We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

4.0 of 5 1 Sandy Bay Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    110
    55
    18
    13
See reviews for
36
129
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (267)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Sydney
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights here whilst visiting friends in Hobart. We frequently come to Hobart and usually stay at one of the traditional hotels. We thought we'd try the Mantra for its location and price. The old story applies - you get what you pay for. It is optimistically listed as 4 star - we would put it more as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

4th hotel I have stayed in in Hobart, its ok, good location, 5 mins from Salamanca and the harbour, i travel on business and the reception opening hours made it awkward...it opened at 8am....the other hotels i stay in in Hobart have 24hr receptions making it easier to check out......but at a rate of 149 for a night it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the size of the apartment and found us to be good value for money. Ah yes, the lift. On occasion it does break down, fortunately the repair men have been able to have it back up and running in a very short period of time and... More 

Bendigo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. Plenty of room for the 3 of us with a bed made up for our daughter. Bathroom was clean and spacious. The price we paid was on a part with the room and amenities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review

We do receive a lot of very positive feedback about the location of the hotel as well as the cleanliness and the siz of the apartments. You are absolutely right about the clock radios, they should be switched off prior to the next guest checking in and I will bring this up with the housekeeping team on Monday morning. I... More 

Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Had the pleasure of visiting beautiful Hobart over the weekend. The property is well located and close to absolutely everything. Staff excellent, very clean and comfortable rooms, good security, well equipped rooms and very comfortable beds. The main reception is not staffed 24 hours, which made it very difficult to obtain clean bath towels late Sunday afternoon. Perhaps the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review

It was great to read that you enjoyed your time in Hobart and your time with us at Mantra One Sandy Bay and that you would stay with us again. So much of the feedback I have been receiving lately has been of this same vein which is very positive and proving to us that we are heading in the... More 

Bunnys
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Excellent, excellent location, can walk into town to all the shops, cafes & restaurants in Salamanca. Also a museum and art gallery was only a few blocks away. We had a two storey one bedroom unit. Stayed 5 nights and had a nice comfy king bed and had very good sleep. The furniture in the lounge room and the wardrobe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review

It's always a pleasure to read when our guests enjoy staying with us. The location is fantastic and such an easy walk to Salamanca and into the CBD. I hear what you are saying about the furniture and it is something we are working through with our owners at the moment. Parking is limited and does need to be booked... More 

Canungra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I have stayed in a few Mantras and they generally offer good value for money but this one was well below Mantra standard and will reflect poorly on them. I paid extra for an "Executive Suite" only to find I paid for extra space and little else. It was sparsely furnished with cheap old furniture but the room cost was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review

I am truly disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. All of out apartments are individually owned and some of our owners are yet to complete the upgrade to their apartments. I am currently doing an audit on all of the apartments and will be going back to owners with a new updated upgrade package... More 

Thornbury, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We booked our 5 night stay at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road 8 months prior to travel & had a requested a room overlooking St Davids Park park, our only request!! We had room 510 on the 5th floor at the side of the building. You could see the park if you stood on the sofa & looked out the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review

The location of the hotel is always rated so highly as is the cleanliness and friendliness of the team which is always very pleasing to read. I apologise we couldn't accomodate you with the request of a view over St David's Park on this occasion. The team and I always try our hardest to accomodate every request which of course... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We had high expectations for this hotel/apartment. Unfortunately it did not live up to our expectations. However, it still proved very functional and was central to everything we wanted to do. The rooms were older than we had expected, with small windows and no proper cooking facilities. Plus window blinds were not blackout, the bedroom one only partially. But good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review

It was great to read that you found the location so handy to everything and enjoyed the size of the apartment and the facilities. I am curious thought as to why you felt you had to purchase your own toilet paper etc as evrry time one of our guests ask for more tea, coffee, toilet paper etc, I know the... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We stayed at this place for 3 days and could not get over that if you wanted anymore tea or coffee you had to pay, plus with your towels, we have never stayed at a hotel or apartment where you had to pay to get the things that should be included in the price.,This is not a cheap place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review

I am a little confused regarding your comments about having to purchase tea and coffee etc as each time one of our guests makes a request for extra tea, coffee, towels etc, the team arrange to have it delivered to the room at no charge so if this has happened I would be very thankful to hear back from you... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Absolutely terrible. Threadbare carpet, threadbare couch, grout falling out of tiling in bathroom. Limited reception who refused to supply an additional container of milk! Large gap between bedroom door and wall allowing significant light into the room at night which could not be blocked off. Promised an ocean view room. The only water in sight was in the toilet. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review

Hi Mary, Thank you for your time on the phone the other day. As I mentioned, the apartments are all individually owned and we are currently working with the owners of the apartments that have not participated in the refurbishment to do so, in roder to have consistency throughout the hotel. We do attempt to fulfill all of our guests... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mantra One Sandy Bay Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Address: 1 Sandy Bay Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra One Sandy Bay Road 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra One Sandy Bay Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 1 Sandy Bay Road
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hotel Hobart
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hobart, Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hobart

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay