We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

4.0 of 5 Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    59
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
23
34
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Lake Bolac
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

First stayed at this motel back in the early eighties and it still delivers. Situated in the midst of cosmopolitan Carlton, it is close to the Lygon Street restaurant strip yet in quieter Drummond Street where street noise was not a problem We had a standard twin room which, although a little on the small side, was very well equipped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have been staying at the Travel Inn a couple of times a year since the mid 1980s and over that time have never been disappointed. The hotel has been refurbished during that time but has always been comfortable and conveniently located. Have never had a problem at checkin even when arriving early. On those occasions luggage is secured and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keighley, West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have reviewed this hotel before on my previous visit and upon my return some 3 years later it is stll as lovely as ever. The hotel is ideally situated just around the corner from Lygon Street with all its restaurants and a vibrant cafe society and yet it is a quiet Oasis which belies it close proximity the the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Arrived Friday night with Tour group of 34 poeple only to be joined at the same time as another travelsphere group of around 30 people. Utter Chaos at reception!!!! Only 1 receptionist on duty, no manager. Door keys not working for majority of people. Majority of door keys had to be reprogrammed by receptionist again. One couple complaining to receptionist... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for your feedback and we are vdery disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are very sorry that you did not find our hotel to be of the highest standards in which we pride ourselves on. Upon arrival you noticed 2 tour groups and only 1 receptionist on duty, this is not the... More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
142 hotel reviews
465 helpful votes 465 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We could have stayed elsewhere for less but the rate included WiFi, breakfast & free parking so we thought we would give it a go. What a good call - this is an example of what you can do with some effort & staff training. One of the nicest, friendliest check ins ever. 11.00am checkout as standard ( look &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staff were good, rooms were okay (clean and a good sized bed) and the location is great if you want to spend some time in and around Lygon Street, Carlton. The city is an easy tram ride from nearby Swanston Street, but if you haven't bought a travel card, take coins as notes are not accepted. Melbourne University is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Travel Inn for a few nights with friends. The spa rooms are not very big especially when they put 2 queen size beds in them! It is really a pain to have to crawl out of bed because it is jammed against the wall! The rooms are not quiet either, there was constant motor noise coming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your comments are very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked/didn't like about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for four nights. Its location is just great. Five minutes stroll to Lygon street, 10 minutes stroll to the Melbourne University, 10 minutes by train to the CBD. Staff was very friendly, especially the girls serving breakfast. Yes, breakfast it was definitively one of the highlight of this place. Cooked breakfast in form of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More

Mount Gambier, Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Myself & 3 people stayed here for a weekend in Melbourne to watch the footy. It was conveniently located in relation to the city & a cab ride to Spencer street to get to Etihad Stadium was only AUD$13. After the game it only took 30 mins to walk back but we where only walking slow. Local transport is either... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back... More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I found the room very small, but I only needed a comfortable bed and I got that. The room was nicely appointed and the bathroom was modern and spotless. It was cold weather but my room was nice and warm and I dont remember any air conditioning noise. The hotel was handy to Melbourne Uni, the city and eateries on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for poviding feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your comments are much appreciated and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Address: Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Travel Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay