We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 115 Melbourne accommodations

Flinders Station Backpackers

35 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
Hotel amenities
Flinders Station Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Flinders Station Backpackers to your Saves list
24%
Ranked #80 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    35
    17
    30
See reviews for
1
22
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Near the station & tram stops makes it a perfect"CBD"location.The rates for dorms are reasonable,but the double room rates were more than hotels I've stayed @ & too much for a backpackers!(You don't get a bar fridge in them,only a tv-bathroom-double bed for $91/nightly).Stayed there twice recently(my 1st stay was in year 2008/1st Victorian holiday)in 2 different mixed dorms.On 1... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hostel located in the heart of Melbourne with free breakfast and some organised fun throughout the week. I found the beds comfortable and appreciated the large lockers in the room. Showers and toilets were clean and plentiful. You could do much much worse for the same money. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Station Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are all smiles due to your review! Best of luck with your travels and we hope to see you again one day : ) Flinders Staff More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived early and gotten given my room which was good seen as I was many hours earlier then the check in time. There was a English guy at reception that was helpful. We had 4 people to a room which was really cramped as it was tiny and had the lockers in there. The noise was loud from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Station Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Guest Your review was really important to us it highlights some of the issues in our hostel that we need to change and improve. First of all without your review we don’t know when we would have been alerted to the hot water issue on the level you stayed on. Although the girl’s bathrooms were fine the men’s bathroom... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed a couple of nights in this backpack in July, nice place. Value for money. Free breakfast, wifi was cheap but not very good quality. Amazing movie room, free ping pong and pool made my very happy!!! Staffs were good, tall guy with the blond hair was very funny, nice English guy too very helpful. The girl receptionists were friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Station Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to leave a review as it is reviews like this that assure that we are adding to peoples positive memories of Melbourne. Happy Travels Flinders Staff More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently just stayed here for a night with some friends and family. The pictures looked great and so did the description...should of looked on here first. Paid for twin bed room via www.hostelbookers.com. Firstly the pictures were a misrepresentation of what it actually looks like...its cold, desolate, clinical almost like a rubbish hospital. One of the elevators didn't work and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlindersMelboune, Owner at Flinders Station Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us in Melbourne. We appreciate all feedback as it gives us a change to change and improve. You need to use your key in the elevators to get to your floor but the staff must have missed telling... More

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm sure I won't come back to this place in my life again! First of all I'm really SORRY for this place having as receptionist a stupid guy called Rhys!! What happened to me: I got to this hostel after 10pm early may, this year...saw the kitchen and the reception lounge area sharing the same terrible space, it makes everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Station Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Guest Sorry to hear you had such a bad experience at our hostel. Our records indicate that you didn’t pay for the last 3 days of your stay which is probably why our receptionist was quite insistent that you come down to reception. We do require payment in advance for our rooms. All our floors have bathrooms on them... More

Noosa, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at Flinders for about 5 months so I think its safe to say I know the place pretty well, although I know in the last month since I have left, things have improved a bit. This review is based on my knowledge of the place when I was there. Great location in the heart of the city. However,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Station Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for staying with us last summer. I have been hearing fantastic things about our current team of staff, who are of course all free to socialise with whoever they like after hours. All though our wifi is not free we believe our internet is great value at... More

Christchurch
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Centrally located and easy to get to everything in the CBD. Staff are pleasant and ready to answer any questions, free breakfast, free pool and table tennis, and an amazing list of movies to choose from to be enjoyed in the bean bag theatre. Rooms and bathrooms are basic but are clean and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Station Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us and we LOVE the new movie room as well!. Happy Travels Flinders Staff More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hostel for around five months. We arrived desperately needing a room on the evening of White night in Melbourne as literally everywhere was sold out and we had no where to stay. Laurence spent ages sorting us out and saved us from being homeless for a night! Cleanliness: The hostel is moderately clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Station Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for leaving a review as it has given us valuable input to your stay and areas we can improve on. We are really happy with the new improvements we have made to the common area including the movie room. We are now looking at other areas of the hostel improve so that this summer season is... More

Do you own or manage Flinders Station Backpackers?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Flinders Station Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flinders Station Backpackers

Address: 35 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Flinders Station Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flinders Station Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Flinders Station Backpackers