We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Urban Central

3.0 of 5 334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Hotel website
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Urban Central
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Urban Central
Urban Central
Urban Central
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    64
    32
    11
    17
See reviews for
8
32
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (189)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here with my husband and friends on 21st and 22nd of Feb 2015, The rooms were pretty clean with comfortable beds, but the AC wasn't working and it was really hot in there, when we informed them they dint bother to fix it neither asked us to change the room, when we asked them to provide us a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, It is a delight that you find our rooms clean and comfortable. These are very important standards and we do our utmost to maintain them. This was one of the busiest weekends in Melbourne and we apologise for the air-conditioner unit and the delay in obtaining a replacement for you. We hope you enjoyed the... More 

Galway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a really great hostel. It's super clean and tidy. Big reception area, tour desk, bar, great kitchen with loads of fridges an shelves and LOADS of pots,pans,utensils, lounge area on each floor, luggage room, computers and pay phones, large bathrooms with plenty toilets and showers (and a coin operated GHD on floor 1) and 2 separate laundries. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved this hostel. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The location on south bank was awesome. Made some great friends that I still keep in contact with. The bar had nightly events and activities. Great string of shops and restaurants plus the beach all with in walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for 6 nights and was in a shared room of 4. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was just opposite and I never saw more than 1 person in there! The other girls in my room were friendly and nice and I didn't have a problem leaving my stuff in my locker there.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, It fills us with pride to know that we are providing a safe and enjoyable environment for you and all our guests! We enjoy helping out in any way we can and are glad that you appreciated the Myki card that was lent to you and the free breakfast, tea, coffee, rice and pasta... More 

New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was very clean, linens and bed were perfect. The staff very friendly. Free breakfast until 9.30 and free tea and coffee all day. Réception 24/7 with very Pleasant staff. One of the greatest hostel I've done so far. Safe baggages room and good wifi in the rooms (not free unfortunately). Area close to all the facilities. Perfect. Every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review! Our team works hard to keep the rooms and communal areas of our hostel to a high standard and to have you acknowledge, appreciate and experience this service makes us proud. We love being able to help our guests out at any hour of the day to ensure that they get the most out... More 

Ulverstone Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Travelling on a day sailing to Tasmania with our car and needed somewhere close to Port Melbourne as we needed to be at the boat early. Urban Central was just up the road, straight run to and from the ferry terminal. Room cost $139 for the night (Queen) was clean, tidy and quite room. TV etc but NO Fridge in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We also think our location is very convenient not only for people needing to explore the CBD but also for people travelling on the spirit of Tasmania. Cleanliness is one of our top priorities as we take pride in providing you with a fresh and flawless night stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you... More 

Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Due to unforeseen circumstances, I had to postponed my booking to a day later. I rang up the hostel and I was immediately referred to Agoda. I called Agoda to request a postponement and they called back a short moment later and I was allowed to postpone and there would be a small refund due to the difference in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that our speedy and professional manner was able to assist in managing your booking and thus enabling you to manipulate your reservation and have you stay with us. Customer service if one of our top priorities we are always eager to assist guests with any questions and solve any problems they may... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Rooms are average and clean. Social hostel. Good free breakfast, coffee, tea, rice and pasta. Great staff that is very helpful. Answered any questions, polite and kind. Made my visit worth while. Thanks for all you do!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Rooms are average and clean. Social hostel. Good free breakfast, coffee, tea, rice and pasta. Great staff that is very helpful. Answered any questions, polite and kind. Made my visit worth while. Thanks for all you do! Response; Thank you very much for your review. What a delight it is that you were able to appreciate the social aspect of... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Me and my friend stayed here for a week over Christmas! We had a 4 bed dorm which was spacious and you had a big locker each to store things. Each locker had a charger point which was great but a bit annoying that it was at the back of the lockers! The staff were so friendly and helpful! Free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, We always try to help out our guests by providing more for your money, such as free breakfast, rice, pasta, tea and coffee. The power points for each guest are in the lockers. This means that you can leave devices charging inside and locked up. Having the sockets at the back of the... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

We stayed here overnight just to bridge our arrival in Melbourne and our official 'stay' in one of the hotels at the CBD. We arrived a day early in Melbourne and chose this hostel as it was rated to be one of the better ones in the city. The location is a bit off centre and is a bit of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are so happy that you found the room spacious and comfortable. We find the walk along south bank into the CBD to be a pleasant one providing a relaxing walk along the Yarra River and past the many restaurants and cafes South bank has to offer. Customer service is one of our main priorities... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Urban Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Central

Address: 334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Central 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Urban Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Central Hotel Melbourne

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay