We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mantra Southbank Melbourne

31 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    163
    70
    27
    10
See reviews for
82
83
13
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (359)
  • Mar-May only
    (106)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Canberra
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Mantra Southbank in May 2015 on a Friday and Saturday evening. There were four adults and one child so we booked a two bedroom apartment and requested a sofa bed for our child. Check-in was handled with no fuss and staff were very helpful and friendly. The building is located directly across the road from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The first thing I want to say about Mantra Southbank, is how they honoured the (very) early booking I had made. None of this "subject to availability" rubbish. I really appreciate this, as, if you book a hotel in advance, you should get what you've booked. Our exact request for the 2 rooms was all in order. Both rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Lyse-Scott, Thank you so much for your review of Mantra Southbank Melbourne. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at our hotel. As you mentioned, we do try to ensure that any requests made at the time of booking are met, as we want all of our guests to have an enjoyable and comfortable... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Service is excellent and staff well above average. Restaurant is great with a limited dinner menu but great breakfasts. Only criticism being the cost of internet access. Apartments well appointed and very clean

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear William W, Thank you for your review of Mantra Southbank Melbourne. Wow! What a wonderful review and I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. I am very excited and proud as a manager to hear such great comments about our staff, as we are constantly aiming to perfect the level of service delivered... More 

Gawler, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent a week here on business, great location, nice 2 bedroom apartment, clean and spacious, has a hairdryer and good bathroom shampoos etc, great breakfast, only downside is it can be noisy if your on City Road you will have a view of the city but your on a busy road, if your a poor sleeper like me ask... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Pauline M, Thank you for review of Mantra Southbank Melbourne. I am glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us in one of our spacious 2 Bedroom Apartments. In regards to your feedback about noise, being located on a busy inner city road, we are continually looking a ways to improve the noise quality in... More 

Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel wasn't too far from Melbourne attractions, and apartment rooms were well sized. Unfortunately no TV in the bedroom, which is always a bit of a drawback. Staff were friendly and helpful. Very good (by hotel standards) pool - probably 15m, and a relatively well equipped gymnasium. We didn't eat in their restaurant, but ordered their room service and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Trudy K, Thank you for your review of Mantra Southbank Melbourne. It's always wonderful to welcome our friends from the Apple Isle to our hotel and I am glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. As you mentioned, we are perfectly situated to many of Melbourne's fantastic attractions including the Arts Centre, National Gallery and... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

we have stayed at hotels, appartments etc all around the country and world I rely on trip advisor for booking accommodation but rarely post reviews unless I think previous reviews were grossly wrong. Mantra at Southbank is a 3 star stay at best and is way below any mantra we have stayed at . It is run down , we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear JohnoSch, Thank you for your review and feedback of Mantra Southbank Melbourne. It is incredibly disappointing to hear that you and your family had a less than enjoyable stay with us. I would like to thank you for taking the time to have a telephone discussion with me this afternoon about your stay. As discussed, we are currently in... More 

Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife stayed here overnight on our recent trip to Tasmania. What a great location !! Walking distance to Melbourne CBD, and friendly efficient staff providing a map to guide our route around the city. Fabulous to wander Southbank and enjoy the sounds and sights. We will stay here again when in Melbourne.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Rushie08, Thank you for your review of Mantra Southbank Melbourne. It is wonderful to hear that you had a great stay with us even though it was just for the one night. As you mentioned, we are fantastically located in Southbank and close to all that Melbourne has to offer. Our staff are always more than happy to share... More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is perfectly located midway between docklands and the MCG making it easy to walk to the sporting venues. It is also close to restaurants in Southbank plus the various trams. Our room was small but had everything we needed and the hotel staff are very welcoming and friendly. A great place to stay for our footy weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Sharon170865, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us at Mantra Southbank Melbourne and that staff were welcoming and friendly. We hope to welcome you back for another footy weekend soon! Kind regards, Karl Henry Front Office Manager More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed at Mantra on Kent in Sydney it was nice so I thought I'd try another Mantra property. This time the Mantra Southbank Hotel in Melbourne. It's even better and not only because I scored an upgrade. I was given a two bedroom apartment and it is massive. The staff are super friendly and the hotel is located just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Ozkart, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed being upgraded to one of our 2 Bedroom Apartments. As you mentioned, our rooms are very spacious and are perfect for families want to come to Melbourne and... More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great location close to everything. Barbie High tea at Langham, short tram/walk to Lion King, Children's garden and Shrine. Also has an indoor pool. For $200/ night for 2 bedrooms, kitchen and wash/dryer good value. Beds and pillows very comfy. Decor ok but basic.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear meiroseeast, Thank you for your review of Mantra Southbank Melbourne. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. I am also glad to hear that you were able enjoy a number of fantastic events that are currently on in our city at the moment. As you have mentioned, we are situated... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question