We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 171 Melbourne hotels

Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Lygon Street | corner of Lygon Street and Queensbury Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Carlton)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
84%
Ranked #41 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Leonard B
  • Overview
  • Reviews (313)
  • Photos (44)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (105)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    155
    42
    4
    5
See reviews for
58
92
26
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Room was spotless. Very motel vibe, but in a good way. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Location was also handy - within walking distance of the shopping centre and restaurants. I'd suggest making the bottled water complimentary rather than $3. Would definitely consider staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear Leonard B, Thanks for your review and comment on our friendly team. Please come and stay with us again soon, and on your next visit please book with us directly as I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade for giving us your feedback. Kind regards Kevin Birchall General manager More

Colac, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed recently with the family, room was comfortable, clean and perfect for our family. We stayed in the family adjoining room with lockable balcony, a great option, allowing both the kids and the parents some space although we were still altogether.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear downunderdelos, I appreciate your endorsement of our family rooms, they are great way for the entire family to be together but with the space apart when needed. Please let me know when you are coming back again if you have a larger vehicle, we have some spots in the car park that are slightly larger. I would like to... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The only good thing...it is wonderful Carlton...with it's buzz of interesting shopping and eateries. However, this once ideal motel for years...the Downtowner, has turned into a money hungry, rude and noisy stay. The paper thin walls and ceilings..mean not only do you hear the rooms either side watching tv or moving in bed and flushing the toilets...you hear the floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear Terry W, Thank you for your feedback on Tripadviser, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and I appreciate the time you took to let me know your concerns. I agree with your comments regarding the noise factor, and the rooms along the front of the hotel do get impacted significantly from the festivities of Lygon Street;... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Even though I am from Melbourne, for some business commitment, my wife and I decided to spend one night around CBD and it happened to be this place. There is no doubt that the location is perfect if you love your food and Lygon street wouldn't let you down. Rooms on the other hand is not impressive at all! very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear Ali E, Thank you for your review and I am sorry you felt we did not offer value for money. We are in the process of updating all our rooms inventory, and to date have completed 20% of the bedrooms. If you are willing to give us another try, please contact me directly for your next stay, as I... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at this gem on Lygon Street. As we were attending a birthday celebration close by we decide not to take a fairly long drive home - good decision! The staff could not have been more polite and helpful, our room was very comfortable, the breakfast was fantastic and to cap it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear Maree W, I am so pleased you enjoyed our breakfast - it is was one of our hallmarks and I believe one of the best breakfast offerings around. On your next visit, please book with us directly as we would love to offer you a complimentary room upgrade for letting us know your thoughts. Kind regards Kevin Birchall General... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great place to stay. Awesome location and great people. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was amazing. If you choose to stay here make sure you make time for a delicious breakfast, In a pretty dinning room. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer B, I am really pleased you like our breakfast so much- thank you for your endorsement. Pleas be a our guest again soon. Kind regards Kevin Birchall General Manager More

Numurkah, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at this motel last weekend . We have stayed here a number of times before and have always been 100% happy with everything so looking forward to a football package night we were disappointed when we where charged extra for the use of THEIR own car park which we have never been charged for when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear Bernadette G, Thank you for your review and feedback on our carpark. I am pleased that as a repeat guest you have always been happy with our hotel, and am sorry that you did not agree with the parking charges on this stay. As I am sure you are aware the cost of parking in Melbourne hotels can be... More

Burleigh Heads, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I spent 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment with kitchenette it was very good value the location was so good staff were very obliging overall a good experience would not hesitate in booking same again when next in Melbourne

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear Val S, I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that our apartments were good value for money. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Kevin Birchall General Manager More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband booked this Hotel and the location to Lygon Street cafes was amazing the tram only a short walk away.Good value hotel if going to the theatre which was the reason for choosing this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and allowed us to have a late check out as well. Good price and location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear Sheree H, Thanks for your review. I will pass on your comments to the team. Kind regards Kevin Birchall General Manager More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall my stay at the Downtowner was great. The location is just excellent - an easy walk to Fitzroy and Collingwood, Lygon St cafes and restaurants, the CBD, Carlton Gardens, Queen Victoria Markets, etc. My room (executive suite, room 111) was a corner room - quite spacious, neat, clean and comfortable (especially the bed). There was lots of storage space... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear LaurenA1, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely detailed review. The most pleasing aspect for me when reading it was that you found our team on the desk helpful, and it gave me a lot of pleasure to pass on your comments to Olivia specifically. Our hotel does suffer a little from the hustle and bustle... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Address: 66 Lygon Street | corner of Lygon Street and Queensbury Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Melbourne with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#8 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne #15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne #24 Business Hotel in Melbourne #38 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne #43 Family Hotel in Melbourne #48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you’re planning a weekend getaway, business trip or corporate event, your family, friends, guests and colleagues will be impressed with your choice of Downtowner on Lygon – Melbourne's reputable, premier 4* hotel, brilliantly located bordering cosmopolitan Carlton and the buzzing CBD.With five room sizes, exclusive packages, restaurant and cocktail bar and a choice of on-site function facilities, The Downtowner on Lygon helps you tailor your perfect stay in Melbourne. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
98

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer