We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mantra Southbank Melbourne

31 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Add Photo Write a Review

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    96
    167
    73
    28
    10
See reviews for
85
92
13
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (374)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was booked online and we were in for a real surprise. The location was a short stroll to the river and the buzz of Southbank, access to the tram and a short stroll into the city. The room had a kitchenette, beautiful spacious bathroom, large bathroom and liveable lounge dining area. The décor was modern and fresh. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location of the hotel was fantastic. Just a short walk from all of Melbourne has to offer. Rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff at check-in were professional and friendly. The shower was in the bathtub and very high from floor level ( we estimated 50 cm). There was a grip bar, however there was also a glass... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Located right across the road from Langham hotel Southbank, the Mantra Southbank is just 10 mins walk to Flinders station, making it smack in a central location. Apartment is large enough to fit 2 pax very comfortably; and does not look super modern or super old- decently clean. Only the bathroom looks a bit dated; and could do with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great overnight in a 2 bedroom corner apartment. Plenty of space, clean, very comfy beds and good kitchen facilities. A bit noisy being right on city road but that didn't bother us. The kids thought it was more exciting than a distraction. Close/walking distance to south bank precinct, aquarium, fed square etc. We were able to check I a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charleville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just a short stroll over the Yarra to the City Centre. Clean comfortable & well priced. Great buffet breakfast & Bar to indulge before our night out. Staff helpful & friendly & as it was Melbourne Cup time it must have been hell but they always had a smile.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very disappointed by this hotel for our trip to the city. Poor views from the rooms. Rooms were very noisy and at 8am there was hammering and renovations on the floor above our beds- pathetic. Lifts in the building took nearly 10 minutes each time to arrive for you to go up or down- we even reported it to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear fiona A, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mantra Southbank Melbourne. I am incredibly disappointed to hear that you didn't have an enjoyable time during your recent stay with us. In regards about noise and the slowness of our lifts, we have been in the process of reburbishing our hotel, with the 1st stage including... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were looking for a Southbank located hotel and Mantra is perfectly located to all entertainment spots. On arrival the friendly staff kindly upgraded us to spa room and when we reached our room we were greeted with a large clean and well appointed space. The spa bath was good size and was enjoyed!! We had room service for dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Dean L, Thank you for your review of Mantra Southbank Melbourne. It is always fantastic to hear when our guests have a wonderful time with us and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our 1 Bedroom Spa Apartments. I have passed on your positive feedback to all of our staff and it is greatly... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

This hotel was a perfect weekend retreat in Melbourne. We were lucky to be given a quiet suite, and had a great night's sleep. Melbourne shops and shows were walking distance away, and breakfast was good. Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Sharpie56, Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra Southbank Melbourne. I am very happy to hear that you had a fantastic and relaxing stay with us. As you mentioned, we are situated in a great location for anyone wanting to get away for the weekend and to enjoy all of that our great city has to offer.... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

We were told when we booked through Mantra that we would have river views as this was a special occasion for us and we specifically asked for a hotel in Melbourne with a beautiful view then arrived to be told no river views from any room. In fact we had a view of a busy road and a building. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

The hotel rooms are well appointed but the windows were dirty and the location is very noisy located on a busy street! Access to the entertainment is difficult for elderly and anyone with a walking disability as the stairways are rather steep and go over the motorway so we took a taxi back to the hotel after the opera but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear PJ L, Thank you for your review of Mantra Southbank Melbourne and I would like to thank you also for taking the time to discuss with me over the telephone this afternoon the difficulty you had with the taxi on your way back from the opera. I am extremely disappointed in the treatment that you recieved as there is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay