We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Backpackers Imperial Hotel

Hotel website
138 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Central City Backpackers)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers Imperial Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Backpackers Imperial Hotel
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    11
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
4
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I ended up staying here with my 62 year old Mum as we had not previously booked accommodation for a 2 night stay in Hobart. Overall for a Hostel it was fine. Beds were very comfortable,room was relatively clean, I didn't feel like I was sleeping in a nightclub and our twin room was a reasonable size. The bathrooms definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

These guys have 140+ beds so you won't get a very personal experience...but the staff is efficient and friendly enough. The good: The kitchen. Many large refrigerators and space to store food. Mostly decent cookware, etc. and although they put in some new induction plate cookers that no one could figure out, they do have other space for cooking that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imperial B, Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and hope you stay with us again. More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

I was so disappointed with our stay here, especially as it was very expensive! My boyfriend and I stayed in a 'deluxe' double room for 3 nights, and a dorm on the last night as there was no more double rooms. I wish I had read more of these reviews beforehand, as what they say is very true. Pros: the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Imperial B, Front Office Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We value your review and some of these points will be discussed and improved for our future operations. Thank you again for your review. Kind regards Else Front Desk More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I wouldn't recommend this hostel. They tried to increase the rates after the booking was made. They also tried to insist on a $500 cash deposit upon arrival. When we were leaving and wanted to put our luggage in the luggage room for a few hours, there was a $5 charge per person. Poor management.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Imperial B, Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The reason for our $500.00 deposit was for a security bond, in case anything was to be damaged. I understand your group may not be the rowdy party type but it is our policy that all group bookings must put down a security bond, and your group booked out a large dorm. More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Tried to charge a 500 cash deposit because we booked as a group. When we checked out we were told we had to pay a $5 luggage fee each if we left our bags in the luggage room for a couple of hours.ive never heard of any hostel having such a charge. There was no engagement from the staff as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Imperial B, Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The reason for our $500.00 deposit was for a security bond, in case anything was to be damaged. We apologise that your experience with us was not as personal as you would have liked, however, if you came back to ask questions during the afternoon we would have been able to assist you a lot... More 

brisbane
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

I've stayed here several times before. I return each time for a few reasons. It's very central and has good rates. It's generally quite clean and it's pretty quiet. It's not a "party hostel" (I overheard the owner telling a Japanese girl that the safety of female guests was of particular importance to them). This is the first time I've... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imperial B, Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. We will certainly improve on the points you have made and look forward to you staying with us again! More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Stayed in a private queen room. Room was very clean, nice and warm and the bed was comfortable. Could have done with a little bin in the room though. Bathrooms were surprisingly quiet and quite clean, as far as backpackers hostels go, this would be right up there for me. Much easier to come and go from the alleyway then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imperial B, Front Office Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing us on trip advisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to a return visit. Happy travels! Kind regards Else More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

My partner and I stayed in this this hotel and had our worst hostel experience of our entire trip by far. Let me count the ways: 1) No soap in the kitchen to clean the dishes 2) No soap in the bathrooms 3) No toilet paper in the bathroom 4) No elevator to get up to the third floor with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Imperial B, Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being the first person to complain about a $5.00 luggage storage fee for the day. More 

New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights and if and when I come back will stay again. The rooms were clean place was clean kitchen was awesome. Owner/staff were very proper and very helpful. The place attracts some quality travellers. Would/will recommend this to friends and fellow travellers. Cheers

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imperial B, Front Office Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We appreciate the points you have made especially about customer service. We will do our best to improve this in future. Enjoy your travels. Kind regards Else More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

I've stayed in the single room for 5 nights during the Christmas peak. The location is very handy to shop, travel or eat. They also provide a well equipped kitchen and you could cook yourself. The place is safe and secured. But I cannot say the service or the cleanness are satisfying. I really wanted to check out after first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Imperial B, Front Office Manager at Backpackers Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Trip advisor. We appreciate the points you have made and will ensure we improve our customer service. Kind regards Else More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question