We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Welcome Melbourne

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
265 - 281 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #105 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed today
my53 Brisbane, Australia
Add Photo

3,253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    437
    1,284
    1,015
    338
    179
See reviews for
526
1,207
454
523
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (3253)
  • Mar-May only
    (862)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (779)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (746)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (866)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Service at this hotel was very good. Staff were obliging and helpful. Even at the restaurant on the Sunday morning when the place was fully booked, the staff were polite and friendly and eager to please. All staff - from our first contact with the concierge to our last contact with the staff cleaning the rooms - were professional and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunshine Coast, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This would be one of the worst Mercure properties we have ever stayed in, the room was small with a window view of a grey concrete slab, the bathroom was that small we had to stand outside to dry our selves, the bath had a big black chip mark and what looked like a crack in it over all it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I got a really cheap price with airline deal and wasn't expecting much. The room was very comfortable and included a little bath (but no plug). WIFI was an extra charge & I didn't try that. Reception was friendly and room available early. Although it is in mid city and I was only on 3rd floor it was very quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked this hotel relatively last minute as part of a package deal. Upon arrival we found that hotel was in a great location and the tram stop was right outside the front door! We asked for a quiet room and were given one on the 7th floor. However, after being in the room for less than 30 minutes we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Upon becoming interested in this hotel after discovering some good prices and seeing how centrally located and convenient it is, I read some of the negative reviews and became concerned about the quality of the room I might get. However, I wasn't too worried because I was only staying here for 3 nights and would be out every day so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Creighton S, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a very detailed review about your recent stay. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleasantly surprised. We truly appreciate your feedback about the hotel and will ensure that your kind words and feedback are passed onto our... More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked this hotel as part of a package deal with no knowledge of it. After reading the reviews was somewhat concerned about what to expect as this was a surprise trip for a special birthday. The room although very small, was perfectly adequate for our needs, was clean and serviced to a high standard every day, reception staff were polite,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Margread123, Thank you for your recent patronage and your time to provide a review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your 4 days stay in Melbourne, not only because of the hotel's excellent location. We pride ourselves on offering each guests a friendly, professional service and we hope can achieve this again in the future. Thank you... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It has been our 4th year staying here, no one had noticed! Anyway we are here for a yearly Business Trip, location wise its very convenient and next to everything, Tram, restaurants and shopping area. I would like to give recognition to Ricky for attending to needs (fixing my heater in the room), Annand (assists maps, whereabouts) and Nick (for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Michelle S, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with our Tripadvisor community. Really appreciate that you have stayed with us on 4 different occasions. I am sorry that your continuous patronage was not acknowledged. I apologize for the manner in which your concern were handled. We do receive lots of positive feedback every day regarding... More 

Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The best thing about this Hotel was the location. I have never stayed in a hotel where you can only open 1 suitcase at at time and only 2 people can be in the room at one time. The rooms were so small. The bathrooms were tiny and dirty. The shower head was spilt so water sprayed all over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Sharrisonwa, Thank you for feedback. I'm sorry to read that you did not have a pleasant stay and for any inconveniences caused. I can understand how disappointing this was for you, and can I check if you took the opportunity to speak to our Duty Manager whilst you were staying with us, as had you advised the Duty Manager... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Yes this is a basic hotel, but the room was a good size with a recently renovated but small bathroom. Reception staff were very friendly. Location couldn't have been better if you like being in the middle of the city

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear gman2103, Thank you for the review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Melbourne. Kind regards, Alex MIhardja Operational Project Manager More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is well located in CBD with entrances on both Little Bourke Street and Swanston Street. It is the lower-end of two Mercure hotels at the location. The hotel looks a bit "tired." The room was relatively small but adequate. It included good bedside reading lights on both sides of the bed and a refrigerator. Reception staff were helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Les W, Once again, thank you for your time in providing a review . Apologies that we couldn't provide you with a completely hassle-free stay. We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Alex MIhardja Operational Project Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

232 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (221)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay