We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments

474 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    50
    83
    23
    16
    14
See reviews for
47
52
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (186)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
ballarat victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was the noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in..no double glazed windows here I can assure you..people arguing in the laneway right under my window..bottles being emptied into bins..people coming and going all hours talking and laughing loudly right at our door..road works started at 6am..and a very uncomfortable fold out bed with one blanket in the middle of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spent one night in an apartment on L1 in the Annexe and thought it excellent value. Large living room/kitchen and large bedroom. Hot shower. No noise at all. Excellent security. We will stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts and for taking the time to review your recent stay. We really appreciate it. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked on wotif riverside apts for 2 myself & my daughter for one night for the convenience of a seminar in same building. Great location. Did not know what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised, tucked away in Highlander Lane. Steven at reception was lovely and of course Patsy and thanks for the upgrade. Karl was lovely too and showed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Pattsie has personally asked me to say hello and mention that she is looking forward to seeing you both again soon. More 

Geelong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we first walked in we were genuinely surprised. It had everything you could want. It was spotlessly clean and comfortable. And the views were great. But if you want a good night's sleep go elsewhere. With the trains and trams rumbling past most of the night it was like trying to sleep in a humpy right next to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Our apartments are very spacious and well fitted out unfortunately the apartments with the river view also look out onto the train line that runs along the river. When you are wanting to stay in Melbourne again please contact us directly and we will select one of the quieter... More 

Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for business, it is cheap but it is for a reason. Really noisy, one room flooded and the apartments are around the corner on flinders lane with no views. Excellent staff bumps this review from a 1 to a 3, real friendly and polite. No toiletries, they have the pumps on the wall for shampoo etc, which didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at our annex. Unfortunately during your reservation one of the apartments was flooded and we needed to lift the carpet and dry out the floor with large fan operated heaters. These heaters are very noisy but to prevent dampness we had no choice. Please contact us directly next time you... More 

Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

from the outside the hotel did not look that promising but check in was good and the room was excellent with a view over the river. Great location handy for trains and the exhibition center. Will definitely be back. Free Wifi is 100MB per day then pay after that so not really free.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review of your recent stay. Glad to hear you were surprised in a good way. We appreciate your thoughts and hope to see you again soon More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

We had 4 apartments here recently for our company team. The apartments are a good size & suitably appointed. Location couldn't be better for downtown needs, we were at the convention centre all week. Public transport nearby. Breakfast available at the cafe on the corner and they charge back to the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Glad to hear our spacious apartments worked well for your group. We hope to see you again next year if not sooner. More 

Cambridge NZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Stayed 7 nights in a one bedroom apartment. Fortunate had a corner unit on the 16th floor so nice and light with good views. Rooms were big enough for us tourists but looking a big run down however everything was working. Tram stop out on main Flinder Street was very convenient. Free trams in the inner city. Hotel staff always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We hope to see you again sooner rather than later. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

My partner and I are new to Melbourne and booked to stay here between moving from temporary accommodation in to a new house. We mixed our dates up and booked for three nights rather than two - tried to change but we were just past the cut off time by two hours so unfortunately we couldn't change penalty free, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

There are a number of points I would like to respond to that you mention regarding your booking. Under rules and restrictions on the non refundable booking you chose through Wotif it clearly mentions: "Your credit card is charged the total cost at time of purchase. Room availability is not guaranteed until full payment is received" The credit card you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay