We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Add Photo

832 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    232
    384
    159
    37
    20
See reviews for
94
242
54
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (832)
  • Mar-May only
    (231)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (188)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (199)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (214)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel overall is getting a bit old. Bathroom had some cracks and was showing signs of wear and tear. Mattresses felt a bit old and sagged in the middle. All of the common areas felt a bit dated too. The worst part for me is that they have a typically overpriced mini bar in the room which was checked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear dong100, Thank you for your feedback and I apologise for the mini bar confusion, I will be personally investigating with housekeeping as to why your room was checked unnecessarily. I am delighted to read you had a fantastic experience with our reception and concierge desk. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very disappointing for an Intercontinental Chain hotel with 4.5 stars! I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Hotel entrance looks like a delivery entrance, not what you expect for the price paid and poor customer service, with reception staff too busy trying to trump your comments with a know it all attitude. Everything costs extra. This hotel has no on site car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear DXBTTS, It disheartens me to read your feedback. Could you please contact me at Cameron.Abbott@IHG.com to discuss how we can make your next stay with us a memorable one. If you are not already a IHG Rewards Member please sign up complimentary out our website, this will entitle you to free wifi during your stay with us and any... More 

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Crown Plaza Hotel in Melbourne is very good hotel located at a very very convenient location ( CBD). The staff is good. The room cleanliness is very good. Location also good. Will recommend for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear tejas1283, Thank you for your lovely feedback, I agree with you, we are located in an ideal part of Melbourne with most things all within an easy walk. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to your return next time you are in Melbourne. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As usual, good stuff first: And I am a big fan of any organisation who pays attention to the small stuff. Room was upgraded - which I'm guessing is pretty standard when there's no reason not to based on other reviews - which I think is brilliant practice. It costs them 'nothing' for a later check-in to get into a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Dredgy, I appreciate your feedback and I agree with you, we are located in a very convenient location with restaurants, dfo and the casino all within an easy walk. I am delighted you enjoyed the fresh fruit on offer too. Please ask our friendly concierge for tram times when you stay with us next. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel... More 

Ballarat
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good clean comfortable property. Check in took awhile but it's in great location so busy hotel. Bar prices are high but it's Melbourne so expected. Beds were so comfortable. Would stay again. Close to crown and the food and nightlife.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear KittyKatCarey, Thank you for your feedback, it sounds like you had a comfortable stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Antony, France
Level Contributor
232 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is located along the river and was very convenient for me. Rooms are just ok but really old fashion such as the bathroom that is probably 20 years old! I used the fitness facilities that were just ok. Breakfast is really excellent as well as staff but this cannot justify the terribly excessive price!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear schuminou, Thank you for your feedback, we are very lucky to be located in such a convenient part of Melbourne. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Melbourne. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel has seen better days, unfortunately - the rooms are rather bland. However the staff make the best of the place by smiling, being really helpful, and nice touches like having loads of free fruit in every corridor. Quite expensive for what it is

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear mikebkk, I am delighted your enjoyed our very friendly staff and also the fresh fruit we offer on every floor. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Hong Kong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed three nights and was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite that had great views of the city and Crown Casino. Perfect location, being walking distance to the city, Southbank, Crown, South Wharf and South Melbourne. South Yarra and beyond are only a tram or train ride away. Room was spotlessly clean and staff from Concierge to Front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Brett S, Thank you for your lovely feedback, I agree with you, we are very fortunate to be located in such a convenient location with most things all within an easy walk. I am delighted to read your experience with our staff was friendly and cheerful. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent one night at the Crowne Plaza for a weekend with friends. We chose the City Escape package which included breakfast and valet parking (parking can be expensive in Melbourne). Lovely clean hotel with very helpful, polite staff. The rooms were very nice with everything you could need. The fitness centre had a great range of equipment. The breakfast buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear melinda157, I am delighted to read your lovely feedback, it sounds like you had a fun time in Melbourne. We are very fortunate to be located in such a convenient location with shopping and casino all within an easy walk. Our chef will be happy to learn you enjoyed your breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Crown Plaza has friendly and attentive service and a good location near the Convention centre. The rooms are OK but a bit tired. I'd stay again if the rate was OK. Take the limo service if you're heading to the airport - the cost is similar to a cab but much more comfortable and clean after the generally appalling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Ken D, I appreciate your feedback and I am glad you received our friendly service. Great tip on the limo service too. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

259 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (192)
Viewed
Room/suite (73)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay