We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Hobart hotels

Rydges Hotel Hobart

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Argyle and Lewis St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Rydges Hotel Hobart to your Saves list
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
42%
Ranked #38 of 47 hotels in Hobart
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Shaun D Hobart, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (299)
  • Photos (99)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (66)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    84
    77
    47
    50
See reviews for
56
110
20
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

After reading the reviews of Ridges Hobart on this site, and beginning to regret my booking, I arrived to a very aesthetically pleasing venue. My room is large, amenities are old but work. The curtains are broken as one woman on here said, but who cares about curtains. I was impressed with the old world country feel and spacious rooms.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Superior room - room 10. King size bed. Two distinct rooms, a lounge room, a bedroom and a kitchen in the "hallway" between the two. Really thrilled with the room. Parking nearby to room available. Self-contained kitchenette - not sure I would want to cook a full meal in it, but great for reheating etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HobartManager, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your Mystery Wotif Hotel Deal. We hope to welcome you back to Rydges Hobart again soon. Warm Regards, Michael and Jennifer Hotel Managers More

Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we turned up here I thought WOW, this building is amazing. That ended when we had to wait ages to be seen at reception and any initial feeling of amazement totally evaporated when we got to our room. I actually laughed when we opened the door. It was like an unfurnished apartment. The lounge area was so huge but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that the initial wow factor ended at Reception. Rooms are due for renovation towards the end of this year and hope to welcome you back again. Warm Regards, Michael and Jennifer Hotel Managers More

Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having used Rydges Hotel many times in the past as an overnight stopover when visiting Hobart for work conferences etc, I did not hesitate to return after 7 years in retirement. Unfortunately our room was embarrassingly substandard. First impressions were tainted by the torn curtains which were difficult to open and hung haphazardly into the room. The bathroom sink surround... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have passed these issues onto our Maintenance Department. We are currently due for a refurbishment towards the end of this year. We hope that your next return will be sooner so you can experience these positive changes. Warm Regards, Michael and Jennifer Hotel Managers More

Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on two separate nights as I booked online as Rydges had a sale on. First night stayed in a two bedroom apartment can't list all the the things that weren't real up to standard especially for Rydges. Hardly any thing to cook with even though is listed as a apartment for self cooking , stove really old found... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are due for a refurbishment towards the end of the year. We hope to welcome you back soon. Warm Regards, Michael and Jennifer Hotel Managers More

Redcliffe, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed four nights and when we checked in and was greeted I will not say welcomed, went to our room and found the curtains in the bedroom hanging off the rails and could not be closed, similar in the living room, I contacted reception and told that it would be fixed in the morning, meanwhile I carried out makeshift... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Thank you very much for both your positive and negative feedback, this is greatly appreciated! Regarding the maintenance issues in the room, we are very excited to announce that the accommodation rooms will be having a refurbishment towards the end of the year. We have now ensured that all Reception Staff make it a key point in their check out... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Poor customer service on check out with comments that even though the room keys did not work that it was just bad luck and our fault. Rooms are tired and in need of renovation, maintenance and repairs should be at least kept to a standard of what Rydges is known for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. This was an unfortunate error on this day as we had techinical troubles with our room key encoder, however this is no excuse for the service received. The rooms are due for a full refurbishment later in the year. We hope you do choose to return to experience Rydges Hobart again. Warm Regards, Michael... More

Narooma, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rydges by name - that's where that affiliation ends. Perfect location, wonderful views over North Hobart and down to the city and beautiful old buildings. This "Rydges" Hotel has all the makings of a grand hotel but sadly housekeeping and maintenance and repair issues let the whole complex down immensely. Our [first] room was atrociously dirty and in desperate need... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Rydges Hobart. Our apologies for the inconvenience we caused you on this stay. As already mentioned to you by the Night Manager, we are due for a refurbishment towards the end of the year, however it is evident that we need to ensure that these... More

Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I have stayed there for 3 nights back in 2007 with a group of friends. We had a good time travelling together, so we didn't really make a big deal about the rooms. We were even joking saying it was like staying in a retirement village with the aged furnitures from grandma and grandpa. This year I stayed there for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are due for a refurbishment towards the end of the year, which will see updated furnitures and fixures in all rooms. We have had maintenance inspect the laundry extractor fan to ensure this does not disrupt future guests. Thank you for appreciating the uniqueness of Rydges Hobart's Buildings. We hope to welcome you... More

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The good thing was the upstairs bedroom and the period furniture and that's where it stops as traveller of the world I would rate this hotel as a 2 star not a Rydges so don't be fooled by the name and to be honest I have no idear why the rydges would put their name to this hotel, because I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rydges Hotel Hobart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Rydges Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Hotel Hobart

Address: Cnr Argyle and Lewis St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rydges Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Rydges Hotel
Rydges Hotel Hobart Tasmania

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (94)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Federation style hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
64

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer