We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Backpackers Imperial Hotel

Hotel website
138 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Central City Backpackers)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers Imperial Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Backpackers Imperial Hotel
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
4
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

There are a lot of types of rooms. Location is so nice !! There are big and clean kitchen. Also big relaxing space. Can use wifi almost rooms. All staff is friendly and kindness to everyone. Staff will helping If you can't speak English well :) No problem !!! I had able to spend nice time in this back packers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I've stayed long term at the Imperial for the past 12 months between hiking trips, and couldn't ask for more in a hostel. Efficient staff, great rooms and facilities, lots of character, it's kept very clean, and you'll never find beds this good in a hostel ever again. The location couldn't be more central or more convenient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My friend and I stayed at the Imperial backpackers for 6 days and let me tell you, it was an experience. The kitchen was very clean. The rooms and the beds were clean too. The wooden floors were a bit creaky but you have to let go off that since the location is the biggest benefit. The staff at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

And by that title, I really meant it. I had a good night's sleep because that's the best beds I have ever seen so far from a backpackers hotel. They got a relatively HUGE common area which I didn't have time to really use, and good toilets to serve its purpose. Though I think the toilets can be more in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm now in this backpacker for 3 months in a single room. The staff is really friendly. I found everything I needed, fully equiped kitchen, laundery, awesome bed, 2 big rooms for chilling and relaxing with tv and great couches. Bed linen are changed one time a week, bathrooms and kitchen cleaned every days. The location is perfect, just 100m... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I ended up staying here with my 62 year old Mum as we had not previously booked accommodation for a 2 night stay in Hobart. Overall for a Hostel it was fine. Beds were very comfortable,room was relatively clean, I didn't feel like I was sleeping in a nightclub and our twin room was a reasonable size. The bathrooms definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

These guys have 140+ beds so you won't get a very personal experience...but the staff is efficient and friendly enough. The good: The kitchen. Many large refrigerators and space to store food. Mostly decent cookware, etc. and although they put in some new induction plate cookers that no one could figure out, they do have other space for cooking that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imperial B, Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and hope you stay with us again. More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

I was so disappointed with our stay here, especially as it was very expensive! My boyfriend and I stayed in a 'deluxe' double room for 3 nights, and a dorm on the last night as there was no more double rooms. I wish I had read more of these reviews beforehand, as what they say is very true. Pros: the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Imperial B, Front Office Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We value your review and some of these points will be discussed and improved for our future operations. Thank you again for your review. Kind regards Else Front Desk More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I wouldn't recommend this hostel. They tried to increase the rates after the booking was made. They also tried to insist on a $500 cash deposit upon arrival. When we were leaving and wanted to put our luggage in the luggage room for a few hours, there was a $5 charge per person. Poor management.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Imperial B, Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The reason for our $500.00 deposit was for a security bond, in case anything was to be damaged. I understand your group may not be the rowdy party type but it is our policy that all group bookings must put down a security bond, and your group booked out a large dorm. More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Tried to charge a 500 cash deposit because we booked as a group. When we checked out we were told we had to pay a $5 luggage fee each if we left our bags in the luggage room for a couple of hours.ive never heard of any hostel having such a charge. There was no engagement from the staff as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Imperial B, Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The reason for our $500.00 deposit was for a security bond, in case anything was to be damaged. We apologise that your experience with us was not as personal as you would have liked, however, if you came back to ask questions during the afternoon we would have been able to assist you a lot... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question