We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 171 Melbourne hotels

Metro Apartments on Bank Place

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Bank Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10%offBest Available Rate
Save Saved
You added Metro Apartments on Bank Place to your Saves list
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
59%
Ranked #110 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
MrDee2013 Cooma, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (163)
  • Photos (78)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (39)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    66
    44
    22
    10
See reviews for
20
62
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cooma, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spent two days in a two bedroom apartment at this property in July 2014 - this was a personal/leisure trip with one friend. The property is well-located within easy walking distance of major attractions and travel alternatives.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I hardly think this property should be rated at 4 stars! Vile, bright green paint on the walls, black and gold glitter headboard on the bed looked like it was straight out of a porno set. Split system aircon unit didn't seem to be able to heat, which didn't help when one of the apartment Windows did not close. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at Metro for 4 nights for a work trip. Booked a 1 bedroom apartment which was cold and the heat pump didn't heat the room. Had to request a heater from reception. I arrived with 2 bags at reception and requested assistance with getting them to my room; I was told they couldn't leave reception - hardly a 4... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southampton, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed our 4 night stay in a one bedroom apartment and could have stayed longer. Rooms were clean, compact and well organised, containing everything we needed to stay in and cook, but we didn't need to with so many great cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance. Situated in a quiet laneway, the Metro was peaceful and relaxing. Just a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 4 nights and we really enjoyed it here. The staff were lovely, the room was great, the bed was very comfortable and the location was perfect. It was just so easy getting around by foot and tram. We found it very quiet even with neighbouring late night venues. We would be more than happy to return... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The rooms were well presented. The staff were friendly. Great location in a quaint little side street in Melbourne. Central to the city and Southbank which made it easy to get around and discover Melbourne. Would gladly re-visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review

Dear John N, We appreciate your taking the time to share your comments after your recent visit. We are glad to see that you were happy during your stay with us and that our great central location meant that you were able to make the most of your time in Melbourne. We hope to see you again next time you... More

Canada, Kentucky
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Selected Metro Apartments, as we wanted a hotel in the downtown area of Melbourne for our 10-day stay. Online search showed that Metro was located in a small alley, with 4 restaurants within a few steps of the door, including the Mitre, billed as the oldest pub in Melbourne. Hotel is located in a renovated Victorian stone building (formerly the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review

Dear Paul B, Thank-you for taking the time to leave your comments after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your trip to Melbourne and that the hotel and our staff have made your trip memorable. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in... More

Kincumber, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very reasonable rate in the centre of town with many places to eat at any time of day nearby. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Can be noisy with the late night pedestrian traffic in the lane - you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review

Dear Grant N, Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay. We are glad to see that you enjoyed location and that our efficient and friendly staff met your service expectations. We hope that we will see you again next time you are in Melbourne. Kind regards, Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager More

Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Right, so this place is not 5 star, and it is an old building which has been updated over the years in a slightly hodge-podge kind of way, but for the price I paid for this and the location it is in, I was very happy with it. The staff on check in and check out were very helpful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review

Hello Servicewithasmile83, Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, with our central location and helpful and friendly staff. We are pleased to see that you will be back again and we hope to see you next time you are in Melbourne. Kind... More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights. Our room was on the 2nd floor. Building adjacent about 4 feet away. No light in room, dark all the time. Apartment right next to a bar, restaurant and night club. Noise from outside till 3 - 3.30am very bad. Very poor sleep. Once people go home the street clearners take over, more noise. Room small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review

Hello Kevin P, We are sorry to hear that your recent stay was not to your satisfaction. The Studio room that we allocated you for your five night stay was an upgrade from the Queen Room that you booked online. We did this considering the length of your stay and the fact that you were staying over a weekend as... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Metro Apartments on Bank Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Metro Apartments on Bank Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments on Bank Place

Address: 18 Bank Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Apartments on Bank Place 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Metro Apartments on Bank Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments On Bank Place Hotel Melbourne

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style
#89 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Metro Apartments on Bank Place is in the heart of Melbourne city. Located on the Golden Mile Heritage Trail in a cosy London-esque lane, the century-old heritage listed building boasts four star boutique self-contained serviced apartments and hotel rooms with all of the modern conveniences, perfect for business or leisure travelers. Free wireless internet access is available in all apartments. Renowned for their 'warm and friendly hospitality', the staff at Metro Apartments on Bank Place are only too happy to assist in making your stay a pleasant and memorable experience. Located off the 'New York' end of Collins Street Metro Apartments are in the centre of the business end of town and only a short walk or tram trip to the best Melbourne has to offer in shopping, dining, entertainment, sport and recreation. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
44

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer