We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    73
    60
    12
    10
See reviews for
29
53
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (182)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Arrived Friday night with Tour group of 34 poeple only to be joined at the same time as another travelsphere group of around 30 people. Utter Chaos at reception!!!! Only 1 receptionist on duty, no manager. Door keys not working for majority of people. Majority of door keys had to be reprogrammed by receptionist again. One couple complaining to receptionist... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for your feedback and we are vdery disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are very sorry that you did not find our hotel to be of the highest standards in which we pride ourselves on. Upon arrival you noticed 2 tour groups and only 1 receptionist on duty, this is not the... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We could have stayed elsewhere for less but the rate included WiFi, breakfast & free parking so we thought we would give it a go. What a good call - this is an example of what you can do with some effort & staff training. One of the nicest, friendliest check ins ever. 11.00am checkout as standard ( look &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staff were good, rooms were okay (clean and a good sized bed) and the location is great if you want to spend some time in and around Lygon Street, Carlton. The city is an easy tram ride from nearby Swanston Street, but if you haven't bought a travel card, take coins as notes are not accepted. Melbourne University is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Travel Inn for a few nights with friends. The spa rooms are not very big especially when they put 2 queen size beds in them! It is really a pain to have to crawl out of bed because it is jammed against the wall! The rooms are not quiet either, there was constant motor noise coming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your comments are very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked/didn't like about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for four nights. Its location is just great. Five minutes stroll to Lygon street, 10 minutes stroll to the Melbourne University, 10 minutes by train to the CBD. Staff was very friendly, especially the girls serving breakfast. Yes, breakfast it was definitively one of the highlight of this place. Cooked breakfast in form of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
249 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Myself & 3 people stayed here for a weekend in Melbourne to watch the footy. It was conveniently located in relation to the city & a cab ride to Spencer street to get to Etihad Stadium was only AUD$13. After the game it only took 30 mins to walk back but we where only walking slow. Local transport is either... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I found the room very small, but I only needed a comfortable bed and I got that. The room was nicely appointed and the bathroom was modern and spotless. It was cold weather but my room was nice and warm and I dont remember any air conditioning noise. The hotel was handy to Melbourne Uni, the city and eateries on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for poviding feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your comments are much appreciated and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see... More 

Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Great place to stay. Very central, very clean and friendly professional staff. Very close to the theatre (next soor) I would revisit this place over and over again. The pool was very nice and safe for childre being supervised is a must of course.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for poviding feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your comments are much appreciated and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great location, clean, modern interconnecting rooms. Only negative was not enough onsite parking, we only got a park when one of the hotel employess left, which we think is wrong that employees take up the car spaces for those "paying" guests. It was suggested to us by one of the receptionists that we could park in a nearby parking facility... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for poviding feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your comments are much appreciated and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see... More 

Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Great service, great area, close to Lygon st and Shopping in CBD. Breakfast was great and so were the staff. very welcoming. Rooms were good value for money. Would definitely stay again. Staff always willing to help. Car parking underneath at no extra cost was a godsend. Drove straight in no hassle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for poviding feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your comments are much appreciated and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
0.1 mi away
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#88 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#120 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
#65 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#84 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quest Carlton Clocktower
Quest Carlton Clocktower
#132 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay