We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Flinders Backpackers

35 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flinders Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Flinders Backpackers
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    38
    55
    24
    39
See reviews for
2
39
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (167)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at Flinders Backpackers for 2 nights. Excellent location in the CBD opposite Flinders St station. The exterior may seem seedy, but inside was clean, including the shared kitchen which is a nice surprise for such a large hostel. Plenty of showers, clean linen. Friendly staff. Very good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived quit late and just made it in time before they close reception for one hour. No Go for a Hostel. Closing Reception between 21-22. Room was clean but bit old. Slept good. Bit of tram noise. Breakfast is nice with toast and pancakes, but get up early. You have to bring your own cup or buy on of them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here 3 times throughout my traveling time in Australia all for different amounts of time and in the different types of rooms. The double bed was decent. There was hardly any room for mine and my ex-partner's stuff but it was okay. Then I stayed in a 4 bunk room (mixed gender) and it was as big as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I didn't stay there and I never will stay there. I had a look of the hostel, great location, have a pool table, kitchen is just near the reception... The receptionists were not friendly at all, even a bit nasty when I told them I was not gonna stay there, what the heck, I went there with a friend to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

This backpacker's hostel offers a place in the heart of the city. The price is reasonable and not to mention their overflowing free breakfast plus almost every night free stuff from the famous goon to movies at the hostel. I stayed for just two night but stay is worth the value. I normally compare places before I book but when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Can be a bit loud if you're on the main road with the tram stop outside and the club downstairs but I was exhausted each night after spending the days exploring so didn't bother me too much. (I was prepared because of the other reviews so had ear plugs which I didn't end up needing to use) I had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marshall, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

stayed here as the locations was perfect for a gig we went to at the forum up the road. as far as back packers accommodation goes this is pretty good. room was clean and furniture and decor was modern enough for my liking. a pub/club is joined on this accommodation so can be loud at times but its not over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Came to check in to the hostel on Monday 4th May. After scanning our ID and entering mine and my friends details on to the system we were informed that we could not stay due to the fact that we had stayed before and left without paying. As it was our first time in Melbourne we informed her this was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear potential guest Please disregard this review. The booking was rejected based on the past behaviour of one of the guests in our hostel. We can understand that this can be upsetting. The guests identity was not in question as the reviewer states. The staff member acted appropriately when handling this difficult situation and was neither accusing, rude or short.... More 

Chester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

I had a fab time at Flinders backpackers hostel! I was at first nervous as I was booking very last minute and I hadn't originally expected to be needing a hostel, but after visiting the city and seeing the prices online, Flinders St Hostel seemed perfect! I'd read the reviews and I can't believe how wrong they all were. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Louse You’re Fantastic! You just made mine all the staffs’ day with your awesome review! I'm so pleased you had a positive and memorable time at our hostel. We hope to see you again sometime soon. Happy Travels Flinders Management More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Stayed at this hostel because of the location (right next to Flinders Station) but we were so happy to check out after a few nights. The check in staff (morning 26/04/15) were SO rude, they would not care about you. Didnt even look like they are working. There is no way to check in earlier than 1pm. Not even 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Nicole We are very disappointed to see that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and found our staff to be rude. We can only apologise, try to learn from the experience and offer an explanations for some of the other issues you had in the hostel. As a fellow traveller myself I understand how exhausting it is after... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay