We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crossley Hotel

#41 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
51 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crossley Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Crossley Hotel
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    300
    96
    29
    11
See reviews for
123
248
58
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (632)
  • Mar-May only
    (148)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (133)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (162)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (189)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked for a business trip to Melbourne, I booked the Corporate Essentials Package, which is great value, includes Room, Newspaper, Breakfast and Parking, your car is also valet parked for you. Staff are welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are well appointed and clean. Breakfast is very good and just right to start your day. Location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Crossley is a small hotel in the heart of Melbourne's entertainment and restaurant district. Public transport within the central city is free so most major central attractions are easy to get to. Melbourne's major theatres are all within a block or two and the large department stores are a short downhill walk. Major sporting venues are within walking distance,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located at the top of Little Bourke St in Chinatown this hotel has a great proximity to restaurants in Carlton and bars and shopping in the CBD. Plus Chinatown never closes so there's always a late night bowl of congi on offer. The other main benefit at The Cros is the cheap rates, there's few other options in the CBD... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JayGee22, Thank you for taking the time to review the Crossley Hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our great, central location, close to everything Melbourne has to offer. I'm also delighted to read that you find the hotel great value. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Top location central to China town and MCG / parks. Great access to Fed Square also. Breakfast buffet was simple but very tasty with good coffee for a machine which was a plus. Room was large and comfortable

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Duncan W, Thank you for taking the time to review the Crossley Hotel. I am delighted to read you found your room large and comfortable for your stay and that you also enjoyed our central location. It's also great to read that you enjoyed our continental buffet breakfast and coffee. We look forward to welcoming you back on your... More 

Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Top location, good and friendly service, rooms and beds ok, Internet connection poor. Retrieving emails ok, downloads papers ( digital subscriptions) impossible. Lots of good restaurants in the area. Car not necessary due to location Breakfast good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ralli22, Thank you for your review on the Crossley Hotel. I am pleased to read you enjoyed our top location. Thank you for highlighting our friendly staff and good value continental buffet breakfast. My apologies for the poor internet connection you experienced, I do hope you contacted our reception team to assist you with this. Thank you once again... More 

Sale, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've never stayed at a place with such friendly staff (even the cleaner!) We came at 10am to drop off our bags and the receptionist told us we could check in early before we even asked! Great location, just a short walk to Melbourne Central and some nice coffee shops; also to Rod Laver where we saw a show. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phoebelrene, Thank you for taking the time to review the Crossley Hotel. I am delighted to read that all our staff were friendly and accommodating through out your stay. Thank you for also highlighting our great location. We are currently in the process of upgrading our rooms, maybe on your next visit you can request one of our newly... More 

Wodonga, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We picked this hotel because of its situation not the high price, on arrival we were upgraded to an apartment which was nice but the room was dated and pokie but comfortable with good views and two terraces, the killer was NO hot water in the morning and the problem was right across the hotel with no answer for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JimandKerryn, Thank you for taking the time to review the Crossley Hotel. I am pleased to read that the staff were able to upgrade you to one of our apartments. My apologies for the hot water issue, as soon as our staff were made aware of this issue they tried to rectify the problem as soon as possible. Unfortunately... More 

Glenbrook, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is positioned in Chinatown and very close to a range of good restaurants and good theatres. Mid Melbourne shopping is only a 10 - 12 minute walk and it is very close to the free tram service. The staff were friendly and very helpful in responding to all queries and requests. Although the breakfast was only Continental style,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JimCam349, Thank you for your 5/5 review on the Crossley Hotel. I am so pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am delighted you were happy with the position of the hotel which is close to many fantastic restaurants and the theater district. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff,... More 

Launceston, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A girls weekend going to the theatre and shopping. Could not ask for a better location, close to theatre, china town and the free city circle tram. The staff were fantastic and extremely helpful. Enjoyed our stay so much I have already booked to stay here with my family in July.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jackie C, Thank you for your 5/5 review on the Crossley Hotel. I am so delighted to read the Crossley Hotel ticked all your boxes. You are right our location is fantastic especially for theater goers. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next... More 

Stafford
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is hotel has pleasant staff who have maps and other tourist information at reception. The room was comfortable but a safe would have been welcome. The main problem is noise as it is next to a few bars they tip bottles out regularly during the early hours. There is also the problem of drunks making a noise during the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Goodhotels, Thank you for taking the time to review the Crossley Hotel. I am pleased to read that you found our staff pleasant and they were able to assist you with your tourist information. My apologies for the noise you experienced during your stay, because of our central CBD location, sometimes the noise is out of our control, particularly... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question