We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crossley Hotel

#42 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
51 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crossley Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Crossley Hotel
Share an Experience

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    296
    93
    29
    11
See reviews for
121
243
58
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (618)
  • Mar-May only
    (134)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (133)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (162)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (189)
All months
Sawtell, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked the Crossley Hotel online for it's location. It was my husbands birthday and we were looking for a treat. Well we were just delighted with our choice. Eve greeted us with a big smile, she was just wonderful, suggested places to eat, what to do which was a great help. This hotel is so central to everything, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julia A, Thank you for your 5/5 review on the Crossley Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I am pleased that the team, especially Eve was able to look after you and ensure you had a wonderful time. I will be sure to pass on all your kind comments to all.... More 

Canberra
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for two nights on business. The location is hard to fault for restaurants of all shapes and sizes and access to public transport. Check-in and check-out no problems, and I had no need to ask for assistance. My room on the 4th floor was on the small side but quiet and clean. Comfortable bed and pillows etc.Wi-fi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tom D, Thank you for taking the time to review the Crossley Hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the Crossley Hotel's fantastic location, close to many great restaurants and accessible to public transport. I am happy you found your room quiet, comfortable and clean, I will gladly pass on your comments to our housekeeping department. I... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We are Melbourne locals who just had a few nights away but this is a fantastic location for those who are from out of town. You are near the train station, restaurants, theatres and Chinatown. There were a few issues in the room. We didn't need to use the fridge but it wasn't cold. The knob of the temperature control... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Crossley over the Christmas period on business with my girlfriend. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to help us in a situation that arose whilst working there over the week. Rooms were clean and spacious and located in a great positions for drinks and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spinks7, Thank you for taking the time to review the Crossley Hotel. I am delighted to read that you found our staff friendly and extremely helpful. Thank you for also highlighting our clean and spacious rooms and fantastic location. I will be sure to pass on all your kind feedback to the team. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dissapointed with this Hotel, the bed was not cumfee at all, so as a result did not have the best nights sleep. Can't buy food there after breakfast, so have to go out to buy food. Found it hard/dangerous to step into a high bath to have a shower.!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie V, Thank you for taking the time to review the Crossley Hotel. It's disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay. In regards to the issues with your bed I do hope you contacted our 24 hour reception desk. One of our staff would have been more than happy to assist you with a room... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel looks a bit on the old side. The lift is quite jerky and u have to climb stairs to reach the lobby. Do NOT recommend if u travel with big luggages. The rooms are average, the carpet slightly sticky-ish? Bathrooms look a bit dated. Abit diasapointing for the price we paid. Does not reflect the 4* status. However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Celeste T, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. My apologies that you were disappointed with your room, The Crossley Hotel operates a 24 hour reception desk so I hope you notified us regarding the matter as we would have been more than happy to provide a... More 

Geelong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly we were very pleased to have been upgraded to a king-size bed and the room we had on the 4th floor was very quiet, in fact we were there for 2 nights and I havent slept that well in years !! The staff were very friendly especially in the breakfast room when we arrived just before the 10am finish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn e, Thank you for your 5/5 review on the Crossley Hotel. It is always such a pleasure to read such a wonderful review such as yours. I am pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and the Crossley Hotel ticked all of your boxes. I will certainly pass on all your kind comments to the team. We look... More 

Queensland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Met up with interstate friends who suggested we stay at The Crossley Hotel. Very close to China Town & Parliament Station, this hotel was a very pleasant surprise. I stayed in a Superior Room and found it very comfortable, spacious and nicely decorated. Loved the freshness of the rooms and really enjoyed the abundance of soft pillows on the King... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cjay, Thank you for taking the time to review the Crossley Hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the comforts that our lovely superior rooms have to offer. I appreciate you highlighting our courteous staff, in house movies and free Wi-fi. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms well-kept and reasonable clean , the only complain is about breakfast room which is too tight for the hotel capacity . The location is quite convenient, with major attractions within walking distance. Front desk staff quite helpful .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laerte D, Thank you for taking the time to review the Crossley Hotel. I am pleased to read you made use of our excellent location which is close to everything Melbourne has to offer. It is also great to read that the staff were helpful during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.... More 

Perth
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay for the second time. Each time has been a nice experience. Rooms are very clean and neat. Staff very helpful. This hotel is located at the Parliment end of Lt Bourke and is also located close to Chinatown. Walk into the malls is a short walk. I love the location as well as a small hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maxrocky, Thank you for your 5/5 review on the Crossley Hotel. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your second stay with us. Thank you for highlighting our helpful staff, clean rooms and great location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Melissa Terminelli Property Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question