We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Hobart

Hotel website
Hotel deals
156 Bathurst Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Announcement
LOW RATE GUARANTEED!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hobart
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Hobart
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    107
    63
    20
    8
See reviews for
33
94
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (251)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Box Hill, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great place to stay - very central - staff helpful - car park available - restaurant or bar menu to choose from - room service - virtually 24/7 service which meant food, drinks cold & hot available. Good if running late from business meetings. Very clean, comfortable, and enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The shopping and business areas of Hobart were a quick stroll away from the hotel. The rooms were clean, with very comfortable beds. The bathrooms were a bit dated with the shower over the bath. There was plenty of hot water. The rooms were a little noisy and we could hear muffled conversations from the neighbouring rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Julie908, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad the stay was good and I hope we might be welcoming you back sometime. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Rome, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A month ago we stayed at the Best Western Hotel in Hobart. It is only approximately 10 minutes to walk into town. The staff were extremely helpful and the rooms clean. I have to say the mattress and pillow were the best I have ever slept on anywhere. It was like being on a cloud. I know this sounds silly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Magnificent2014, Thank you for those kind words. Yes, our new pillowtop beds in all rooms are proving very, very popular; so pleased you slept well. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had need for a quick overnight trip to Hobart. This hotel is placed reasonably central and a larger establishment than I expected. I cannot recall exactly but I think 4 or 5 Kim's to Harbour. Price was value for money. The room was spacious and clean, a king bed room. I found the pillows to be quite hard. The bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Louise W, It's good to hear we were a good choice for your trip to Hobart. We are actually just 10 minutes walk to Salamanca and the dock. We'll show you the quickest route next time you are with us. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Devonport, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff. Welcoming and helpful. I felt the hotel had a welcoming and friendly environment encouraging a quiet time for reading in the lounge chairs in the foyer and bar area. I will stay here in the future. Wel done!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Toni M, Our staff get many favourable comments about their cheerful service and I am pleased you found that to be the case. See you again soon I hope. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good quiet location within walking distance of Salamaca and waterfront. Poor front desk service with an attitude: basically anything but helping the guests. Not true for others such as the guy working the bar who went out of his way to help and give us local travel tips which turned out excellent. Note there is no help with luggage. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Daneck, I am concerned to read your comments about the reception team; I would welcome more details so I can investigate. We do have lobby staff on call 24/7 to assist with luggage and they are always on hand to help. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On 14, April, we arrived at the hotel expectantly. But the first impression was soon disappointed. The key and lock of my room didn't work. I went down to Front Desk, then informed the fact two times continuously.We should have kept you for waiting for a long time. But they didn't take immediately action.Security of the room for travelers are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Jeong S, I am very sorry that there was a problem with your room's key card. I do know that our reception team were in the process of fixing the issue when you decided you wished to stay elsewhere. We are sorry you felt the need to do this but we allowed this to occur with no charge to... More 

Woods Hole
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ether view is fine and the balconys offer fresh air. The buffet breakfast is as good as any (and these places seem all to have them). Staff are efficient and pleasant if a bit overworked. I might prefer next time being closer to Salamanca street fair on a Saturday morning. Ask for a higher floor to get a better view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear James L, Thank you for the review and those kind words. We hope to see you again sometime. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very well-priced hotel. Could walk everywhere to cafes, shops, tourist spots, transport, and the harbour. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My room had everything I needed. Shower/toilet bit cramped, which is often the case. Breakfast was tasty and filling. Recommend the Best Western.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne J, It's great to hear that you will be recommending us; we are all very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Regards. Janine Livingston Manager More 

Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was basic with some furniture missing, a clock that did not work and no prices for the mini bar. The desk people had to be put on the rack to give the Internet password.......not a good start. The counter staff was not helpful on any count. Parking was also a problem and was not available at 9.30pm. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Graeme G, When we saw this review we noticed you were still in-house so we contacted you and fixed up those problem areas. You were kind enough to tell us that you were impressed by this so we are hoping we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question