We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Barkly

109 Barkly Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3182, Australia
Hotel amenities
Hotel Barkly
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 31 Melbourne B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Grace-Sellars Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    5
    4
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
6
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

All the staff are lovely and had the best time here! Rooms are big with en suite and bar downstairs and upstairs on the weekend. Communal kitchen and tv room and clean aswell. Will be coming back to the barkly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Please do not stay at hotel Barkly in st kilda, it has the worst bed bugs I have ever seen. When I reported it I was told not to lie and the was told to take it or leave it . I then went to go back to my room and stopped to listen to reception and heard the lady... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When booking the site says it's an entertainment venue and may be noisy so we packed ear plugs. What they don't tell you is that the venue is in fact a nightclub. It's directly above your room, there's minimal soundproofing and the club is open to 0300. The ear plugs don't cut it and I think their statement is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Such rude staff and management. Bed bug infested!! Stay away!! Night club upstairs is full of coke heads and keeps you up all night. That's if your not already out and have to come back to the hostel and be looked down on by night club goers cause ur a backpacker! Worst part about this place is staff and bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for you taking the time to leave a review. All of your comments have been taken on board. Your review is for our backpacker hostel, St Kilda Beach House, which is located within the same building. My apologies that you didn't have a positive stay with us. Regarding the bed bug issue, this is something that is taken... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Through no fault of the hotels, Expedia.com.au falsely advertised the hotel as a last minute special. It was too good to be true. I arrived and was informed the private room with ensuite bathroom I booked was in fact a single bed in a 10 bed dorm. The owner or manager did nothing but blame Expedia instead of offering a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Booked one night 2 days before I needed the accommodation through laterooms.com. From the outside it is not obvious what it is and the taxi driver dropped me off at what looked more like a hotel down the road. It was lucky that I had my purse to hand as only when I got to the front desk did I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for our backpacker hostel, St Kilda Beach House. Throughout the weekends we are a loud venue and this is all stated upon check in. For our backpacking guests a key deposit of $20 is required by all and this is refunded once the key is returned upon check out. I hope that you enjoyed... More 

Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

I checked up on availablity on the net re the dorm rooms & then was told"it's only for overseas backpackers",despite displaying current vacancies.Also,the hotel room I'd stayed in was priced cheaper than what I paid even though it was meant to be the same"flat rate".It was nice & clean,but the fact that I felt the service was deceiptive.The breakfast provided... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. You have stayed with us for a number of times now and I am sorry to hear that you find us unsatisfactory. Our breakfast we provide is for our backpacker guests as it is really basic, of course hotel guests are welcome to join but we do not advertise it... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Booked one night through lastminute.com.au - was not aware that this hotel is also a pub & a club! The club entrance is the same as the hotel. Tried to enter the hotel after my event and was asked for ID!!! Got to my room at 11pm only to realize that there must of been a dance floor above my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave a review and all of your comments have been taken on board. We do clearly state on all of our booking sites that during the weekends and public holiday eves that our rooftop bar is open and elevated noise levels are to be expected in the rooms. My apologies that you had difficulty... More 

Albury, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Loved the place and the staff but I was a real let down that i paid for a suite and there was no hot water for 2 days and to boil the kettle so I could get a wash with warm water ! But defo would stay again !

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I offer my sincerest apologies about not having water during your stay, unfortunately our whole system broke down due to the bad storm that weekend but we worked round the clock to get this fixed. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Management. More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Really nice Hotel rooms Spacious, very clean and modern interrior. Only bad thing was that they had a party going on one level above the Hotel room and it only got quite after 2 am. But we were advised of this before checking in. Another bonus was the amazing view over St.Kilda and the massive TV. The receptionist was awesome... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for your stay. We do advise guests of the noise from the nightclub over the weekends as elevated noise levels are to be expected. It is great to hear that you had a good view of St Kilda and got to experience all we have to offer. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question