We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pickled Frog

Hotel website
281 Liverpool Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Special Offer
Book Direct- Best Price!
The Pickled Frog
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #25 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Emily M
Add Your Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    36
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
3
18
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (117)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved our time at the pickled frog! Super friendly place, great common area, and it feels quite homey. It isn't a sparkly new hostel, but it's character outweighs any shortcomings it may have in terms of facilities. Greatly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked for one night and wish I could stay more! The place is well located, with huuuge common space, comfortable couches, spacious kitchen, two lovely dogs and even an hamac ! The staff is really friendly and help me with some problems, by giving useful advises. I definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lots of couches. Lots of common area Loads of dvds to hire. Big kitchen with good free food shelf All staff are friendly!! We even cooked dinner the night after we checked out waiting for a plane. Free shuttles were great too. Close to town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a great time at The Pickled Frog! The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. There's a great social vibe here, I met a lot of cool people. Convenient location and clean rooms. Cheap beer and cider at their bar! Free wifi throughout the hostel, which is not common in Australia as most hostels I've been to charge for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pickled Frog turned out to be just as I had thought it would be. I had taken a personal room which had a bunk bed arrangement with little space apart from the bed.There was a window which almost directly opened into other rooms. The bathrooms were clean and available whenever I needed. The dim lighting in the room is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HONG KONG
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been to Hobart 2 times, one time was Feb 2014 and this Feb 2015 is my second visit. I stayed in another hostel in the same neighbourhood as The Pickled Frog but my intention of writing this review is not to compare the two hostels. Anyway, here we go the review of The Pickled Frog from me: First,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Hello to you from Baloo and Nala - our two Alaskan Malamutes! Thanks heaps for the review - we're very happy to hear you had such a good B+ stay with us :) I hope the rest of your trip with your Dad is going well... More 

Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went there for a night before I started my tour of Tassie and first impressions are good. The downstairs is very cozy, has a lot of sofas and seating areas and TV etc. The staff are also very nice and made my stay particularly pleasant. The rooms are quite cramped and there is a definite need for more power... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Yep, you're pretty close to the money here. We are in the process of putting more power points into the rooms and also more hanging hooks in the showers. We are continually updating and upgrading The Frog - it is a big old building so these things just take a bit of time - but we are getting there. Thanks... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Extremely expensive for what you get, extremely noisy 24/7, very few toilets and showers, no mirrors, dirty, etc. Even campings in the middle of the desert are much better!! Alright located. The best is that there are sinks in all the rooms, but there are much better options for budget accomodation in town! This is just the most famous one...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Oh dear, you clearly have not stayed in too many other hostels in Australia - $25 a night is hardly expensive; especially when you consider that includes free wifi, free Mt Wellington shuttles (normally $30), free MONA and Tassie Devil shuttles (normally $95!) and heaps more.... The Frog is unashamedly for the young and the young at heart - which... More 

Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

We stayed at The Pickled Frog on 2 occasions. The first time we were in a very small room in which they had managed to squeeze 2 bunkbeds. You had to walk sideways between the beds and there was barely space to put 4 large backpacks. On second occasion we got a larger, normal sized room also with two bunkbeds.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a pretty good stay with (and we're sorry to hear we could not have please you more.) Yes, the parking is limited to 12 spaces but we are the only hostel in Hobart that has any free parking at all (and it is free on the street after 5:30pm and all day on weekends.) We... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Typical backpacker hostel. I stayed here for two nights, one in a private room and once in a dorm. The floorboards were extremely noisy, making it hard to sleep if people were moving around, but the basic rooms were comfortable enough. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, though service can be slow at the counter if you're after coffee/beer.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your solid enough review - I'm sorry we couldn't have please you more for another star or two in your rating! We are working on upgrading our rooms as I write and have taken your comments on board regarding the bar and we now have two staff members on of an evening on weekends (no more... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Other (25)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question