We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

#9 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Sarah H Sydney, Australia
Review This Hotel

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    374
    108
    28
    8
See reviews for
114
358
44
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (853)
  • Mar-May only
    (222)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (160)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (215)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (256)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very central and parking was no problem. A warm welcome from the staff and a very comfortable room. Quiet, big bed and spacious. Nice bar and an easy walk to restaurants. Good value for money. Kitchen facilities if you need them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Our stay was for only 1 night but I could not fault the accommodation. The room had everything you could need, it was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Close to restaurants and even a restaurant and bar in the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful in giving directions to Salamanca where there were a lot of trendy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I recently stayed at the Old Wool Shed Appartment Hotel in a One Bedroom fully serviced apartment. The appartment is very spacious with all the amenities you require. They are clean and comfortable and the location of the hotel in Hobart is convenient to many good restaurants and the city centre. The staff are very helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Needed to book accomodation at short notice and could only get in here. Whilst the apartment was ok when I pay in excess of $300 I expect to at least have a TV in my room. And the reception staff were all but rude and disinterested. Wouldn't stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sandy W, Thank you for your review and as always we do recommend for guests to book ahead when visiting Hobart to ensure they are accommodated. It is good to hear we did have availability for your stay, and do note that higher rates reflect a busy period in Hobart such as February when you stayed. Our fully serviced... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We were not overly impressed with our stay at this hotel. Considering the price and ratings I was expecting more. The rooms were a good size and clean however they were not sound proofed very well and we could here people in the above apartment as well as full conversations of other guests. We found the staff to be average... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Straddiegirl, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. Our prices may be higher during peak periods in Hobart however our accommodation is great value with AAA rated 4 star hotel rooms and 4.5 star apartments. In regards to the noise you may have heard around your... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I recently stayed at this hotel with my 4 month old daughter. The staff where very helpful and accommodating when I required assistance. From setting up the portacot to carrying my bags down to the car. Every staff member was friendly and courteous. It made my Christmas holidays much more enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at The Old Woolstore for 2 nights, Friday and Saturday. My flight was delayed so I didn't check in until 9.30pm. No problem reception was still open and checkin was swift and easy. I didn't take the breakfast option but I was given complementary breakfast voucher that came in handy after a Sunday morning sleep in! This hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

good location in between the city centre & the Docks. rooms are super clean & up to date. good off street parking. a lift so you dint have to carry luggage upstairs. I go there every year for the toy run and will go again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Hi brett c, Thanks for your review after staying with us for the Toy Run late last year, always nice to hear from return guests. We appreciate you kind words and look forward to looking after you next time you stay. Cheers, Sophie More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a Studio room that had good views of the water . Very close to the wharfs and markets . Like all of the places we stayed in during our Tasmania trip , there seemed to be a shortage of staff , Breakfast one morning was not as smooth as it could be ( only one person in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Snowgo4, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay with us. Pleased to read you enjoyed the location of The Old Woolstore. I am sorry to hear you found the service experience during your stay a lower standard than expected. We take great pride in all staff and service offered during a guest experience.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel is within easy walking distance of the harbour and the CBD. It is a little further to walk to Salamanca. The hotel offers free parking and free wifi (although it is not very fast). The breakfast is your usual selection of stuff. The rooms are pretty good sized.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Hi allanbowers, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay and thanks for mentioning the free parking and Wi-Fi that we offer guests. Note are management team are continually looking for ways to improve the internet access speed across the full property. Should you have any issues during your stay our friendly 24 hour... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (115)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question