We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Urban Central

334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Urban Central
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Hostel is ideally located and very easy to get into the CBD as well as to St Kilda beach. Love the fact there is free breakfast, tea/coffee and some food staples. Kitchen doesn't seem to be big enough though as it becomes very overcrowded at peak mealtimes. As a result of this the utensils are often all dirty and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma H
Schweiz
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've spent 5 days in this hostel. It was the best hostel I've found in whole Australia. Good value for money. Friendly staff, always a staff-member in the kitchen to keep it clean, good breakfast. It is easy to get to the city by tram or on foot.

Helpful?
Thank Raphael148
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, It was an absolute pleasure to have offered nothing the best in service to you during your stay with us. We also think that our free continental breakfast is a great way to start your day before heading out to discover Melbourne. Looking forward to having you stay with us again in the... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As I stayed in the hostel for about a month I got the chance to work for accommodation in the hostels kitchen. I got to know the staff a little better and must say all of them are really nice and helpful. The hostel is clean, offers basic free breakfast + free pasta and rice and is nice and quiet.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LinaM1997
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, It was our pleasure to have had you stay with us and thank you for the fabulous job you did as part of our work for accommodation. We wish you all the best with your travels and hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in a single room which was a great size and spotlessly clean. Employees were friendly and patient considering they were very busy when I was checking in. There's a device in the ensuite, though, that activates and times you while you shower, beeping triumphantly with each dying minute as it counts down from 12. I never showered long enough... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rohan D
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, It is our pleasure to provide comfort and cleanliness to each of our guests during their stay. As this is a very busy time here in Melbourne and I have congratulated my staff for maintaining their high level of customer service. Thank you very much for your feedback on our timers. I will ensure that... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for a long weekend The welcome was poor before check in time and was rude The energy of the hostel is hostile and disappointing The free breakfast was good/average, the beds were nice and clean and the room was basic along with showers clean and basic The cost is reasonable but were night there always seemed to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Backpack_princess14
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. I sincerely apologise that you felt our staff were anything but welcoming and compassionate. We have very high standards in all aspects of our hostel especially in customer service. We invite you to please get in contact with us directly so that we can have a better understanding of the... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We moved to Melbourne and chose to stay here for a few weeks while setting up camp (looking for more permanent affordable accommodation). The staff were helpful and the kitchen was always clean. It was expensive but every hostel is expensive. The payment for wifi was a real killer but again, everywhere in Melbourne is expensive.

Helpful?
Thank CAMtrip
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We enjoy offering our guests the best in service, assisting them with any queries they may have and ensuring our facilities are clean. Our rates include free tea, coffee, rice and pasta. We also lend guests a towel during their stay and offer cheap dinners most nights. Our WIFI can be bought for a day,... More 

South Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Needed one night to be nearby the wharf to catch the ferry to Tasmania. Travelling with family. Can't fault the staff or facilities, everything comfortable and clean. Only problem is if you're a light sleeper you may not get any sleep. The freeway was directly outside our window. Loud traffic noise doesn't stop all night and into the morning. Coupled... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SueSouthAustralia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff are not particularly welcoming or helpful, but they do their job. There is parking nearby. Fantastic location close to Crown, Southbank, Fed Square and trams.

Helpful?
Thank Katie S
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do our utmost to provide comfort and cleanliness to each of our guests during their stay. I apologise if you felt our customer service wasn’t up to our normal high standards. This is extremely rare and will be discussed in our next department meeting. We are located in a very convenient part of Melbourne.... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile

Stayed on the top floor in a private room with the 3 other people I was travelling with. A bed was what I wanted and it was what I got, no complaints. Bathroom was decent. Staff I interacted with were very helpful. Lovely girl on the front desk in particular (not sure what her name was), lovely girl in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tina T
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Sounds like you had a very fun time at our trivia night in the bar. It is always a great night and a fantastic social environment. I have congratulated our staff for their efforts. They really enjoy helping our guests make the most out of their stay here in Melbourne. We offer great value for... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

It is a very good option for somebody looking for budget accommodation in Melbourne. Very close to CBD (Central Business District). Closest tram station is Batman Avenue and the closest train station is the Southern Cross station. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Excellent kitchen facilities also available for customers who want to cook their own food.

Helpful?
1 Thank H_Saranya
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for you wonderful review. We also think that our location is great and close to many restaurants and cafes. We enjoy offering great value for money by including free tea, coffee, rice and pasta. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#87 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
#64 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#21 of 107 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#32 of 107 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#10 of 107 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay