We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    372
    152
    35
    19
See reviews for
91
238
54
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (804)
  • Mar-May only
    (226)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (165)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (199)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (214)
All months
Geraldton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great hotel, very close to Casino, shopping & great restaurants. Very helpful staff with tidy comfortable rooms. Walked to Ethiad Stadium then back to hotel, then on to the casino where there where so many restaurants to choose from. Loved every minute

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just stayed at the Crown Plaza Melbourne - it was perfect. We stayed here as we were attending a show in the city. It was close to everything & the view from the room was an added bonus. The staff were friendly & the room was very clean & comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear GMD2556, Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your time both at the show and at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne. I will pass on your compliments to our friendly staff and look forward to your next visit with us. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked an impromptu night at this hotel which included breakfast. The room was fine with a great river view from which we could watch the flames that evening along Southbank! Especially given that we were on the top floor. My young son loved it! The breakfast was plentiful with lots of choices for everyone. We were also given a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear fussyeater66, It sounds like you had a wonderful impromptu stay with us at the Crowne Plaza, thank you for your feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed the view from your room and breakfast. If you aren't an IHG member already please do sign up for free to our loyalty program, IHG Rewards at the IHG website as all members... More 

Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is good; you can step outside and get on to a tram. We had a fair-sized room with great views over the river, and I thought the price was good value for river views. Its a shame about the rather dark and dingy corridors, which I thought were a bit 3* rather than 4*, because everything else is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Greg548, I appreciate your feedback and agree with you, the tram stop located directly outside our hotel is very handy especially now that it is includes free travel around the CBD. With reference to your wifi access, as an IHG Rewards Club member it is complimentary for all members. If you have not signed up already, please do so... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed at the Crown Plaza whilst attending a Conference and found the hotel, room and staff all to be excellent. The view from my room was also fantastic (thanks to a free upgrade) and the hotel's location is ideal for visitors and business travellers alike.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear tembiewembie, Thank you for your lovely feedback, it sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza. I will pass on your compliments to our friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on May 13, 2015 in room 450. I definitely got bed bug bites, and I have since seen them in my home and now have to pay an exterminator $1,000. I called the hotel, and I was told they have had no other complaints, which is clearly not true as there is another review on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Biz,traveler7774, Please note we have not taken your feedback lightly and called in the exterminator to make a full report immediately. As per the exterminator report. there was no evidence to support bed bugs being evident. I am more than happy to provide you with the third party report, please email me at cameron.abbott@ihg.com and I will send to... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night for work, late check in so no meal. Felt like I was staying in a nursing home, possibly because they put me into a wheelchair-friendly room. Gym is ok, serves as a great thoroughfare for the staff too. All up, bland, disappointing, service isn't great, in desperate need of a refurb and the wifi drops out.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear LozVox212, It disheartens me to read your feedback. I would be grateful if you were to contact me at Cameron.Abbott@IHG.com so I can discuss in more detail your experience. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a king suite and we were afforded a great top floor view of the Yarra which was nice although I found the bathroom to be somewhat of a disappointment. A shower over a bath in a room with a rate of $350+ a night is poor in my opinion. The room was comfortable enough and the mini bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Themadmagpie, I appreciate your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed the view from your room. I agree with you, we are located in a great position with Spencer Street and Southbank Promenade all within an easy walk. I look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Brilliantly located adjacent to the Southern Cross Train Station, this hotel is only a short distance from everywhere! Etihad Stadium is within walking distance, Crown Casino, restaurants, etc. plus the maritime museum are only across the Yarra River and the MCG is only a 15-20min (at most) boat ride away... Furthermore, the hotel itself is beautiful; nice, big clean rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear BrenSard, Firstly thank you for recommending your friends to us, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed how conveniently close everything is, we are very lucky to be placed in a gorgeous part of Melbourne which includes beautiful river views from our rooms. I look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the... More 

Kanagawa Prefecture, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Because of our early flight, we arrived at there before noon. But they accepted our check-in so we could use our room! I appreciate your kindness. Friendly staff, wide and clean room, comfortable bed, nice viewing of Yarra river and convenient place (in front of The tram stop and near from Southern Cross station),,, it's perfect! Next time we'd like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear AK-sama, Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am happy we were able to accommodate your early check-in after such a long flight. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Melbourne. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

215 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (187)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay