We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    372
    153
    35
    19
See reviews for
91
239
54
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (805)
  • Mar-May only
    (227)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (165)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (199)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (214)
All months
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Kanagawa Prefecture, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Because of our early flight, we arrived at there before noon. But they accepted our check-in so we could use our room! I appreciate your kindness. Friendly staff, wide and clean room, comfortable bed, nice viewing of Yarra river and convenient place (in front of The tram stop and near from Southern Cross station),,, it's perfect! Next time we'd like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear AK-sama, Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am happy we were able to accommodate your early check-in after such a long flight. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Melbourne. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Daisy Hill, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A really great location. Close to Southbank promenade, DFO and Casio. Short walk into city or take the tram stop out the front of the hotel. Spencer Street Station is also close by for train travel. We had views of the Yarra river which was great. The room size was not bad and the blackout curtains were perfect. Took advantage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear avee75, Thank you for your lovely feedback, I agree with you, we are located in an ideal part of Melbourne with Southbank, DFO and casino all within an easy walk. Being so fortunate to have a tram stop outside the hotel, it provides great free access to both the CBD and central Melbourne. I look forward to welcoming you... More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is really one of the best locations in Melbourne. The views from the hotel are fantastic, ask for a river view if you can. For the location this is the best value in the area and really a great place to say. My only real complaint is we had a few issues with the TV and the movie selection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Cllarks, Thank you for your glowing feedback, it sounds like you had a wonderful stay and took advantage of the amazing views from our river view rooms. Rest assured the TV issue has now been resolved. Thank you for also highlighting our website, where we offer our Best Rate Guarantee. I look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards,... More 

Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first time in a Crowne Plaza and we absolutely loved it. The view from our ninth floor room over the Yarra River and downtown Melbourne was fantastic and the room was decent sized and well appointed. The apples by the elevators were very popular and the French press coffee maker in the room was a nice touch,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Arizona_Pete, Thank you for your feedback, I agree with you, the views are fantastic, and somewhat summise the heart of Melbourne. I am delighted you enjoyed the benefits of being IHG Loyalty programme members. The complimentary wifi and lake checkout certainly add value to your stay! We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is my 2nd stay at this hotel for a week and my experience is just as awesome as the first. Check-in was a breeze and even though my room isn't ready, I left my baggage with the hotel and went around town. Came back at the end of the day to collect my key and my baggage is already... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear ASK84, Thank you for your glowing feedback. I read that you had another very enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to highlight our Housekeeping teams meticulousness. They work tirelessly to ensure the cleanliness of our guests rooms are maintained to the high standards we set. They will be delighted to read your comments. We look... More 

Perth,Western Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just spent 5 nights here and really enjoyed ourselves.The staff at this hotel are exceptionally friendly and our room was cleaned to the highest standard.We had river views and it was well worth the small extra cost.We used the gym a few times and it was OK but like most hotels it seems to have been situated in the last... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Mikak, Thank you for your feedback and for highlighting an area of opportunity. Please accept my apologies for the delays you experienced with your teabags. This should have been delivered after your first phone call. Rest assured we are always looking at ways to improve and have addressed this specific deficiency in our service. The hotel team and I... More 

Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed overnight in a standard suit. Beautiful room, fantastic bed. Conference facilities were excellent. Close to public transport and the heart of Melbourne. Also suitable for a romantic get away. I would happily stay again and for longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dearlawlaw312, I note you had a wonderful stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne, thank you for your feedback. I agree with you, the beds are fantastic and we are located in a beautiful part of Melbourne with shopping, restaurants and attractions all within an easy walk. Ideal for a nice getaway! My team and I look forward... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We can't rave about our stay highly enough at this sensational Melbourne hotel. Loved the location, staff were always friendly, helpful and engaged and the rooms were well sized with great features and views. Only disappointment was the poor food quality in the Clarendon Grill buffet breakfast but in stark contrast their dinner service was excellent. Would definitely return but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Delene P, I am delighted to read such lovely feedback, thank you. If you don’t mind, I’d appreciate you contacting me at Cameron.Abbott@IHG.com to discuss your issues with your breakfast. I would dearly like to get this right and your further insight will greatly assist. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Checked in on the first day and was a little disappointed with the view looking out over the city/hotel pool and upon request for an extra $50 a night was upgraded to a view of the opposite side of the city over looking the Yarra river and the casino 5 floors higher and an extra living area. Staff in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear KellieBassett, Thank you for your feedback, I agree with you we are located in a great part of Melbourne with bars, restaurants and shopping all within an easy walk. I’m glad we were able to accommodate your needs. Rest assured I will review the bathroom lighting options with our engineer. The team and I look forward to seeing you... More 

Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room which I took had nice view of Yarra river and Crown Casino The room service was very proficient, kept the room in perfect order when I came back from office Concierge service is very helpful, the location of hotel being at the strategic location there are always multiple travel options to any place in Melbourne or the outskirts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Giri0501, Thank you for your feedback, I agree with you, we are located in an ideal part of Melbourne with restaurants, shopping and tourist attractions all within an easy walk and our concierge has a great local knowledge that they are primed to share. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne. Kind Regards,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

215 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (187)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay