st.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear RedPCGirl, Thank you for posting your feedback! And I am glad to read that you think our 2 Bedroom apartments are "spacious and well equipped" and that we are in a excellent location. I hope that next time you travel to Melbourne with your family that you will stay with us again! Warmest regards, More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

These apartment rentals as hotel rooms are popular in Australia where investers lease back to a manager . The room we had was in need of a make over. The bathroom tiles needed regrouting & there were several items broken which i reported to the front desk. Ironic in that the manager took a security deposit on CC in case... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear dang2218, Thanks for taking the time to post your review! And I am glad to read that you felt our location was good. We are constantly trying to improve our apartments. We have identified a number of rooms needing re-grouting and are actioning as we can. We have already re-grouted around 30 out of 88 apartments, and have plans... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Quest Southbank is a convenient place to stay when working in Melbourne CBD or Southbank. Quest Southbank is close the the Southbank eating areas, Crown Casino and the Convention Centre. I have stayed at this apartment hotel 5 times in 2014, and have been happy to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Murray H, Thank you for writing your review. It is always nice to read that a guest has stayed repeatedly and are happy to return next time! Great to read your comments about our location, as we think we are in a truly fantastic spot! Also nice to see that you think our 1 Bedrooms are spacious - at... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Quest Southbank is located amidst the Arts Community of Melbourne, so there is never a shortage of things to do. If you feel like a "flutter", the Crown Casino is only 5 minutes walk away too. The CBD with its fascinating laneways and quirky shops is also easily accessible on foot. Great location! The service staff were terrific - the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Cathy R, Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. I am very happy to read that you felt the apartments, location and staff were all good. I am especially happy to see that you mentioned housekeeping staff were terrific! And I am rapt to read that you would certainly recommend us. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Sydney
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

The Quest is a suite complex located two blocks back from the Yarra and to the East St Kilda Road. So not far to CBD, entertainment and transport. We had a work function and required several rooms and after looking at the prices of hotel rooms with separate amenities we found that the Quest was 2/3 price. We had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Wallaby_tour, Thank you for writing such a great review! I am extremely happy to read that you found our apartments be to "perfect". It is also fantastic to read that our staff were responsive to your needs. Unfortunately as nearly all of our apartments have balconies there is always the chance a smoker will make use the balcony and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Quest Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank

Address: 16 Kavanagh Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quest Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay