We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lyall Hotel and Spa

#32 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Special Price
20% off room rate
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    48
    19
    10
    3
See reviews for
33
100
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (210)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed on two occasions recently (rooms 408 & 407) and found the hotel extremely clean and comfortable and with very efficient and most helpful staff. There rooms were a reasonable size (small suites) with a small sitting area having a tiny balcony, and a cosy bedroom. Ask for a quiet room away from the construction site which will probably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed here for 10 days with my husband and two year old, which we used as a base to visit family and friends. A one bedroom suite had plenty of room even with all our luggage! The shower has fantastic water pressure and the balcony wasa nice touch to the room. Bed was comfortable - i was worried... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your generous review on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the comfort of the suite and our bedding including our pillow menu. We recently implemented a new menu which has been well received and as you found, our location is full of lovely restaurants and parks within easy walking distance.... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank you to all the lovely staff at the Lyall Hotel and Spa for making my short stay with you a very pleasant one. The room was nicely chilled on arrival after a hot tram journey, the bed was comfortable, the room service evening meal and breakfast were delicious, and the staff were welcoming, polite and very helpful. I wouldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Steve, What a lovely review !! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience while at The Lyall. It's a pleasure to read that your suite, meals and experience with service were all good and well received. Thank you for recommending The Lyall to other potential guests and I hope to have the opportunity to... More 

Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Nice welcome on arrival. Food service was poor to average. Supplied with incorrect orders and things missing that were supposed to be included for that dish. Balcony provides lovely fresh air but when someone starts smoking on the balcony below, the cigarette smoke wafts into your room. Hotel location is very close to some nice restaurants. Trams to the city... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. It was pleasing to read that you were greeted well on arrival and that you found our location convenient to some nice restaurants, transport and attractions close by. I agree that the poor to average food service is not good enough we did have a relief... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

This hotel was everything we were expecting and more! My partner and I had never been to Melbourne and they were more than happy to help us with anything we needed, from train tickets, to taxi services and even the best local restaurants and cafes. Staff was exceptional, rooms were fantastic and spacious, bathrooms were very clean and luxurious. Thank... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte C, Thank you so much for your generous review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience at The Lyall and the service that our staff offer. Even more delighted that your first Melbourne experience was a great one. We hope to welcome you back soon. Warmest wishes, Rowina Thomas Hotelier More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 via mobile

Do not stay here if you want to sleep past 7am. There is a major building project next door and the noise is deafening. The outlook out of our windows and balcony is also not pretty. Sunday is the only quiet day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. There is much construction in South Yarra at present. Our two bedroom suites face the site adjacent to the hotel however, we do have other two bedroom options so best to discuss with reservations at time of booking. We are working with the builders so that any loud noise does not... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

A really pleasant stay, easy valet parking, rooms well appointed, walking distance to train and fabulous coffee shops / restaurants. A bit of building work next door which meant machines cranking up at 7am but not really a drama. All staff seemed Genuine and the open fire was most welcome on a couple of the colder nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor. It was pleasing to know that you had an enjoyable stay at The Lyall. We agree, the location is ideal and our staff offer genuine, caring service. There is construction on the south side of the hotel where some of our two bedroom suites are located. We have other options... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

The Lyall Hotel is located in South Yarra, giving easy access to both the centre of Melbourne as well as Albert Park (which hosts the F1 Grand Prix). Ideally situated just off the Tarook Road, the hotel is positioned on a relatively quiet side street; yet allows easy access to local shops, S. Yarra railway station and the number 8... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on Tripadvisor. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay the hotel's location, facilities and attention by the staff. We are in the process of upgrading the suites. The construction is on the south side of the building which mainly affects the two bedroom suites.... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Spent two nights at the Lyall in a suite & was super impressed by the overall experience. This is a very classy & sophisticated small hotel with very knowledgeable & friendly staff. The location in a leafy street in the lovely suburb of South Yarra is one of the best places to stay in Melbourne in my view. It is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The Lyall. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel as well as the leafy location of South Yarra with its abundance of shops and restaurants within walking distance. As Melbourne's only privately owned and operated 5 star hotel, we... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

My first stay at this wonderful hotel was in October 2014 and the second one was just recently in February 2015. Coming from same industry in hospitality, I have to say that The Lyall has it all. The location is fantastic only walking distance from many amenities such as mini-marts, boutique shops, shopping centres and restaurants as well as being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your generous review on Tripadvisor. It was our pleasure to read that you enjoyed our facilities and location as well as our attention and service. We hope to welcome you back to The Lyall very soon. Warmest wishes, Rowina Thomas Hotelier More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities