We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Melbourne

4.5 of 5 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    349
    144
    32
    16
See reviews for
86
221
54
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (744)
  • Mar-May only
    (166)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (165)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (199)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (214)
All months
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Old hotel badly needing a renovation. Staff barley trying to be friendly. Valet parking fees like New York City. Food and Beverage quality like a train station restaurant. If you want to stay at an IGH property, stay next door at the holiday inn Flinders Lane. 30% cheaper, 100% better! Sad to see that in 2015 a bad hotel still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Patrik B, It disheartens me to read your feedback. I would very much like the opportunity to connect with you directly to discuss in more detail your experience. If you have the time to do so, please contact me through the hotel. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

gold coast
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Despite construction on building next door, which did not impact on us at all, we loved our stay! Great view,great size room , clean ,loved the bed ,dark curtains. All the ingredients for a relaxing stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear foodieGoldCoast, It sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us at the Crowne Plaza, thank you for your wonderful feedback. I sincerely look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got Room 717, which was spacious and faced the Yarra River. Even though we had quite a bit of luggage with us, there was still plenty of space for us to move around. The view from the large window was of course marvelous! We looked across the Yarra River to the South Bank. There was also a helipad just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear tapestryofvietnam, Thank you for your feedback, I’m glad you enjoyed the view from your room and the iced water. I will pass on your compliments to Rachel. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Melbourne. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Traralgon, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location close to south bank, casino. Easy walk to great cafes and dining. Even if you come to melbourne by train its only 5 minutes walk from southern cross station. If driving its easy access to he freeways. Parking is the only issues, a little expensive otherwise you need to park a few hundred metres away. Breakfast is plentiful,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear mark d, I am glad you had a comfortable stay with us at the Crowne Plaza. I will pass on your compliments to the chef. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Preston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The title says it all. We stayed here for three nights and thought the hotel was great. I cannot comment on other meals within the hotel as we were out most of the time. We walked from the hotel to the tennis in about 40 mins. Nice walk down the river bank.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear JohnedPreston, Thank you for your glowing feedback. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay whilst at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne. We look forward to seeing you next time. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Crowne Plaza is located right in the center of Melbourne. It is near a good gambling casino that is in proximity to several fantastic bars and restaurants. I had a nice sizable room that overlooked part of the harbor. The staff was very nice and the restaurants where my tour group had breakfast was good as well. The business... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Jimjeb, Sounds like you had a great stay with us whilst here in Melbourne. I agree with you, the Crowne Plaza Melbourne is perfectly located within walking distance to the casino. We look forward to your return. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Cologne, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a one week business trip in feb 2015: Pros: Good location - opposite tram and casino with bars and restaurants Free wifi for priority club members (free to join) Good tv channel selection - all sports channels Decent breakfast selection Cons: Parking 46 dollars per night, the car hire cost less per day! Old hotel decor in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear sheamy, Thank you for your constructive feedback. I do appreciate there is room for opportunity and am grateful for the time you have taken to provide this. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a river view room. Overlooked main road and view of city scape and up the Yarra on Southbank. Room is small in size adequate for one person. Bathroom, shower in bath (I hate that) is so tired and old it really should be demolished. The bar downstairs is small and not enticing. Would not eat at the restaurant so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear CycleDave, I am disheartened to read your feedback. Could you please contact me either by phone or email to discuss your issues further. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for work just over a week. Fantastic location with a tram stop in the free CBD area, and just down from the free City Circle tram stop. I was working downtown so the location was just amazing--walking across the river was 5 minutes to all the restaurants. Had a couple minor cleaning misses when I first checked in that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear FamilyAdventuresMN, Thank you for your feedback, I agree with you, we are located in a great location all within an easy walk to restaurants, shopping and entertainment. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast on offer, I will pass on your compliments to our chef. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights Feb 2015. As an IHG platinum member I have to say I was disappointed in the service levels ( though pleased with the location). Unlike other hotels, you get the room you booked for no upgrade, that's ok, it's not guaranteed, but you hope for better service when you compare it to other IHGs. Firstly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear UKtog, Thank you for your balanced and much appreciated feedback. It was very disappointing to read of our failings, however with the detail you have provided, this allows the team and I to address with urgency the challenges you experienced. I am sorry that it appears you will not be travelling to Melbourne again to experience Crowne Plaza Melbourne’s... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne

208 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (181)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (71)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay