We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Hobart accommodations

The Pickled Frog

281 Liverpool Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Hotel amenities
The Pickled Frog
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Pickled Frog to your Saves list
Ranked #22 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed today
dburrow Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
2
16
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Typical backpacker hostel. I stayed here for two nights, one in a private room and once in a dorm. The floorboards were extremely noisy, making it hard to sleep if people were moving around, but the basic rooms were comfortable enough. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, though service can be slow at the counter if you're after coffee/beer.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Whilst The Pickled Frog has the foundations of a great hostel (good location, friendly & helpful staff...) it is in need of some upgrades to take it to the next level. Our private room was quite small with a small basin (which was pretty filthy I might add) in the corner, complete with a single tap. The shared bathroom had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The pickled frog is a big old house in almost the center of Hobart. And even though it's quite dated it's yet clean and nice. The rooms are quite small and so are the showers and toilets. But staff is nice, location good and the general vibe in the hostel is also friendly. The hostel has free Wifi, free lockers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed with my partner in a private room for 2 nights. Room was extremely basic but quite clean. Showers and toilets again basic but clean. The door to all of the rooms look like they are old front doors, with 2 glass panels, looked quite cool but really not ideal when you're trying to sleep. There was a really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear you had a couple of issues. If you had come to us while you were here we could have easily just moved you into a quieter, darker area of the hostel. Also, if we were made aware of any problems with your room - we could... More 

tel-aviv
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were 3 friends who traveled to Hobart for 3 days. We loved the fact that "The pickled frog" has some space at the back for parking the car. The location of the backpacker is on one of the main streets in Hobart, the price was decent (we rented 3 bed dorm and although the room was small it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Hey there, thanks so much for your awesome review - they really do mean a lot to us! We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope the rest of your trip is going well... More 

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff, nice kitchen, decent shower and an awesome mascot: a huge and extremely docile siberian husky. My room was a little bit could tough (stayed during winter). There is always cool beer at the reception and someone to play pool with. The hostel is very good, one of the vest I've ever stayed actually. Two or three blocks from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

What a legend you are! Thanks heaps for the review mate - we really appreciate it. We're glad you liked Baloo - the big, docile Alaskan Malamute. We actually have another one now! Thanks again, Team Frog More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place was really great. Made a lot of friends and LOVED that they had CHEAP beer at their own little bar by reception. It's really big which is great. FREE wifi and computer access. Big big lounge area for movies and socializing. A reading corner and a huge kitchen complete with everything. The rooms are typical ridged backpacker rooms.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Thanks HEAPS for all of your kind words - that really means a lot to us. We're stoked to hear you made so good friends here - we like to think (mostly) attract a very friendly, laid back kind of traveller here and we never get tired of all the friends we make here :) We will take your constructive... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at the hostel are friendly and the place is good for socialising. However, the place doesn't seem to be the cleanest. The bathroom can get drafty and it isn't the most comfortable. I did not have any complaints about the noise level, but with the level of privacy. The layout of the hostel meant that my room window... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your review - will will take that all on board and do our best to make things better for all of our future guests. The hostel is cleaned 4 times everyday - it is just hard to keep it looking perfect all of the time because of the age of the building - old, but full... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Although I've thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Pickled Frog so far, (predominantly because of the backpackers I have met)... I was appalled to see THE OWNERS blaring music and partying in the reception area (which allegedly closes at 10pm) until almost midnight despite the fact that they themselves have signs up throughout the hostel declaring that noise after 11pm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pickled Frog is exactly what you expect from a backpackers: close to the city and cheap. Staff are friendly and helpful, and reception sells beer. Facilities could be cleaner and can be noisy at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words - we're very glad you had a nice stay with us. We are continually trying to raise our cleaning standards with the hostel now be cleaned about 4 times a day. As you probably saw we have a no drinking / noise policy after 11pm - the only noise issues we seem to have is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Pickled Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Frog

Address: 281 Liverpool Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Pickled Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Frog Hobart, Tasmania

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay