We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Urban Central to your Saves list
Urban Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
69%
Ranked #35 of 113 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014
Jim D Brisbane, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (152)
  • Photos (8)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    54
    27
    10
    15
See reviews for
6
26
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My mother, brother and I stayed here for Planetshakers Conference in April and were surprised when what looked like a diamond in the rough turned into a nightmare. The clean downstairs facilities, helpful tour desk and small adjacent pub make it look okay but once you get in the elevator it's a different story. 1. Room EXTREMELY NOISY! I know... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The worst hostel we have stayed in to date. We booked here for a full week while we changed apartments in the city. On the first two nights we stayed the rooms were ice cold and when we reported this to reception we were met with sighs and told that someone would come up to fix it in about 40minutes.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

From the friendliness of our welcome on arrival at the front desk (you rock Lisa, Jamie, Sonja and Saana!) through to facilitating the storage of our gear prior to departure and EVERYTHING in between (especially a credit card issue I had on our arrival!), the Urban Central satisfied all of my entire group's various and diverse needs...and then some! I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rosebud, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I love this place, I stay here as much as I can when I visit the city. With a luggage storage room, its great that you can just leave your stuff there and not have to carry it around with you till check in time. It's clean and the not pricey at all, I was in the city recently, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

I had a quick trip to Melbourne and needed a place to stay near the conv centre. Great location, 10min walk to south bank, clean beds, towel, and breakfast included, plus the staff was incredible, will recommend to anyone who looks for a good night sleep

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed with my wife, teenage son and step son...... Great location, and value... close to casino and southbank... Recommend for family, group of friends or solo traveller.. Only problem, no guarantee for parking... may have to park elsewhere, at higher rates?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

I'm pleased to read that our location and facilities met your expectations. We focus on providing clean and great value accommodation for a variety of different guests. Glad you think our 12 minute shower heads are a great idea, we think so too. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, hope to see you again soon. More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had 3 family rooms for a 50th birthday party. 10 of us fitted perfectly. After all it was only to sleep in. Beds clean and great condition. We stayed here as it was "opposite" Crown Casino where we saw a band play at Palms. $10 deposit on the room "keys", photo ID for all staying. The family rooms have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Great to hear that our location and facilities suited your group. We aim to cater for a variety of guests and it's fantastic to hear that you all had an ace time. We also think our staff and security are super friendly and I have passed on your feedback to them.... More

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This was the worst stay of our entire travels. The 'hostel' seems more like social housing than a hostel. In the first room we stayed in our two room mates were unemployed males in there 40/50's and they were both angry that we had managed to find work in Sydney even though we were 'immigrants' and they couldn't find work.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us. I apologise that we did not meet your expectations. It's hard to find ideal room mates, but we are always happy for our guests to change rooms when required. I'm glad that you rated us highly for service and hope that you chose to stay with again. More

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is basic no frills accommodation at its best. It is exactly what you would expect from a hostel. The shared facilities and bedding in the rooms is clean and functional. I have stayed here twice and have been satisfied both times. The location is great, being very close to Crown Casino and a short tram ride to the CBD.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We also think we have a great location in the south part of Melbourne, it's very easy to get around either walking or by tram. I'm so glad that our rooms meet your expectations, we pride ourselves in having clean and functional rooms at a great price. Thank you for... More

Paide, Estonia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great hostel located near Melbourne CBD. Friendly reception, always helping out. Clean spacious rooms. Nice communal area and well equipped and functioning kitchen. Generally quiet because they have their own pub next to communal area. Would stay again and recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your comments about our friendly staff to our reception crew. We hope to see you again next time you're in town. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Urban Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Urban Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Central

Address: 334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Central 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Urban Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Central Hotel Melbourne

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Melbourne with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
100

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Urban Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer