We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Melbourne Hotel

186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Add Your Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    470
    299
    114
    66
See reviews for
123
464
101
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1219)
  • Mar-May only
    (259)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (299)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (325)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (336)
All months
There are newer reviews for Rydges Melbourne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Newcastle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned home from escorting a large group to the Melb Cup Racing Carnival. This is the 21st year we`ve stayed with Rydges, and I must say it really does feel like "coming home". The key staff and management led by GM David Bornman, have been with the hotel for ages, and know exactly what guests need. Excellent city location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Was very nice to read the comments of the recent visit to Melbourne, we certainly have enjoyed the relationship with the groups over the years and hopefully will look forward to having many more to come! Was glad to see the hotel team have been consistent in their down to earth approach and created the home away from home feel... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were surprised to see a couple of negative reviews because we have stayed at Rydges several times in recent years for special occasions and we've had a wonderful time. Have just booked for their Christmas lunch and an overnight stay this year to make an occasion of it as we have a show in Melbourne on Boxing Day. What... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments of your impressions of the hotel and the team. I certainly agree that sitting in a hotel room when travelling is one of the last things I want to do, generally with my business travels, I generally only see the room to sleep in, but I am sure everyone has different habits. Shows on... More 

Geelong, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

What a Shocker!!! We still shiver when we thing about how bad our experience was staying at this Hotel.. They rate this Hotel as a 4 &1/2 Star Hotel... What a Joke!!! it should be rated minus 4 & 1/2 star and that would still be over rating how bad it is.... On arrival the foyer looked clean and good,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Having seen the heading and the long commentary, I was not surprised to read you did not have a very good experience in the hotel. I apologise that the front desk staff did not speak to you before making the decision to move you from the room you reserved to what sounded like a queen suite. As note in previous... More 

Albuquerque
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. It's a little rough around the edges, but the service, location and fabulous breakfast make up for any shortcomings. It's also a good value compared to other hotels with a similar location. The staff was extremely helpful, and seemed really interesting in providing us with a first rate experience. Michelle, Bonnie and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Was really good to see the front desk team did a good job in providing a good experience for your stay, that you enjoyed the breakfast and our location. Hopefully the product will improve as we move forward, I am pleased to note we have completed one floor of suites and should have the other floors finished by Christmas... Kind... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Rydges in Exhibition Street Melbourne. Can't fault the service or location for the price, $229 one night and $209 the next. Buffet breakfast was ok. It was better the first morning as we were up earlier and the food had been sitting keeping warm for less time. The fresh fruits and juice were great.Daily papers were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the detailed review of the hotel, was pleasing to see the hotel met most of the items important to a comfortable stay. We certainly do our best to stay on top of the upkeep of the rooms and will ensure your feedback in this area is passed on to the housekeeping and maintenance team. We have a pretty... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location of this hotel cannot be faulted. It is very handy to Chinatown, the parliament buildings quarter, shopping and food. Federation square is a 5 minute walk away. The free shuttles and trams stop close by. The hotel itself is tidy and staff are friendly and attentive. Breakfast was included in our stay which was a really good start... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Great to see you enjoyed the hotels location and our services, we have received some really good comments on the breakfast since we improved it some months ago, I agree it makes such a big difference to have something new and refreshing for breakfast when you can be totally disappointed when staying in hotels as to what they offer guests.... More 

NSW
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having stayed at Rydges North Melbourne property a couple of years ago and finding it in great need of refurbishment I was delighted by the modern facilities offered by this property. Good location, perfect for someone wanting a room to sleep in and the internal restaurant breakfast was more than acceptable. Bed was comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Appreciated the comments from a seasoned traveller and that we were able to meet your expectations with your travel needs. Although Rydges hotels vary from city to city, it is pleasing you have trialled both North Melbourne and our hotel and have enjoyed the facilities we offer our guests in the CBD. Kind regards David Bornmann General Manger More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

decent hotel for 1 or 2 nights. Good location to explore city. Tired hotel, and a bit of an eyesore on the melbourne cityscape. Slept well, but air conditioning from building was quite loud. Foxtel is nice addition. Pool and gym is very basic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your critique on the building and the hotel, the property has been around for 40 years so the architecture is by no means modern with the look, however the company did spend substantial cost in upgrading the first two floors on the exterior to modernise the appearance which is generally the limit of height where people are... More 

Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here for nine long nights. I wanted to move hotels but was here on business and my company wouldnt let me. Reasons why my stay was dissapointing was mainly because cleanliness of room was frankly not up to scratch, fittings were old, and service lacked attention to detail 1) Light bulb in the walk in closet didnt work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Very disappointed to read of your unfortunate stay and the lack of attention to detail with the room you were in, I can totally appreciate your feelings in wanting to get out! I have passed this onto housekeeping to review and also spoken with the front office manager to ensure when we get comments from guests encountering these types of... More 

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights last week for business. Rooms were very quiet and no traffic noise. The buffet breakfast was awesome (and was included in our room rate), staff very friendly. Hotel was close to restaurants, shopping and public transport. Would stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Was great to see you enjoyed your stay and you found the service and facilities to your liking. The location is very popular for travellers and our new Rise Breakfast has been well received with its freshness and variety we have put together, I hope we see you back with us again Kind regards David Bornmann General Manger More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

414 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (169)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (45)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (37)
Viewed
Premier Spa Suite (39)
Viewed
Queen Spa Suite (28)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question