We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Hobart

4.0 of 5 156 Bathurst Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hobart
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Hobart
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    60
    38
    16
    6
See reviews for
19
60
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (162)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The BEST hospitality ever Our cruise was canceled so we decided last minute to Tasmania. Love the happy hour there.We booked all the tours with Gray Lines from them, all the girls at the front desk was super nice. The manager team was awesome, we a party of 5 need the Maxi taxi to the airport, half an hour later... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wimborne, Dorset, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

In the centre of town with reasonably priced food and drinks. Unfortunately there were a lot of Chinese staying at the hotel and they do not know how to behave at night. Running up and down corridors, holding noisy gatherings in their rooms and leaving the doors open...until 1-2 in the morning. Apparently a lot of Chinese stay here. Not... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Mike Gr, I am sorry that your stay was disturbed by other guests. We have reception and security staff on deck 24/7 and we are more than happy to quieten any disruptive guests whenever a problem of this nature is reported. Kind regards, Janine Livingston Manager More

Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

we have just returned from the best western hotel in Hobart. Although it looks very ordinary from the outside it is lovely inside. Rooms are clean, with a small balcony. We had 2 rooms. Beds (king for us adults and 2singles for the kids)are so comfortable, as are the pillows. Two TVs. Sliding doors to the balcony. Request higher floors... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear kate p, It’s always great to hear a guest has had a 5 out of 5 experience. Come back soon. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a room with a balcony that was communal to everyone on that floor, no privacy. It was a fair distance to get to the shopping centre. Staff were nice. Walls are thin, we could hear the people next to us have a bath. Room service started early so we could hear that too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Lisa G, It’s good to hear you found our team friendly. We are about 10 minutes’ walk to the main shopping centre of Hobart and a few steps more to the famous Salamanca Markets. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More

Cowbridge
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We loved Hobart and thought the Best western was pretty much on the mark. Quite a way into town and uphill all the way back. Restaurant was good, would probably stay again if in the area. No view from our room to speak of, but that's a minor thing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear bakerlite, I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful city and also that we were a good place to stay and that we will be seeing you again in the future. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spend five nights at the Best Western Hotel. The hotel is attractively set on a corner, a short walking distance from the city centre, but up hill – a drawback at the end of the day for oldies with tired legs!! Reception with Tracy was friendly and easy, and we took the lift up to the third floor. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Paul S, It's very kind of you to spend the time giving us such a splendid review. It's put a smile on the faces of all my team. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We like the Best Western chain because their rooms are always clean, spacious and have tea/coffee making facilities and a bar fridge. They are usually slightly out of the city centre which makes them quieter but generally within easy walking distance to the city/restaurants/city sights. The breakfast menu is ok but can be bit repetitive if you stay there a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear sueinperth, We have upgraded all aspects of our facilities and service since we joined Best Western and it's good to know we are fulfilling the brand promise. I gather this was your second stay with us and we are looking forward to the third. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the building and room looked absolutely tired. half of the lights were broken. aircon made squeaky noises all night. has no microwave or toaster (ok they must have stated so but for a room that charges you 230 per night i think that doesn't justify). parking costs extra. view from balcony was poor.charged my credit card twice (agreed to refund... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Yi L, I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay and we will be investigating the issues you have raised. Unfortunately our hands are tied with regards to the provision of toasters and microwaves as the local council does not allow any form of cooking in our rooms. However, we do have a very popular restaurant open... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I travelled to Hobart for the weekend for a family wedding and had a terrific experience at the Best Western Hobart. All the staff at reception were fantastic, especially Karen M. I had an issue with my booking and almost ended up with out accommodation for the weekend thanks to booking through Otel.com, who were were a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Simon P, Thank you for that lovely review. Our team will always go out of their way to sort out any problems that our guests encounter and I am pleased that you were able to see this for yourself. We look forward to getting that (direct) booking next time you need to be in Hobart. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More

Adelaide
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
120 hotel reviews
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here recently for two nights while working in Hobart, and had stayed on one other occasion a few years ago while still being managed by Accor. The negatives with this hotel are that it is a little out of the way (by comparison with other hotels closer to the dock area) and it is feeling a little old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear ozvpm_andy, Thank you for giving us your views and I'm very happy that you will be able to recommend us to others visiting beautiful Hobart, Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hobart

Address: 156 Bathurst Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hobart Hotel Hobart
Accor Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart Tasmania

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay