We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 171 Melbourne hotels

Stamford Plaza Melbourne

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE 10% + FREE WIFI
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Ranked #35 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
ParaBill Maroochydore, Australia
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    499
    174
    63
    43
See reviews for
200
596
76
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1413)
  • Mar-May only
    (311)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (386)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (308)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (408)
All months
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I travel to Melbourne several times each year and try to choose a different hotel each trip in the hope that I can find one that I want to return to. This hotel is located in a central part of the CBD. The reception staff were very pleasant. The Queen Suite was adequate but suffered from some poor design. For... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Michael and the team were fabulous! They made every effort to make us feel welcomed, comfortable and relaxed. We indulged with the romance package and loved every bit of it. They organised our dinner reservations at a beautiful French restaurant close by which was an amazing experience. Thanks again, we'll be back once baby no. 3 is born! P.s. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam H, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear kerriegurry, Our Romance and Seduction package is our most popular and with good reason! It’s the ultimate in indulgence and the perfect way to spend some quality time with that special someone in your life. We’re delighted that you enjoyed all aspects and left feeling relaxed and pampered. Making our guests happy and exceeding expectations is very rewarding for... More 

Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location pity about the quality of the rooms. Our room was in desperate need of renovations and an update. Bathroom supplies where like a budget motor in chain. Windows where filthy. Kitchen bench was cracked, paint on ceiling flaking off and sliding door to bedroom comes off rails. Can't breath in the showers due to steam. Couldn't even get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Service and location of this hotel was great however the rooms are a little dated and the decor far from modern. This may have been the desired look on construction, but there needs to be some updating take place. The size of the room was very good with a bedroom seperate to the lounge and kitchen area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adam H, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Ronniewin, We get lots of comments like yours regarding the great location of the hotel, and of course we totally agree! Whilst the traditional styling of our suites was perhaps not to your personal preference I am pleased that you found it to be comfortable and spacious nonetheless. Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff were fantastic, friendly, kind and helpful. Room exceeded expectations, I especially loved the black out curtains!! Best sleep. The location is perfect, very central 2min to main tram line and walking distance to main CBD attractions. Only downside was that the WIFI wasn't free..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adam H, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear jessilouisea, Thank you so much for your 5 star review of your recent stay with us. A great nights’ sleep, service with a smile and a location that can’t be beat – it doesn’t get much better… we now also offer one hour of complimentary wi-fi with any purchase in Harry’s Bar. Your compliments are greatly appreciated and we... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just stayed here for a week. Big mistake. Last time here was four years ago when the hotel was really good. However, it's now been taken over by group tours and the service reflects the change. No concierge in sight, casual service from the front desk, totally awful restaurant food and room service by Rip van Winkle. The rooms and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Adam H, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear853alecm, I really appreciate the time taken to speak with our Front Desk Manager during your recent stay with us. Whilst it is never pleasant to receive feedback that we have failed in our service delivery, I certainly see this as an oppporunity for improvement and will work with my team to ensure we learn from this. With numerous international... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I think in today's environment not offering free WIFI is unsatisfactory, I stayed at a hotel in LA last week which was US$88 per night and offered free WIFI. We paid on average $500 per night for the Fri and Sat night at the Stamford Melbourne. We certainly did not get anywhere near the value that this hotel should have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adam H, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Luke H. Please accept my sincere apology for what you felt was a disappointing stay. Our guests’ complete satisfaction is of prime concern to us and we regret that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations or ours. We truly value both feedback from our guests as it enables us to identify areas for improvement and... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We (my two sisters and I) recently stayed here after deciding to meet in Melbourne annually from our various locations around Australia. Having stayed in Stamford Plaza hotels in other cities, we were very excited about the luxury that awaited us. The room itself was spacious and clean. Beds comfortable etc. Disappointments though were: - Toiletries - very basic toiletries... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adam H, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Kelly B, As per our direct correspondence I sincerely apologise that your stay at Stamford Plaza Melbourne did not meet your expectations in the areas you have outlined. It is our ongoing goal to consistently exceed all of our guests’ expectations of service and delivery and I can confirm I have personally addressed your comments with the relevant department... More 

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My two girlfriends and I stayed at this hotel during the Australia Day weekend this year. We had booked a roll-away bed that wasn't already in our room when we arrived. Consequently, over the course of our stay I had to call the housekeeping on multiple occasions to arrange for the appropriate number of towels to be delivered. Needless to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Adam H, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear ANNA W, What to say? As the General Manager it disappointing to read that we failed in our delivery to you, this is not the usual impression that our guests take away with them and I would like to extend a sincere apology. We truly appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests and I am sorry that you... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived we were a bit confused about where to park. We arrived at 10pm so I can understand it would be more clear during the day. We parked underground at a parking bay for $15 all night (got car out at 10am next day, Saturday). You have the option of valet parking for $50 per car per night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam H, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear SarahAshleeEmily, Thanks for your informative review. Our valet service is a great option and takes all the stress out of city parking. When you arrive at the front of the hotel our friendly valet team will take care of the car meaning you can start your holiday sooner. Thanks also for highlighting your enjoyment of our breakfast buffet, from... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne

672 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (240)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (93)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (51)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (399)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite (34)
Viewed
One Bedroom King Suite (33)
Viewed
One Bedroom Twin Suite (40)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (58)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (20)
Viewed
Studio Apartment (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
The Presidential Suite (74)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay