We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 29 Melbourne B&Bs / inns

Hotel Barkly

3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   109 Barkly Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3182, Australia
Hotel amenities
Hotel Barkly
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barkly to your Saves list
Ranked #19 of 29 Melbourne B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014
Magic172 Albury, Australia
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
5
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (29)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such rude staff and management. Bed bug infested!! Stay away!! Night club upstairs is full of coke heads and keeps you up all night. That's if your not already out and have to come back to the hostel and be looked down on by night club goers cause ur a backpacker! Worst part about this place is staff and bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for you taking the time to leave a review. All of your comments have been taken on board. Your review is for our backpacker hostel, St Kilda Beach House, which is located within the same building. My apologies that you didn't have a positive stay with us. Regarding the bed bug issue, this is something that is taken... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Through no fault of the hotels, Expedia.com.au falsely advertised the hotel as a last minute special. It was too good to be true. I arrived and was informed the private room with ensuite bathroom I booked was in fact a single bed in a 10 bed dorm. The owner or manager did nothing but blame Expedia instead of offering a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Booked one night 2 days before I needed the accommodation through laterooms.com. From the outside it is not obvious what it is and the taxi driver dropped me off at what looked more like a hotel down the road. It was lucky that I had my purse to hand as only when I got to the front desk did I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for our backpacker hostel, St Kilda Beach House. Throughout the weekends we are a loud venue and this is all stated upon check in. For our backpacking guests a key deposit of $20 is required by all and this is refunded once the key is returned upon check out. I hope that you enjoyed... More 

Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

I checked up on availablity on the net re the dorm rooms & then was told"it's only for overseas backpackers",despite displaying current vacancies.Also,the hotel room I'd stayed in was priced cheaper than what I paid even though it was meant to be the same"flat rate".It was nice & clean,but the fact that I felt the service was deceiptive.The breakfast provided... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. You have stayed with us for a number of times now and I am sorry to hear that you find us unsatisfactory. Our breakfast we provide is for our backpacker guests as it is really basic, of course hotel guests are welcome to join but we do not advertise it... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Booked one night through lastminute.com.au - was not aware that this hotel is also a pub & a club! The club entrance is the same as the hotel. Tried to enter the hotel after my event and was asked for ID!!! Got to my room at 11pm only to realize that there must of been a dance floor above my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave a review and all of your comments have been taken on board. We do clearly state on all of our booking sites that during the weekends and public holiday eves that our rooftop bar is open and elevated noise levels are to be expected in the rooms. My apologies that you had difficulty... More 

Albury, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Loved the place and the staff but I was a real let down that i paid for a suite and there was no hot water for 2 days and to boil the kettle so I could get a wash with warm water ! But defo would stay again !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I offer my sincerest apologies about not having water during your stay, unfortunately our whole system broke down due to the bad storm that weekend but we worked round the clock to get this fixed. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Management. More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Really nice Hotel rooms Spacious, very clean and modern interrior. Only bad thing was that they had a party going on one level above the Hotel room and it only got quite after 2 am. But we were advised of this before checking in. Another bonus was the amazing view over St.Kilda and the massive TV. The receptionist was awesome... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for your stay. We do advise guests of the noise from the nightclub over the weekends as elevated noise levels are to be expected. It is great to hear that you had a good view of St Kilda and got to experience all we have to offer. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in hotel Barkly for 2/3 months now and have loved every bit of it. Everyone that stays here are all so nice and down to earth like most bag packers should be . I found the staff to be very good and very helpful when things haven't gone as planed they are right on top of it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our Backpackers St Kilda Beach House located within Hotel Barkly. It is great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us especially as you have stayed long term. We welcome all long term and short guests in our backpackers and we feel like we have great deals all throughout the seasons. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just to sleep, not very clean and poor breakfast. The price is medium and it is not suitable for the offered service. It's near st Kilda beach, near tram stop and akland st. It's in a good place, well frequented by guys from all countries......

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. You stayed with us in our backpackers St Kilda Beach House @ Hotel Barkly. The rooms are cleaned daily, the ktichen twice daily and both of which get a weekly deep detailed clean. We offer free breakfast daily and are also proud of the fact that we are an international hostel only. More 

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Have only been in a few hostels so can't really compare but found this place to be easy to reach from the downtown and a quick walk to the beach. Room was clean and the AC worked well (thankfully!). Didn't use the kitchen but ate at the bar downstairs; the $5 pizza was good and other folks' food looked good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at our backpackers St Kilda Beach House @ Hotel Barkly. Due to the bar on our rooftop which is situated above the hotel level noise does travel down through to the rooms - but all of our guests are made aware... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Barkly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barkly

Address: 109 Barkly Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Barkly 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Barkly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

37 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay