We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 171 Melbourne hotels

Art Series - The Blackman

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Art Series - The Blackman
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Ranked #10 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Norbert S Greystanes, Australia
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    298
    79
    20
    19
See reviews for
119
544
73
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1204)
  • Mar-May only
    (281)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (302)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (328)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (293)
All months
Greystanes, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Upon entry you are welcomed by a very well presented apartment with everything you require, from a fully equipped Kitchen to a relaxing Spa after a hard day of site seeing or attending a business conference. The Blackman also provide an outstanding menu of fine foods with a well-stocked wine list. Located in the heart of St Killda the Blackman... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay at The Blackman. We had a comfy bed and a clean room with a very small and poorly designed bathroom. We were charged for drinking water. We were intially charged for wifi but on request this was removed from the bill. The bar is small. However the staff were helpful and courteous and a charming touch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review

Glebebears81, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review The Blackman Hotel. I was pleased to read that the staff were pleasant and we were able to enhance your stay with our gesture for your anniversary. I would like to inform you that we are currently reviewing our policy on bottled water and internet. However if returning to Australia,... More

Bendigo, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had an amazing stay at The Blackman, everything was perfect, from the excellent service we received from the staff at the front desk, to all the exciting little "extras" in our room. We had the most relaxing stay and loved every moment of our experience at The Blackman.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review

Hi Alex C, Thanks so much for your raving review of the hotel, I have passed it on to the team who were happy to see you enjoyed the stay. We look forward to having you back here at The Blackman soon! Regards, Nathan Culevski Senior Guest Experience Manager More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Return visit for a 'business weekend' (at the Melbourne Convention Centre), greeted by friendly staff who remembered me and who organised a 'quiet' de-luxe room on an upper floor - as per my online booking request. Will definitely be staying there again - whether for business or leisure. Oh, and being a Priority Rewards member is a definite plus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review

491alexi, Thanks for the review. It's good to see we were able to take care of a return customer! You are correct on being a rewards member, not only do you receive fantastic benefits but booking directly with us allows for flexibility with your reservation and a greater chance of upgrades, better rates, etc, win win I say! We will... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're coming to Melbourne for a holiday or live here and are just looking for a getaway, then this is the place to stay! Positioned perfectly between St Kilda and the CBD it is a "stones throw" away from heaps of eateries, bars and attractions which you can get to easily via tram or cab. That aside, the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review

Jess O, Wow, thank you very much for the review of the hotel! Sounds like you had a true "Art Series Experience." So pleased to read that everything worked out and you were even able to stay a little longer! We can't wait to have you back, thanks for spreading the love! Regards, Nathan Culevski Senior Guest Experience Agent More

San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We liked this hotel a lot. The interior of the room was very funky. Huge living space. Clean and very spacious bathroom. The hotel is located close to the city center, but not a walking distance. I strongly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review

Helen A, Thanks for the review of our hotel. We were happy to see you enjoyed your time and would recommend us, if you're back in town sometime we would love to have you back. Regards, Nathan Culevski Senior Guest Experience Agent More

Point lonsdale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at The Blackman was a totally positive one. From the front desk, the restaurants, our room and staff was at a very high level. The corner suite had a fantastic view of the city and Albert Park Lake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan C, Public Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review

Hi Helengarden, Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Blackman. We appreciate you taking the time to review our property and look forward to welcoming you back shortly! Regards, Nathan Culevski Senior Guest Experience Agent More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night for a conference on site and was allocated a studio room on 4th floor tucked at the back of the hotel (ie no view to speak of but quiet). The decor was very funky with a museum-esq feel. I could see the kitchenette coming very handy if I were to stay for longer. The bed was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review

jkl615, Thanks for the review of our hotel. I was happy to see that you enjoyed your brief visit. We do offer a range of 'bay' rooms that have an excellent view of Albert Park and the Port Phillip bay. Our express check out system was originally unsuccessful, however we are reviewing this at the moment. I'm glad you brought... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place has it all. Stunning from checkin to checkout. The decor was funky, staff were prompt and attentive, rooms are modern and inclusions are great. Facilities are first class. Bedding was very comfortable. A couple of negatives: 1) I dont think the cleaning was to a high enough standard (toilet and shower) 2) shower/bath mixer switch was broken That... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review

Hi Melissa H, Thank you for providing us with your feedback, it was great to see some positives in regards to service and facilities. I would welcome you to contact me prior to your next visit so I can ensure smooth runnings prior to your arrival. My email is nathan_culevski@artserieshotels.com.au I look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Nathan Culevski... More

Manly, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner & I booked out today from the St Kilda road Blackman. Our room on level 13 was large with 2 queen beds & views of Melbourne. Our only issue was with the fridge not being cold enough. However, staff were helpful & the location was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review

Hi TurnboSydney, Thank you for the review! Glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay, in future if you have any issues with the room feel free to call us and we can send our maintenance team up for you. We look forward to seeing you on your next Melbourne trip! Nathan Culevski Senior Guest Experience Agent More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

338 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (307)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (116)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay