We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

131 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,096 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Was booked in here by work due to shortage of hotel rooms. The room was noisy. Cold shower. Toilet wouldn't stop running and then wouldn't flash. No conditioner. Machine noises all night. Air con tales see pic of survey I left in the room

Helpful?
Thank Zandramb
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I was happily surprised of the Ibis near Central the other week and decided to try Ibis Styles. Well, not was it more expensive but also a downgrade to junk class. As you can see in the photo this spacious ground level box offers a queen size bed and a 'window'. Also pls note that I was given the Accor... More 

Helpful?
Thank finsammy
ibiskingsgatehotel, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear finsammy, Thank you so much for taking your time to leave your feedback in our hotel. As we are 3-star hotel, we only have budget rooms available here. Unfortunately we do not provide any deluxe rooms like other ibis Hotels around us. The one you mentioned is ibis hotel red pillow which is one level above us. They will... More 

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I've been here for a weekend to visit some friends, I chose it for the price and the location (Very close from Spencer Street station). Rooms are very basic and need some renovation (No Style at all...). The room was clean but the bed was horrible. The staff was nice and helpfull. Good value for the money, but don't expect... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee G
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Shortly after checking in and on our way to our room we were both thinking ooh oooh what have we done, then after entering our room my instance was asking me why does Ibis put there name on this when its blatantly apparent its below the standard I expect from them. The room was tiny & tired and in need... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevnads
Longwarry, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is reasonably priced and close to CBD and sporting venues . Short walk to car park at Southern cross station . Room is compact with all the essentials you require. Reception staff friendly and helpful and breakfast there not bad as well . On the down side the bed is to close to one side of the wall,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan B
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms have been updated and some renovation still underway. Its an old building so its never going to be high end. There for work so TV on the desk made it difficult to work and lounge was a fold out bed and not comfortable at all. The room had a window unit air conditioner and it is noisy. When I... More 

Helpful?
Thank ken b
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very old and tired hotel. Carpets were threadbare in hallways. The smell of disinfectant was strong to cover the underlying horrible smells that were still present. Internal courtyards were filthy with old mattresses stored in the rain. Friends did not have hot water in their room. Air conditioners were loud.

Helpful?
Thank Cherie J
ibiskingsgatehotel, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cherie J, Thank you so much for taking your time to leave your review in our hotel. For whatever we have the issue with hot water, it has been totally fixed by our plumber. We do apologies about the issue you happened to during your stay. Our hotel is experiencing renovation right now. We will definitely re-do the public... More 

Camden Town, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a night to bridge the gap between our arrival in Melbourne and staying at a friends house in St. Kilda. The room was very reasonably priced (first week in January, so I assume a lot of places had cut price rooms going after New Year). We arrived earlier than the advertised check in room but were informed... More 

Helpful?
Thank BenW87
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Close walking distance to CBD, Southern Cross Station and SkyBus - good location but very basic accommodation, good for a commercial traveler for a brief stay but not really for leisure and family. Could be affordable but I paid a premium during the Australian Open, the Ibis at Little Burke Street is a far better proposition fs on equal rate!

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ying A
california
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed in this hotel for 3 days, check in & out was fast, friendly receptionist. we were given a room in 2nd floor, small room, carpet needs to be changed. very basic room. Bed was not that comfortable but the linens were clean. Air conditioning was noisy. We had only one small window, facing the back of the building... More 

Helpful?
Thank gdpaw
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

159 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (132)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
#64 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#87 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#120 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#119 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 930 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay