We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

#16 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
5.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #16 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
DavidHenry1423 Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    335
    129
    43
    21
See reviews for
151
564
88
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1375)
  • Mar-May only
    (378)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (329)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (319)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (349)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed 2 Nights midweek in a Junior Club Suite. Check in was a breeze and we were pleasantly surprised that our room was close to the entrance of the hotel and the Club InterContinental Lounge. If you like the extra comfort a large room room provides then this is for you. The bed is extremely comfortable the pillows soft but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice hotel, but every time i book any hotel using a third part site i get the worse room. This room was one floor up and next to the lifts. Luckily there was no noise from the lift or other guests walking past and the positve was i could still use the free lobby wifi. Shower and shampoo is awesome.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalMlb, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear Mashedpotatoe, Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. When booking your stay at an InterContinental Hotel I always recommend using the InterContinental website. We have a best rate guarantee which means there is no need to shop around on 3rd party websites and you know exactly what you... More 

Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 10 days. Upgraded to suite. Staff were all excellent and no problem was ignored. Only complaint was overpriced buffet breakfast. $40 pp per day. A more reasonable price would have made me eat breakfast there every day. Perfect location and very clean and upmarket hotel. Strongly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalMlb, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear MarcusM, Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback from your recent stay with at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto. I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us in Melbourne and that you found my colleagues to be extremely helpful. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location, perfect for a business trip, interior is very business-like and the room we had was a bit small but the bathroom was gorgeous. The gym is pretty small too but with a great view over Melbourne and pool and a spa are very enjoyable. We loved the bars inside of the hotel though thought they closed too early.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalMlb, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear LanaWoo, Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Melbourne and for taking the time to share your feedback. Whilst I was pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us I was disappointed to note that you felt the hotel lacked intimacy. I hope that what we lacked in this area... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We recently stayed here whilst in town for a friends wedding and we were not disappointed. The location was perfect, easy walking distance to shops, cafes, restaurants. The room was really comfortable and larger than average. The bed was so comfy that we asked them what make the mattress was! All of the staff were skilled, helpful and friendly. A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalMlb, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear Adamtheguest, Thank you for taking the time to share the kind feedback from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. It is wonderful to hear that Paul was able to assist you in making a last minute restaurant reservation whilst you were in town. I will be sure to thank him for his efforts in making your visit to... More 

christchurch
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the intercontinental for 2 nights .you are blown away by the building and the staff are quietly confident and a pleasure to have at your service.wehada junior suite it was large and beds very very comfortable and a beautiful big barthroom. We had been given other extras such as free breakfast and that was also brilliant I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalMlb, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear Ozzydi, It is so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Melbourne and thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed the architecture of the building, it certainly is something special. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been staying at Intercontinental The Rialto 4-5 times now. Location is perfect. Check in and check out are very efficient. Taxis available in the morning. Great service,". Rooms on the same building as the swimming pool (left building when facing the river), are very spacious. Rooms can be disappointing in the other building. The place is usually very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
InterContinentalMlb, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn S, As a return guest to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto thank you for taking the time to share the feedback from your most recent stay. I was disappointed to note the challenges you faced with your in-room dining experience and I can assure you that this is not to our usual standard. I always encourage our guests to... More 

Nuremberg, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 4 nights at The Rialto during our round trip in Australia and were not disappointed. Booked reward stay in a standard room and upgraded with cash to club. Spacious room, comfortable bed, unfortunately no view because of roofed patio. Club lounge was fantastic! Tasty breakfast and canapés, nice balcony. Lounge staff was great, very attentive and friendly. Thank you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalMlb, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear Lucentis, Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback from your stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto. I will be sure to share your kind feedback with the team in the Club Lounge, I know they will be delighted. Kind regards, Kishor... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here a few times. It is a cute little hotel on the busy Collins Street in Melbourne's CBD. On this visit, I am both an Ambassador member along with being an IHG Dining member which entitled us to a double upgrade to one of the suites overlooking Collins Street. From check-in, we were treated like absolute royalty.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalMlb, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear Michael W, As an InterContinental Hotels and Resorts Ambassador member thank you for taking the time to share the feedback from you stay with us in Melbourne. Whilst I am delighted to hear that overall you had a great stay with us I was disappointed to note the challenges you faced with the servicing of your room. I can... More 

UK, essex
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
87 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Intercontinental for 5 nights on business. Firstly the hotel is well situated on Collins avenue, and 5 minutes’ walk from the South Bank. As you walk in to the hotel, you are greeted by door man, the hotel has a very upmarket feel and its well-presented. Check in was nice an easy, the front desk were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalMlb, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear Dragek, Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found my colleagues to be welcoming and friendly. I am also pleased that you found the hotel to have a well presented upmarket feel. It’s important... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

491 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (432)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (126)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
2:36
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (180)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question