We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Salamanca Terraces

4.5 of 5 93 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salamanca Terraces
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Salamanca Terraces
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
33
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you are thinking of staying here ask for a room away from the corner where the traffic revs noisily as it drives up the hill into Runnymede Street. We asked for a quiet room. They put us on the ground floor, right on the corner where the traffic and noisy pedestrians kept us awake until all hours. Also the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Dear Mary M, We are very disappointed to hear that you wouldn’t return to Salamanca Terraces. Being in the central location we are does mean that there can be a little street noise so I am sorry we were unable to move you to one of the higher floor or a room at the back of the complex. I am,... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had 3 nights in Hobart at Salamanca Terraces and wished we'd booked more. The apartment was lovely and my son loved having a huge king sized bed. The staff were friendly and the apartment clean and plenty of towels and kitchen stuff for us. Best of all I could see Salamanca Market from the little balcony and was down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Hi Lyndell F, Thanks for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you were in one of our self-contained Two Bedroom Townhouses which we find are very popular for families and groups of friends, especially if they are in Hobart for a few nights. Thanks for commenting on our staff friendliness and I... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here once before so knew what to expect. It is centrally located close to the market and the wonderful Battery Point area. We had a 2 bedroom apartment we shared with another couple which made for a cheap stay. The rooms were clean and spacious. The only grumble was that the apartment was not ready until 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Hi Andrew K, Thanks for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your second stay with us at Salamanca Terraces. We really are in the best location for exploring Salamanca Market on a Saturday as well as being centrally located for the shops and cafes of both Salamanca Place and Battery Point. We are pleased you found your... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed the location and views from this place. We stayed in one of the penthouse apartments - which was good value considering the position and the convenience of being able to use kitchen and laundry facilities. We found the place to be warm, clean and the staff very friendly. Really appreciated the free wifi too. It's 2 min... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Justin G, General Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Dear Anthony B, Thank you very much for your review and we were happy to read you had a "Great stay"! Good to see you made use of the kitchen and laundry facilities in the apartment. Tasmania is very well known for its food and wine so its great for our guests to be able to prepare some of this... More 

Coffs Harbour
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

The apartments are comfortable but not 4.5 stars. Loose the bath as it makes showering difficult. I had 305 which had a noisy aircon compressor above it. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Great for accessing Salamanca shops and markets. Short walk to town and the Warf, so very well placed. Wifi is very bad if you have a smart... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Dear Jakar74, Thanks for taking the time to post a review, we certainly appreciate your feedback. Our apartments are serviced daily on the standard rate however when guests book a discounted long stay rate we have the option of weekly servicing to enable us to offer the most competitive rate possible. This suits many guests who may not require a... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I stayed here for one night, I really enjoyed the location, lots of nice restaurants and it's right near the harbour. Our room was very large but there were a few issues. The room was fairly dated, the noise of the heater in the living room was reminiscent of an arthritic freight train, the split system wasn't quite up to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Dear Al_Cidd, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our excellent location but am disappointed to hear of the issues you experienced during your stay with us. We apologise for the air conditioner, these are new additions and usually work very well in heating or cooling the apartments. Had we known yours was not working... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We stayed her for 2 nights in September and were really happy with all aspects of Salamanca Terraces. The staff were all so pleasant and friendly, it's right next to Salamanca markets which are open on Saturdays and are AMAZING! The room service menu was one of the best I have seen, pork sliders were delicious and the room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Hi Debbie_22382, Thanks for the 5 star review. We are pleased you were happy with your stay with us and enjoyed our excellent location. Our apartments are great for people that like a little bit more space but still want to be in the centre of everything Hobart has to offer. Thanks for your comments on our room service menu,... More 

Penguin, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Disappointed as hotel did not meet expectations for the price tag. Room had not be well maintained and in my opinion 'grotty'. Advertised as superiour, I would have to say this was not my experience. Hole in toilet wall (clogged with toilet paper), next to paper dispenser and a hole in wall in lounge room. A lot of paint peeling,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justin G, General Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn S, Thank you very much for your review and we were disappointed to read your comments. Our sincere apologies that the room was not up to expectations and for the impact this had on your stay. We normally receive very positive feedback about our rooms and presentation and it is certainly disappointing when we do not reach our... More 

Sheffield, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I booked this at the last minute as I'm not familiar with Hobart and wasn't sure where to stay. It is now my 'go to' place! There is a wonderful Italian restaurant right next to it (food AMAZING!) and Salamanca shopping etc is on the same block. The apartment was roomy, very clean and oh so comfortable. I highly recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Hi Kim J, Thanks for the review and recommendation. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Salamanca Terraces. I am also pleased you made the most of our great location by dining in the local restaurants and exploring Salamanca Place. Thanks for the comments regarding the apartment, we certainly agree that they are nice and spacious;... More 

sydney
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is a lovely apartment let down by some very basic but annoying things -Suprisingly quiet for the location - We stayed in the "Penthouse"- top floor, well equipped kitchen 1 bedroom, laundry, big balcony Free Wi FI electric blanket , comfortable big lounge room dining table, wall heaters (worked very well ) good off the street parking - 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justin G, General Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Dear hobartlover, Thank you very much for your feedback and my apologies for the issues you encountered during your recent stay. I am aware that you have also raised the issues directly with us and we have we have responded in detail accordingly, however, I do wish to provide an update on the issues you have raised. The toaster has... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Salamanca Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Terraces

Address: 93 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Terraces 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Salamanca Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Terraces Hobart, Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hobart

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay