We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 112 Melbourne accommodations

City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel

3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   188 Peel Street | North Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
38%
Ranked #64 of 112 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
anthony o Uyo, Nigeria
  • Overview
  • Reviews (73)
  • Photos (48)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • More
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    16
    15
    14
See reviews for
8
25
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uyo, Nigeria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very cordial reception.....the two ladies were color friendly. I was attending an InSEA 2014 conference held @ famous Melbourne Cricket Ground and appreciated the privacy and quitude of the CIty Edge Appartment. The kitchen inset was just perfect, the cable TV was very entertaining with choice stations! Perfect for a retreat. I would like to recommend the appartment for guys... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

By far, the bottom of my list of accommodations ever! Where to begin. Reception. What reception. The is an apartment, not a hotel, we arrived at 7:45am and had to wait until 8:45 for the reception to arrive and open the front door. Good thing it was not raining or that it was not that cold. Reception is closed at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and i stayed here in early July. Our room looked nothing like the pictures, the bathroom was exceptionally tiny and we moved the bed so as we could see the tv whilst laying in bed only to find it wasnt fully carpeted. There were scratches all over the walls. And there was a $200 fee for staying there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityEdgeManager, Guest Relations Manager at City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to review City Edge North Melbourne. We understand the guest’s point of view; however do believe that the issue was caused due to misunderstanding the reception timings. We do not charge any extra fees for a late arrival. For all travelers the reception timings are Monday - Wednesday: 0900 Hrs - 1800 Hrs... More

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for 2 nights. It is definately good value in terms of its prices which suited us. The reception lady was very helpful and we found the apartment clean. What we really liked was its location, it was close to Melbourne University, as well as a short walk to the Melbourne CBD area. The Victoria market is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityEdgeManager, Guest Relations Manager at City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review City Edge North Melbourne. We thank you for the fantastic feedback. We shall forward this review to all our staff members who take pride in providing service that exceeds expectations and do not hesitate to go the extra mile. Our hotel places a large emphasis on housekeeping and cleaning standards and this... More

McCrae, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I and my daughter stayed here for 2 nights. We came at about 11 at night at collected the key from the safe. Procedure was very easy and night manager was very helpful over the phone. no problems at all but you need to have your mobile with you to call them if late. Reception was open till 9. Although... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityEdgeManager, Guest Relations Manager at City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review City Edge North Melbourne. We thank you for the fantastic feedback. We shall forward this review to all our staff members who take pride in providing service that exceeds expectations and do not hesitate to go the extra mile. We look forward to welcome you back to City Edge Apartment Hotels. Best... More

Endeavour Hills
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

City Edge have a chain of hotels around the city. I stayed in their North Melbourne site as it was walking distance from the University of Melbourne. After finding the entrance (a bit further down Peel St than my map would have suggested), I was checked in quickly and found my room. The reception is advertised as being open only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityEdgeManager, Guest Relations Manager at City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to review City Edge North Melbourne. Following this review, we have investigated the issue that you raised in regards to the television. All apartments were checked and we found no issues with the quality of the signal that the television received by every apartment. We understand the guest’s point of view; however do... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My friend booked a room here for 2 nights, he is 18 and needed a place to stay as he had a mate coming down from the country. Well we thought we would try this place, but never again. He paid upfront on line a day before checking in as it was a cheap deal. He gets there and they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityEdgeManager, Guest Relations Manager at City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to review City Edge North Melbourne. We understand the guest’s point of view; however do believe that the issue was caused due to misunderstanding the reception timings. We do not charge any extra fees for a late arrival. For all travelers the reception timings are Monday - Wednesday: 0900 Hrs - 1800 Hrs... More

Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed here due to work commitments nearby. I know the price was cheap, but this doesn't forgive the dirtiness of this hotel. The hotel is basically student accommodation, with a small kitchenette, which includes a small 2 burner hot plate. Our room was badly in need of a paint with dirty scuff marks on the walls and the floors... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityEdgeManager, Guest Relations Manager at City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to review City Edge North Melbourne. We at City Edge place great emphasis on providing quality experience to informed travelers at the right price. Following this review, we have investigated the carpet and found that there was a stain which had to be professionally treated and we assure all travelers that we have... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The actual accommodation I found to be not bad, but the overly strict and inflexible rules made it feel like an institution, where the rules are much more important than customer service - which means I'll never stay at any City Edge apartment ever again. I required assistance at 7pm (since I locked my key in the room), 1 hour... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

never again! lost my key on Sunday just 10 minutes after 9pm, reception was close , I call the customer service on 13number , and they asked me for $50 to open the door for me, I left and stay at friend overnight , thanks God I found the key and I get in to get my bags and check... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityEdgeManager, Guest Relations Manager at City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

We understand the guest’s point of view; however do believe that the issue was caused due to misunderstanding the reception timings. We do not charge any extra fees for a late arrival. For all travelers the reception timings are Monday - Wednesday: 0900 Hrs - 1800 Hrs Thursday - Saturday: 0900 Hrs - 2100 Hrs Sunday and All Public holidays... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel

Address: 188 Peel Street | North Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Other (27)

Amenities

Kitchenette
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The City Edge Apartment Hotel North Melbourne is located in the dynamic and metropolitan North side of the Melbourne CBD business, education and hospital precinct of Melbourne Victoria. On Royal Parade near City Edge North Melbourne are some of Melbourne's famous historic monuments, parks and entertainment precincts. Only minutes by tram to the Melbourne city centre, close to the vibrant Queen Victoria Market, landmarks such as the University of Melbourne, the State Netball and Hockey Centre, Princes Park Stadium, and the Royal Melbourne, Royal Childrens and Royal Dental Hospitals. Special rates are available for approved hospital patients. Our studio apartment accommodation offers double or two single beds, full cooking facilities, LCD TV, air conditioning and a guest laundry. Apartments are serviced every seven days. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
55

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer