We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Urban Central

Hotel website
334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Urban Central
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Urban Central
Urban Central
Urban Central
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    88
    39
    14
    20
See reviews for
10
44
73
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (249)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
There are newer reviews for Urban Central
See the most recent reviews
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent two nights here and it was alright. Nothing to compliment them on. As me and my girlfriend arrived we were greeted to the man behind reception sucking the rest of his lunch (which he had on his desk) off his fingers which wasn't pleasant. Our room was absolutely freezing and the heater didn't work so had to ask to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Our maintenance department checked the room and informed us that the heater does work it just takes a bit of time to warm up. We will discuss a way of informing guests of this in our next meeting. We have had a discussion with our staff members and they are to eat away from their... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here only for a couple of nights while we were going through Melbourne on a greyhound bus pass. We really enjoyed our stay here, it's close to Central Melbourne (only a 5 minute walk to the river). The rooms are 4 bed so there is a decent amount of privacy and everyone here seemed to be really friendly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Sharing with only three other people we also feel is a great benefit. It enables guests to make friends with fellow travelers and also allows for more privacy. Like many hostels our wifi is with global gossip. We offer rates for an hour, a day, 3days and weekly. It is a great compliment that you... More 

Israel
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The beds were clean and the room was big but the hostel was boring , and had no .social life I feel bad we didn't take a hostel at st kilda , so we could have more fun in the evenings for families its perfect

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for acknowledging the effort put in by our staff to keep the hostel in tip top condition. It makes us beam with pride. Our hostel offers events every night in our bar. From Trivia to pool competitions, games night, dress up nights and much more. We also show any sport you want to watch... More 

Figtree, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Family room in this place is sensational, perfect size for three people, a fourth if needed. The free breakfast was great, great view out over the west gate bridge, air con didn't seem to want to work, but was okay, Didn't really need it as the Melbourne weather was perfect. Only ten minutes walk from the CBD so close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. We offer these luxury rooms all equipped with a private bathroom, TV, wardrobe, double bed and a bunk bed as great way for families or a group of friends etc to enjoy our social and communal environment with the added benefit of your own... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would definitely recommend this hostel! Free breakfast, nice rooms and close to the city centre. The toilets are clean and the shower is good. The only cons were that the carpet is a little bit smelly and we could listen to the bar noise from our room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We take great pride in our presentation and make sure that our cleanliness is of the highest standard. We will have housekeeping assess the carpets. They are vacuumed every day and steam cleaned when required however we will have the odor looked into. We will also talk to the bar about their noise level... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wedged between the four-lane City Road and the six-lane West Gate Freeway on one side and the almost comically loud lifts clunking up and down at frequent intervals all night, and with the blare of the neccessary air conditioning unit, my room, room 501, was cacophonous even with ear plugs in and a pillow over my head. I was exhausted,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, General Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I apologise that we did not achieve your expectation. As you will see from other reviews this is certainly not our usual standard. Had I been aware of your concerns I would have offered you the option of moving rooms however have refunded the cost of the room and breakfast in full. Thank you... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed two nights by myself at Urban Central and I have to say that the price really worth it. Breakfast included, only room of four, clean, big locker, everyone's nice. Yeah, if I ever have to come back in melbourne I'll book again in Urban. Cheers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, We are so glad that you enjoyed our 4 dorm share room. Sharing with fewer people means that you have more privacy. Free breakfast is always great as well as free tea, coffee, rice and pasta! Now we are having a BBQ every night. $1 hot dogs and $2 burgers, So that is dinner... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff, clean rooms,free drinks (water,coffee,tea), free rice & noodles and close to the Melbourne CBD. They always have events in the bar and meet&greet for new people. 5 Thank you! :) Regina S.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, It was a pleasure having you stay. Our Bar is the place to be serving a BBQ dinner every night, $1 hot dogs and $2 hamburgers. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards, Rebekah More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hostel, not too far from the CBD, the staff is very friendly, always smiling, the hostel is clean and it's cheap. I'm in a 4 shared bedrooms, the room is nice but miss a little bit of light. I had one not very good mattress but now I'm in another room and it's alright. The facilities are clean, nice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for you review, We pride ourselves on cleanliness and know how important it is when travelling and staying in accommodation. We have purchased new mattresses and changed any that do not meet our standards. We are looking forward to seeing you in the bar for a drink. Kind regards, The team at urban central More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is a but but I will just give an honest review about my time spent at Urban Central. I stayed in this hostel for 3 weeks, it was clean, mostly friendly and had small dorms which was ideal as I'm not a fan of large groups in rooms. However, here comes the but....... The communications were dreadful, here are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, General Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Hello Matthew, Thank you for reviewing our venue and recognising our friendly service and clean environment. We have a remote for each communal unit and the other one was with another guest yet to return it. I have reviewed our procedure to ensuring we have a spares in case of non-returns. Guests often forget keys and we let them back... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities