We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Flinders Backpackers

35 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flinders Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Flinders Backpackers
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    34
    55
    23
    38
See reviews for
2
37
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Can be a bit loud if you're on the main road with the tram stop outside and the club downstairs but I was exhausted each night after spending the days exploring so didn't bother me too much. (I was prepared because of the other reviews so had ear plugs which I didn't end up needing to use) I had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marshall, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here as the locations was perfect for a gig we went to at the forum up the road. as far as back packers accommodation goes this is pretty good. room was clean and furniture and decor was modern enough for my liking. a pub/club is joined on this accommodation so can be loud at times but its not over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came to check in to the hostel on Monday 4th May. After scanning our ID and entering mine and my friends details on to the system we were informed that we could not stay due to the fact that we had stayed before and left without paying. As it was our first time in Melbourne we informed her this was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear potential guest Please disregard this review. The booking was rejected based on the past behaviour of one of the guests in our hostel. We can understand that this can be upsetting. The guests identity was not in question as the reviewer states. The staff member acted appropriately when handling this difficult situation and was neither accusing, rude or short.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Chester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a fab time at Flinders backpackers hostel! I was at first nervous as I was booking very last minute and I hadn't originally expected to be needing a hostel, but after visiting the city and seeing the prices online, Flinders St Hostel seemed perfect! I'd read the reviews and I can't believe how wrong they all were. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Louse You’re Fantastic! You just made mine all the staffs’ day with your awesome review! I'm so pleased you had a positive and memorable time at our hostel. We hope to see you again sometime soon. Happy Travels Flinders Management More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this hostel because of the location (right next to Flinders Station) but we were so happy to check out after a few nights. The check in staff (morning 26/04/15) were SO rude, they would not care about you. Didnt even look like they are working. There is no way to check in earlier than 1pm. Not even 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Nicole We are very disappointed to see that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and found our staff to be rude. We can only apologise, try to learn from the experience and offer an explanations for some of the other issues you had in the hostel. As a fellow traveller myself I understand how exhausting it is after... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything is within short walking distance - transportations, tours company, clubs, food places, shopping area etc. Recommended for short stay visit especially to the youngsters. Friendly environment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jaja Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Your feedback is appreciated! Hope you had a great trip to Melbourne Happy Travels Flinders Management More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The check in/ check out service was easy and hassle free. Great location. 4 of us shared a room with 2 sets of bunks and it had 4 lockers that were generally big enough to hold most of our stuff. The rooms and hallways could use a paint job. By far the worst part of staying here are the showers.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi David Thanks for taking the time to leave us a second review about your stay last September. Although we appreciate the feedback a lot can change in 9 months. Since you enjoyed our bar so much we would love if next time you come back to Melbourne you give us another try. Happy Travels Flinders Management More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here over a weekend in a double room with a shared bathroom. The facilities were clean and the room was comfortable. We had seen previous reviews on here regarding noise at night but having stayed at backpackers throughout our travels we weren't put off. However the noise was something else.. Avoid level ten- people making so much noise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Mike We appreciate you taking the time to leave us some feedback on your stay. I'm sorry to hear that it was other guests been inconsiderate that disturbed your sleep. We do have alcohol restrictions and our staff and security do routine checks of the building during the night. In the future if you ever have an issue you... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed in a couple of hostels so far and I have to say that this one is by far the worst! Staff is unfriendly, rooms are very small the kitchen partially doesn't work properly, there is not enough cutlery for everyone and it makes an overall unclean impression, most of all the toilets. Me and me friend checked in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Michael We are sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory stay with us and I can only try and give you an explanation to your concerns. The reason why you had to move rooms during your stay is that you and your friend booked at the last minute. The 16 Bed dorm was only available for one night as... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The location of this hostel and the very competitive price are the selling points. It's right in the centre of town and everything is on your doorstep so ideal if you want a hassle free stay. Beds are cheap and pretty comfy. We got a 2-bed dorm (basically a private room with bunks) which was only $68 - bargain considering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlindersMelboune, Manager at Flinders Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Rich Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback on your stay. We are pleased to hear you had a good stay and hope your whole experience in Melbourne was a positive one. Happy Travels Flinders Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay