We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Hobart

4.0 of 5 156 Bathurst Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2, Save 10%!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hobart
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Hobart
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    91
    53
    19
    6
See reviews for
28
82
7
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (218)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

Second visit to what is amounting to the best all round hotel in Hobart. A word of advice, book early. I missed getting in down here on my last trip to Hobart as they were booked out. And no wonder why. The staff and service is sensational. I have to make mention of Emma at the front desk. A warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Mark L, What a wonderful review! Thank you so much. I will share this with all our team here and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Toowoomba
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Overpriced because they can. Hobart is always full at the weekends so unless you have booked well in advance you will end up simply paying too much. The room we had was tired but clean. Situated facing the road just above the traffic lights the road noise was unbelievable. They could install double glazing to mitigate the noise but why... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Newts60, Thank you for the feedback. We usually have some great Advance Purchase deals that are always top value. I hope you can take advantage of one of these in the future. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a room for 3 nights on the 5th floor, harbourside (I cant speak for rooms on lower levels). Clean, quiet and extremely comfortable king size bed. Staff are friendly, helpful and very accommodating. Check in/out process was easy. Carparking is $10 per night which is reasonable (self park not valet). Well located within walking distance to shops, marina,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Linda M, It is good to hear that we may be your hotel of choice in Hobart from now on; looking forward to seeing you the next time. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Heathfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Somewhat disappointed in our stay here. The hotel is walking distance from the marina, which was great, but we had a room at the front which was very noisy. The pillows in the bedroom were poor, very uncomfortable. The staff were very friendly but the bar service was poor. Although my friend had been served her drink I had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear JCR141, I am very sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay. Our reception and restaurant staff are always on hand to assist with any issues, be it the delivery of a other pillows or a replacement in the case of a dish not being as you expected it. Of course we should get it right first time but... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here over the long weekend of the Wooden Boat Festival. I had previously stayed here when the property was a Mercure, since having been taken over by Best Western the standards have certainly improved. Previously there was no air conditioning in rooms however this has since been installed. Don't be deceived by the outside appearance of the hotel,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Razorboy1, All of our team have been working very hard to improve this hotel since we took it over 18 months ago. It's fantastic to receive your review and know that this is paying off and that we are able to offer our guests great facilities and friendly service. Come back again sometime. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Launceston, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is fine for a night or two. Competent staff. Very clean and comfortable. Central, so easy to access inner city areas. We didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on it. Had to pay for parking - should be included in the price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear 619Susi, Thank you for the feedback. I hope we will be welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good location, it's an older hotel and it shows but the staff are very friendly and the rooms are in good condition. Only issue I found was that the carpet had warn away at the bathroom door causing the underlay nails to be present. They charge $10 a night for parking onsite but if u go up the street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Reagan D, I am pleased you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm not a huge fan of best western for a start, this place looked run down and not well kept. When i checked in i noticed fine print that i'd be charged for internet and parking which i had carefully made sure to book a place that included those two things. When i pointed this out to the person checking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear ward10260, I am glad we went some way to converting you to Best Western; we have made huge improvements to this hotel since we took it over in 2013 and I’m hoping you’ll sample some of our sister properties in the future. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm a little taken back by the reviews on here. The Best Western HOTEL was exactly what my girl friend and I were after. We booked to go to Tasmania on whim and got in to the Best Western not realizing the Wooden Boat Festival was on. The room was equipped with everything we were after. Bed, Shower, bath, toilet,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Chantelle C, Thanks you for that lovely review. I am glad you both had a great time with us. See you again sometime I hope. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager More 

Beechworth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having booked this Motel 9mths ago as a special treat for the Wooden Boat Fest. was really disappointed to be given a room next to the lift & guest laundry. Hence room was noisy. Hotel full, no other rm. We were charged $4 for restaurant drink. Didn't have one. Maybe for the 'skim milk' asked for so we could have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Ken D, I am sorry you had some problems during your time with us. I assume we would have removed the $4 charge if you pointed it out on departure, though of course we should have got it right first time. We get lots of compliments about our breakfast so I will investigate and monitor our quality control in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hobart

Address: 156 Bathurst Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hobart Hotel Hobart
Accor Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hobart
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hobart

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay