We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    357
    148
    34
    17
See reviews for
88
225
54
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (766)
  • Mar-May only
    (188)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (165)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (199)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (214)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The CP is ideally located on the Yarra River, across from the convention center and Crown casinos. Not a particularly luxurious hotel, but there's certainly nothing wrong with it. Bathrooms are a little cramped and the bath/shower is old fashioned (without even a curved shower curtain rod, which I haven't seen in a hotel for years!). There's some construction going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear AndrewT128128, I appreciate your feedback and agree with you, we are located in a beautiful part of Melbourne, with an easy walk to the convention centre and casino. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed for 3 nights on business in a 10th floor room with great views along the river. The hotel is well located, clean and comfortable. Check in was friendly and efficient and at every stage everyone was courteous and keen to provide a good service. Unfortunately the hotel was let down on a few more practical fronts. First of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Jimbod01, Thank you for your feedback. Whilst thrilled to read how happy you were with the way our colleagues managed your experience, I was disappointed to note that your stay was not entirely seamless. Please accept my apologies and assurance that we will look into the challenges you faced to resolve accordingly. I look forward to seeing you again.... More 

Dallas, Georgia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is the hotel to stay at especially if you are attending a convention at the convention center which is right across the river. The staff is fantastic at this location, the concierge staff very helpful, especially Matt and Dave who will go the extra mile (or is it kilometer?) to make sure everything is ready for you and your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Tony A, Thank you for your feedback, it sounds like you had a wonderful stay whilst here at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne. Rest assured I will pass on your compliments to Matt and Dave, they will be thrilled to read of your recognition for their efforts. The team and I look forward to seeing you when you are next... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nothing special. They don't even put a complimentary mineral water in your room like most hotel do. The breakfast is okay, reception staff is somewhat unattentive and answer in a straight cold manner. Room seems old and dull. Overpriced for this kind of service. Definitely last choice for me if other hotel is available.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Darwin, I appreciate your feedback and am concerned that we have not achieved the standards we would otherwise attain. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your comments further and in doing so would kindly ask for you to please make contact me at Cameron.Abbott@IHG.com. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and boyfriend rate this hotel 6 out of 5 stars! We only stayed the Sat night but both Saturday and Sunday all the staff were exceptionally professional and friendly. I loved our room, I loved the river view and I will be definitely staying here again next time, especially with there special deal of a 4:00pm check out, that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear stephntrent, Thank you for your glowing feedback, it sounds like you had a wonderful time here at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne. I will pass on your kind compliments to our friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival at 1am after a 23 hour flight, we were told our room was unavailable due to the previous occupants still in the room as their child was I'll. We were sent to the Oaks for the rest of the night which was very nice, on our return to the Crown Plaza the next day our room was ready... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear 56den, Thank you for your feedback, I thank you for your understanding regarding the room availability and I was delighted to read that we had you back the next day. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel was very clean and a close walk to the CBD and Crowne. The staff were all very friendly and helpful which allowed for us to have a relaxing time. Only stayed one night but would stay longer in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear GeorgieVDS, Thank you for your kind feedback. Our team works hard to create the environment for our guests to have a relaxing time. I will be sure to pass on your feedback as the team will take great satisfaction in receiving this. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at several Crown hotels and this has to have been the most run down and shabby one yet. We booked it through work for a seminar and was disappointed as soon as we pulled up. The reception was hard to find and we had to queue for ages to be seen. The room was small and out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Lauren B, It disheartens me to read of your experience with us. I would greatly welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly about your experience and kindly ask that you contact me at Cameron.abbott@ihg.com. I look forward to speaking with you in due course. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here over new year. What a lovely clean hotel. We were greeted very warmly and everyone was very kind and attentive. Beds were comfortable and having a river view room was also an advantage. Definately eat in the restaurant it has a very high standard of food and service. We will definately be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Lynne F, Thank you for your glowing feedback. It sounds like you had a lovely stay with us over the festive season. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the chef. We look forward to welcoming you back for the festive season this year!. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Wellington NZ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I haven't been to Melbourne on business for a while so it was great to be reminded of how convenient the Crowne Plaza Melbourne is. Arriving late in the evening I looked out my window just as the gas flames across the Yarra River ignited into the evening sky outside the restaurants in the casino building. My next day was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Ruma K, Thank you for your positive feedback. It appears that you got to mix a bit of pleasure with your business trip. I agree with you, we are located in a perfect part of the city to discover Melbourne by foot or tram. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

208 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (181)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (71)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question