We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Chancellor Melbourne

131 Lonsdale St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    189
    179
    108
    79
See reviews for
49
270
59
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (622)
  • Mar-May only
    (161)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (164)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (129)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (168)
All months
There are newer reviews for Grand Chancellor Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We were shocked with a terrible odour as we exited the lift to the hallway that lead to our room which did not have a balcony/courtyard like our booking described. Just checked then to make sure I was not thinking of another hotel and it clearly says it. We went up to the pool and were disgusted with how dirty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Becaboo, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. After reading your review I personally inspected the room in which you stayed and the corresponding hallway, and could find no strange or unpleasant odor as you had reported. I also note in the management logs during your stay,... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We bought a scoop on for our night here so only paid $150 for the room. I would not want to pay much more for it, if that if I were booking without a deal. The rooms are a bit on the tired side and the bathroom was definitely in need of renovation. Everything functioned in there as it should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear TopDeck73, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. From your comments regarding your room and bathroom, I am pleased to report that the hotel has just commenced a refurbishment program. Which means new furniture, new curtains, new carpet, and in some cases new bathrooms. I’m sorry your... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were allocated this hotel in a package from Qantas. I was disappointed that the two Grand Chancellors that we were allocated (Adelaide and Melbourne) were not very grand, and I have referred this to Qantas. The breakfast venue was ok if you were prepared to get up for the opening hour, but food ran out in the second hour.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear David C, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment program which will include new furniture, new curtains, new lighting and new carpet as well as painting for our Economy, Chancellor and Executive Rooms and a complete overhaul of all our... More 

Sydney
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel is in a prime location - the centre of Melbourne but it is really old and badly in need of a complete refurbishement. The decor is from the 1950s - but the room is clean, spacious and has a view. Breakfast provided was good and the staff really try hard. I would only stay here again if they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Sydney 1973, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. I agree the hotels location is one of our best features it’s so close to all that Melbourne has to offer. The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment program to update our rooms with new furniture, curtains, art... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I made the terrible mistake of booking this hotel in September 2012. I wanted to make a night of it as myself and a friend were attending a concert in town. Big mistake. I have travelled the world, stayed at the best hotels and even at backpackers. Let's put it this way - a backpackers is like paradise compared to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Kate K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. I’m sorry to read you didn’t enjoy your time at the Hotel, I apologise for the issues you faced controlling the water temperature in your room, we are aware of this issue as it does affect a handful... More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The service was excellent, the lady who checked us in on the afternoon of the 6th was very polite and explained everything nicely, the room looked great, I was quite afraid from the reviews here before and was almost prepared to book at another hotel, but I was quite pleased that the room was neat, clean and the furniture was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Victory, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. I was pleased to read you found our customer service to be excellent as we strive to exceed our guests expectations on a daily basis. I have passed on your feedback to all customer service staff and our head... More 

Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Well, I stayed in a double economy room and have to say that the hotel facilities are not very good. The room was quite small, with a stained carpet, 1m2 balcony and a toilet with a broken sink & door look. Moreover, the room's minibar-fridge was quite noisy and some noises comming from the water plumbs disturbed me. This hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Jarimu, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. I was disappointed to read you felt the hotels facilities where not very good, as we have just finished a complete refurbishment of the hotels roof top pool. In regard to lifeguards, you are correct that our pool is... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The best thing about this hotel was the door leading to the street.No drawers to put socks ,underwear in etc. Tripping hazards into a bathroom designed for a contortionist. Food from peoples rooms left in the corridors. A balcony fully occupied by an ac unit and the list goes on. Even a request for scales for weighing luggage was met... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Jgmccabe, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us; your experience is not what we strive for at The Grand Chancellor Melbourne. Kind Regards, Rebecca Roberts Guest Services Manager More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on the weekend. My wife and I wanted to see Something Happend on the way to the forum with Geoffrey/Jeffrey Rush. We normally stay at any of the Causeway Hotels however my wife picked this one. It is a very average hotel, but breakfast was adequate and the rooms clean and large. To stay in Melbourne... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Heso9852, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. I am glad to see you found our location convenient for your needs, being quite central in the CBD we are only a short walk to most of the major attractions in the CBD and only a stone’s throw... More 

Dimboola, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Have stayed here several times, an excellent city location close to theatres, shopping, Dining and public transport, with the free city circle tram only a block away.Rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. Staff are always efficient and helpful. Onsite parking is available ( at an additional charge) All in all a good place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Tourist220, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. Great to see you have enjoyed your many stays with us! We agree the Hotel is perfectly located in relation to theatres, shopping and public transport, all of these are within easy walking distance from the Hotel. I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question