We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Urban Central to your Saves list
Urban Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
Ranked #25 of 110 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Jim D Brisbane, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (150)
  • Photos (8)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    54
    27
    10
    13
See reviews for
5
26
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the friendliness of our welcome on arrival at the front desk (you rock Lisa, Jamie, Sonja and Saana!) through to facilitating the storage of our gear prior to departure and EVERYTHING in between (especially a credit card issue I had on our arrival!), the Urban Central satisfied all of my entire group's various and diverse needs...and then some! I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rosebud, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love this place, I stay here as much as I can when I visit the city. With a luggage storage room, its great that you can just leave your stuff there and not have to carry it around with you till check in time. It's clean and the not pricey at all, I was in the city recently, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a quick trip to Melbourne and needed a place to stay near the conv centre. Great location, 10min walk to south bank, clean beds, towel, and breakfast included, plus the staff was incredible, will recommend to anyone who looks for a good night sleep

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed with my wife, teenage son and step son...... Great location, and value... close to casino and southbank... Recommend for family, group of friends or solo traveller.. Only problem, no guarantee for parking... may have to park elsewhere, at higher rates?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

I'm pleased to read that our location and facilities met your expectations. We focus on providing clean and great value accommodation for a variety of different guests. Glad you think our 12 minute shower heads are a great idea, we think so too. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, hope to see you again soon. More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had 3 family rooms for a 50th birthday party. 10 of us fitted perfectly. After all it was only to sleep in. Beds clean and great condition. We stayed here as it was "opposite" Crown Casino where we saw a band play at Palms. $10 deposit on the room "keys", photo ID for all staying. The family rooms have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Great to hear that our location and facilities suited your group. We aim to cater for a variety of guests and it's fantastic to hear that you all had an ace time. We also think our staff and security are super friendly and I have passed on your feedback to them.... More

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This was the worst stay of our entire travels. The 'hostel' seems more like social housing than a hostel. In the first room we stayed in our two room mates were unemployed males in there 40/50's and they were both angry that we had managed to find work in Sydney even though we were 'immigrants' and they couldn't find work.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us. I apologise that we did not meet your expectations. It's hard to find ideal room mates, but we are always happy for our guests to change rooms when required. I'm glad that you rated us highly for service and hope that you chose to stay with again. More

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is basic no frills accommodation at its best. It is exactly what you would expect from a hostel. The shared facilities and bedding in the rooms is clean and functional. I have stayed here twice and have been satisfied both times. The location is great, being very close to Crown Casino and a short tram ride to the CBD.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We also think we have a great location in the south part of Melbourne, it's very easy to get around either walking or by tram. I'm so glad that our rooms meet your expectations, we pride ourselves in having clean and functional rooms at a great price. Thank you for... More

Paide, Estonia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great hostel located near Melbourne CBD. Friendly reception, always helping out. Clean spacious rooms. Nice communal area and well equipped and functioning kitchen. Generally quiet because they have their own pub next to communal area. Would stay again and recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your comments about our friendly staff to our reception crew. We hope to see you again next time you're in town. More

Siem Reap, Cambodia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stayed there 3 nights and I really didn't like it. The staff was unfriendly apart the girl who welcomed me and Ammar. The rooms were very cold, no heater and it was winter, no lock on the lockers. Then if you want to have shower it is complicated. You got 12 minutes to have a shower with a timer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback in regards to your stay with us. I'm glad to hear that you found some of our staff extremely helpful. Our rooms are individually heated with guests having the option of turning the heater on or off. All guests are provided with a locker, padlocks are on sale at reception if you do not travel... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hostel is decent but not very well located. The price to stay is higher than the real price they charge and then it only gets worst! They claim free breakfast but is only until 9:30 (we missed it) and cheap internet (is the most expensive among all hostel we have been to). We only booked for one night and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, I'm glad to here that you think were a decent place to stay, we think our location in the south part of the city is ideal if you're planning on visiting the Exhibition Centre, Etihad Stadium, Southbank and St.Kilda. The train on our doorstep will also take you to every other... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Urban Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Urban Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Central

Address: 334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Central 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Urban Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Central Hotel Melbourne

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
100

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer