We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Hobart

Hotel website
Hotel deals
156 Bathurst Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Announcement
LOW RATE GUARANTEED!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hobart
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Hobart
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    104
    63
    20
    8
See reviews for
33
93
12
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (247)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Devonport, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff. Welcoming and helpful. I felt the hotel had a welcoming and friendly environment encouraging a quiet time for reading in the lounge chairs in the foyer and bar area. I will stay here in the future. Wel done!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good quiet location within walking distance of Salamaca and waterfront. Poor front desk service with an attitude: basically anything but helping the guests. Not true for others such as the guy working the bar who went out of his way to help and give us local travel tips which turned out excellent. Note there is no help with luggage. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

On 14, April, we arrived at the hotel expectantly. But the first impression was soon disappointed. The key and lock of my room didn't work. I went down to Front Desk, then informed the fact two times continuously.We should have kept you for waiting for a long time. But they didn't take immediately action.Security of the room for travelers are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woods Hole
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ether view is fine and the balconys offer fresh air. The buffet breakfast is as good as any (and these places seem all to have them). Staff are efficient and pleasant if a bit overworked. I might prefer next time being closer to Salamanca street fair on a Saturday morning. Ask for a higher floor to get a better view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear James L, Thank you for the review and those kind words. We hope to see you again sometime. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A very well-priced hotel. Could walk everywhere to cafes, shops, tourist spots, transport, and the harbour. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My room had everything I needed. Shower/toilet bit cramped, which is often the case. Breakfast was tasty and filling. Recommend the Best Western.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne J, It's great to hear that you will be recommending us; we are all very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Regards. Janine Livingston Manager More 

Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was basic with some furniture missing, a clock that did not work and no prices for the mini bar. The desk people had to be put on the rack to give the Internet password.......not a good start. The counter staff was not helpful on any count. Parking was also a problem and was not available at 9.30pm. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Graeme G, When we saw this review we noticed you were still in-house so we contacted you and fixed up those problem areas. You were kind enough to tell us that you were impressed by this so we are hoping we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My first reaction was that I hated it. I had to fill the jug up in the bath tub, there wasn't anywhere to boil the jug there wasn't a microwave, and for the nightly price it was rediculous. Beds are comfy but don't stay more than a night or two with a family. Mini bar was asked to be removed... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear j w, Thank your for your feedback which we will take on board; we should have been much quicker to empty the fridge. Kind regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We'd booked for 1 night but because of an unexpected family death, needed an extra night. We were squeezed in at a busy time, so were most appreciative. The staff are good here, and the restaurant excellent. Great bar area for pre or post dinner drinks too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Ranipuss, Our team here all do their very best to be friendly and professional with all our valued guests and we appreciate you taking the time to compliment us. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let’s face it, there is a not a great deal of hotel choice in Hobart CBD, and Best Western is about the only large “chain” hotel that I could see. No Hilton, Starwood, Marriott, or Mercure properties in the city as far as I know. Prices are generally on the highish side for a capital city, as supply of room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear ozstamps, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and our team here has been discussing your suggestions. I hope we will see you back with us again in the future. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for 3 nights and the room was great - spacious, super comfortable bed. The bathrooms obviously haven't been refurbed yet but they were fine - clean, good water pressure in the shower. The noise though. I kept thinking my balcony door was open due to the noise level from the street. I could clearly hear conversations the people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Amy D, Thank you for that feedback and we will work on the issues you have raised. Hoping to see you back with us again sometime. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question