We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Welcome Melbourne

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
265 - 281 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #104 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
BibiFlg Noumea, New Caledonia
Add Photo Write a Review

3,218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    432
    1,266
    1,007
    336
    177
See reviews for
523
1,191
450
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (3218)
  • Mar-May only
    (862)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (744)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (746)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (866)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

yes, the hotel , is tired , it is an older hotel, but under going doing the bathrooms up, very nice, very close to china town, and restaurants, reception excellent , valet parking also very good, a good menu at their restaurant, service great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Popsie255100, We love getting feedback from a Senior Contributor. Thank you for being positive in what we do well and for bringing to our attention what we can change. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Niseko-cho, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location of the hotel is convenient. Surrounded by restaurants, shops, etc... you'd find no trouble looking for a place to eat/drink. There are a bunch of cafes that serves good breakfast for a cheaper price so I don't think I would include breakfast in my package next time. Don't expect any views from your room window. The building is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Satoshi_Nagai, Thank you for providing a review. Unfortunately being right in the heart of the city, we are surrounded by much taller buildings and do not have much of a view. Hopefully what we lack in view, we made it up with the convenient location and friendly service. Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back in the... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Where to start, shoeboxes are bigger than these rooms, the hallways smell like the shoes. Overpriced for what it is. Location is shoved between a shopping centre and Chinatown up a side alley. And beware of the inflated price to park your car. I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Sircody, Thank you very much for your review after your recent stay with us. Your feedback is appreciated. Generally our guest found the location of the hotel would be the biggest advantage of their stay. I am sorry this was not case with you. As for the parking - there are always a self-parking or valet-parking options. Guest can... More 

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel will not set your world on fire, but it is in a great location, and the staff are brilliant. The rooms are old and tired and the tv on the wall was so small it was quite amusing. I would choose, in the similar price range, The Victoria Hotel (215 Little Collins St Melbourne) over this hotel next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Aussie_April_11, Thank you for your recent patronage and time to provide feedback . I am disappointed that not everything was as you expected please accept my sincerest apology, but appreciate you mentioning our the brilliant service of our team. Kind regards, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Mildura
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotel is being refurbished and it needs to be. We were offered an upgrade - paid extra for it. Very disappointed in the room but staff, service restaurant etc were very good. A very good location right in the heart of Melbourne

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear MilduraPicaboo, Thank you for your recent patronage. I am sorry to read that we did not tick all the boxes during your stay but appreciate you mentioning what's good about your stay. Feedback such as yours allows us to identify areas of improvement and I thank you for providing a review. Kind regards, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Atlanta, Georgia, Usa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Clean, spacious, and very friendly staff. Wifi works great in your room. Bathrooms are spacious. Breakfast is amazing. Vast selection. Quality food. Even caters to multiple nationalities as far as breakfast items are concerned.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Leah B, We appreciate fantastic feedback Thank you for sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. Delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We hope that you'll visit us again when you return to Melbourne next time. Kind regards, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Melbourne and right near shopping and China town. We have stayed here a few years before but this time the bed was hard and you could feel springs making for a terrible nights sleep. There were obvious signs of wear and tear with grotty paint work where the desk had once... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Jodie J, Thank you for your review. It is with regret to read that we were unable to provide you with a pleasant and trouble free stay this time. I have conveyed your feedback to both our Maintenance Manager & Executive Housekeeper for their attention. Delighted to read that you had a really good breakfast in the restaurant. We... More 

Ocean Grove, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Went to Melbourne for the footy at Etihad Stadium. The hotel is in the middle of the city and is easy to get to attractions. The room was very clean but small but that didn't matter we only stayed one night. Breakfast was excellent and staff friendly. The car was parked for us and only cost $35. Would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Rosemary W, Thank you for your positive review. Your kind words on breakfast and the service provided by our team are greatly appreciated. We do hope to see you again for another visit soon. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

232 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (221)
Viewed
Room/suite (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay