We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Melbourne Hotel

186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

1,344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    295
    521
    335
    124
    69
See reviews for
133
522
103
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1344)
  • Mar-May only
    (321)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (362)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (325)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (336)
All months
There are newer reviews for Rydges Melbourne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stay often and always appreciate the convenience of the location. Furnishings in the rooms were grubby. Rydges seem to be constantly re furbishing but they obviously have a 'grub' clientele and they need to keep on top of cleaning the upholstery. Great place to stay if you are taking in a show, all major theatres within easy walking distance.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was my first time staying at Rydges in Melbourne and overall I had a nice time. There were a couple of annoying things like the pool and gym being closed for maintenance the whole time. The pool looked nice in the pictures so it was disappointing to not be able to use it. Also we were lucky enough to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback about our food and beverage outlets. We acknowledge the importance of this and have been working on it as a group for a few years now - sounds like we are getting it right. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Overall, the stay was only ok.. Except for the room.. The room was sooo dusty.. There were other people's hair left in our bathroom floor, bathtub and toilet.. A film of dust coated the bedside table, desk, mini bar cabinet area, floor skirting and the walls.. Other than that.. The staff were nice and friendly.. The lobby area was unique... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Really dissapointed to hear your comments about the cleaning standards. This is unacceptable and will be addressed. Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My first experience of Rydges Exhibition Street was a positive experience! Lovely room, fabulous breakfast, wonderfully comfortable bed and very friendly staff!!! Only 2 suggestions for improvement... 1. Please address very noisy air conditioning 2. 1 staff member on front desk at 9am is inadequate ( although another staff member eventually appeared)

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Great to read you had a positive experience. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a quick shopping trip as we wanted a little bit of luxury, unfortunitately we didnt find this. Poor customer service. Wasted half a day waiting for our luggage to arrive, only to find out it was delivered and signed for early morning and bags were sitting in lobby waiting to be brought up to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Apologies for the way we handled this situation, certainly something that I will be taking up with the team. Great to hear though that you enjoyed our Rydges Dream beds and the super location we have in Melbourne CBD. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The room I had on the 15th floor was adequate for me as a place to stay while visiting Melbourne as a tourist. The room and bathroom were clean, and reasonably sized. The bathroom size was fine for an average size person, although the position of the toilet in relation to the open door can seem awkward. The in room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the detailed review of your Melbourne experience, sounds like we more than met all your needs. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager More 

Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed @ the Rydges Melbourne over a course of 4 nights. My husband had a conference there so I had done a bit of research on this establishment before our arrival. My husband had stayed @ Rydges last time for another conference and told me not to expect too much. So upon our arrival they offered us an upgrade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel Roz. Sounds like you had a great time while hubby was conferencing. Melbourne is a city you can easily get lost in for a few days regardless of your activities. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Check in made a request for daily paper never showed, No Gym closed also Pool could have said so upon bookoing, No onsite shop as stated in compendium breakfast coffee is lousy buy a decent cup separate to breaky Rooms bathroom very dated rooms not cleaned properly. Bar staff & Breakfast crew very helpful at the end of the day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great Melbourne Location. In the heart of the Theatre District, this Hotel offers a great starting point to explore Melbourne. The breakfast was especially good. Word of warining the Bathrooms in the standard rooms are very small, clean and adequate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
canberra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a great view from the 22 floor with a glimpse of the Yarra River and South Wharf. The room was lovely and comfortable - very modern, clean and a reasonable size. As other reviewers have mentioned, the bathroom was extremely tiny (awkward closing door to sit on toilet!!!) and a bit tired. Check in was efficient and friendly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience, its great to have such a central location like ours that is close to everything but still be able to get up high and take in the city views. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Buffet breakfast(15)
  • Very comfortable(7)
  • Great location(6)
  • Room service(6)
  • Reception staff(5)
  • Friendly and helpful(4)
  • Quite small(3)
  • China town(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

423 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (178)
Viewed
Room/suite (61)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (45)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (37)
Viewed
Premier Spa Suite (39)
Viewed
Queen Spa Suite (28)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#120 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#18 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#40 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay