We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Hobart hotels

Salamanca Terraces

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Salamanca Terraces to your Saves list
Salamanca Terraces
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
63%
Ranked #27 of 47 hotels in Hobart
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Mia L Perth, western australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (66)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (38)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (21)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
30
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, western australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the best hotel that I have stayed in Hobart. I would definitely recommend if you're in Hobart for a few days and want the convenience of a fully equipped apartment. Heating and air conditioning is superior to adapt to the elements outside and the electric blanket on the bed ensures that you're never cold! Located right in Salamanca... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Hi Mia L, It’s great to hear we are the best hotel you have stayed at in Hobart! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in and made the most of our great location, right in the heart of all Salamanca has to offer. The recent addition of reverse cycle air conditioners has certainly made a difference to the apartments,... More

Adelaide
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights with our toddler. A great location less than 100m around the corner to the markets and Salamanca square and an easy walk into the city. Our one bedroom apartment was clean, comfortable with everything you may need. We took advantage of the washing machine provided to put a load through - handy with a child!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Dear Daisymaylang, Thank you for your 5 star review! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves and found the room to have everything required for a comfortable stay. We appreciate your comments and recommendation and look forward to seeing you next time you are in Hobart. Kind regards, Florence More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

A truly wonderful experience. Right in the heart of Salamanca. Self catering with wonderful kitchen set up. If you do not wish to cater then food choices superb from take away to Blue Eye restaurant. Top notch. . Cafes with fantastic food and coffee. Merchandise of all kinds. Walking to waterfront which is the departure place for many tours of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Hi Herbie2219, Thanks for your review and your great comments. We are pleased you enjoyed staying with us, it sounds like you had a great time exploring the area. Our self-contained apartments are an excellent base for people who want a little more space whilst staying in Hobart. I am glad you managed to find everything you needed in the... More

australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

the accommodation was up to scratch, very centrally located in walking distance of all the galleries and restaurant and salamanca market - maybe in very hot weather it might not be ideal as there are no airconditioners/heaters installed only a small portable one which was ok but the weather was not that hot when we were there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Hi Debm35, Thanks for your comments, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of our central location. Approximately two months ago we installed reverse cycle air conditioners in the bedrooms and living areas of all apartments. I am unsure of the dates of your stay but am assuming it was prior to... More

Perth, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel experience was one of the worst ever. The apartments are tired and in need of upgrading. Given the price they represent very poor value for money. Bottle collections later at night, street sweeper in the early hours of the morning, loud pedestrians all hours of the night lead to two very interrupted nights sleep. Windows that do not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justin G, General Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Dear Graeme j, Thanks for the review and we were disappointed to read that you didn't have an enjoyable stay. Our apologies that you found the apartment tired, in need of upgrading and poor value for money. We do aim to present our apartments in the best possible condition and are regularly upgrading them. In the last 6 months we... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Second time visit in 8 months with same friend. Recommended by friends who stayed in July 2012. Really love the space in the 2 bedroom apartment (incidentally the same room as last July). Exceptional location. The company matched our rate from last July which was very nice of them. Very clean, modern, lovely to have friends over. Some improvements 1.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Hi MattyMattD, Thanks for your review. I am glad to hear you have enjoyed both your stays with us. Our Two Bedroom Townhouses are extremely spacious and we find they are very popular for both families and friends travelling together. We always try to remain as competitive as possible in regards to rate so I am happy you were pleased... More

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Only few minutes away from salamanca markets great place to stay great view of the harbor you can see if there is some cruize ship dock on the harbor very close to the shop great rooms really enjoyable place to stay definitely we will back and stay longer this time

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Hi MMM D, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be back for a longer visit next time. Our self-contained apartments are perfect for longer stays and the location is very central to all there is to see and do in the city. We... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The best place in Hobart. Central to everything. What a great place to stay if you want to dine ,walk ,shop and be on the harbour. The apartments are well set up quite and spacious. Definitely recommend this place always.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Hi Jenny L, Thanks for your review, it’s certainly great to be described as the best place in Hobart! Our location really is perfect so I am glad to hear you were able to make the most of all Salamanca and the waterfront area has to offer. We are always more than happy to make recommendations on what to see... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had a 2 storey very spacious 2 bedroom apartment at the end of the building. It was clean, comfortable and had absolutely everything you need and more. The location is perfect, within close walking distance to lots of restaurants, the town centre and the ferry for MONA (and the markets though they weren't on when we stayed). I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Hi AlandJane, Thanks for your review. Our Two Bedroom Townhouses are a great option for families or friends travelling together, they really are huge and I am happy to hear you found the room to be comfortable with everything you needed. As they are self-contained, with full kitchen and laundry facilities, we find that they are also a good choice... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

What we didn’t appreciate about Salamanca Terraces was that we were given a phone number that never answered and there was no reception – you had to slog up a steep hill, and it was a really hot day. Then, as soon as we walked into the studio apartment we were horrified, as we are used to a much better... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florence S, General Manager at Salamanca Terraces, responded to this review

Dear EHeath123, Thanks very much for your review and our apologies that you didn’t enjoy your stay at Salamanca Terraces. Our apologies that the contact number you received was incorrect. Your booking passed through a number of different agents and we will try and trace it back to ensure everyone is passing on the correct contact details. Salamanca Terraces reception... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Salamanca Terraces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Salamanca Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Terraces

Address: 93 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Terraces 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Salamanca Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Terraces Hobart, Tasmania

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Salamanca Terraces offers modern self contained and fully serviced accommodation located right on Salamanca Place in the picturesque and historic Sullivan’s Cove waterfront precinct of Hobart.The stylish contemporary apartments include Studios, 1 Bedroom apartments, 2 Bedroom Townhouses, 2 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom apartments and 1 Bedroom Penthouse apartments. The 1 Bedroom, 2 Bedroom and Penthouse Apartments have fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities. The Penthouse Apartments and 2 Bedroom Townhouses also have balconies.Rooms are serviced daily and we cater for both overnight and long term stays. Foxtel TV and High speed Broadband Internet is available in all rooms. Salamanca Terraces also offer FREE off-street parking. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
25

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer