We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Hobart accommodations

Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   41 Barrack Street | Corner Barrack and Goulburn Streets, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel to your Saves list
Ranked #14 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Helen M Melbourne, Australia
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    113
    31
    9
    7
See reviews for
14
45
122
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (287)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (85)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best thing about the hostel is the manager, Tony, who is so nice and friendly. The guests' lounge room is big and welcoming like him. My room was clean and very light, nice comfy king single bed,soft clean linen. The shared bathroom was the cleanest of any hostel I've experienced. The whole place is homely: little staircases, winding passages,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location and great comfort. The staff was friendly, helpful and flexible. Was actually the first hostel in Australia where there was room in the fridge although it was fully booked. You have free WIFI and computers you can use so I wasn't bound to the openinghours of the public Library. It was a good experience and I had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a 6 bed dorm for our family of 4. The room was clean and comfortable with fresh linen. The shared bathroom was kept clean and smelled of bleach. The kitchen was well equipped and other guests were friendly. The staff were welcoming and helpful. Overall it was a good stay, the hostel is not in the best location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albury, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had been advised that the Hobart Hostel is the best budget priced stay in Hobart. I'm glad I listened to that advice. Owner's Tony & Carmen were welcoming hosts and were most efficient in running the busy establishment. I had a single room that was clean and tidy with plenty of room to move. The toilet & showers were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The manager was so friendly and helpful allowing me to park my rental car in his car-space while I wasn't using it. The room was clean, tidy and warm and the bathroom was really nice for a hostel. I really enjoyed my stay here and would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed in plenty of hostels previously. I booked a single room in this hostel and the 3 single rooms are in the worst possible location; directly across from the well used bathrooms, on the corner of 2 main roads (with old windows and absolutely no sound protection) and on the thoroughfare for access to other rooms. I could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review

Hello to you. Thank you for your recent stay with us, let me inform you; we cannot control other guests behaviors, neither we can control people walking on the street. What we can do and have done few times in the past, is simply kick out guests with a rowdy and noise attitude. Probably you were looking for a hotel... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were greeted quite hostilely and one staff member was quite rude and lacked any customer service. Carmen was very helpful though and almost made up for the bad experience. We woke up and found that their was something that looked like semen on our sheets right next to our head which we didn't notice the night before. Absolutely disgusting.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hobarthostel123, Owner at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review

Hello to you, thank you for your recent stay with us, I wander: what were you thinking in the morning when you notice the sheets with semen ? I have hips of comments, but this type is the first time. Were you a bit confused ? could it be a stein of bleach or detergent ! or might not ?... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

I stayed at the hostel for 2 nights over the weekend. It offers a nice and quiet environment. Hostel has a nice and cozy lounge area and the rooms are quite ok. Even tho the 6 bed room gets packed when every bed is taken. Good location, as the city center in walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hechtel, Limburg, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I stayed for the second times in this wonderful hostel in a few weeks. I took a single room which was very comfortable and clean, that is infact for the whole hostel. Good and free Wifi in the area from the reception. If you like to cook there is a good kitchen as well. As a cyclist, it is important... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quimper, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

The staff was really average. Before leaving i informed the guy about the dirtiness of the kitchen,the fringe all the cutlery and the leaving room ( the fridge hasnt been clean for a while..) he told me that everyday a girl is in charge of cleaning everything....which was a lie..food was everywhere '.on the tea towels, on the floor on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hobarthostel123, Manager at Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel, responded to this review

Dear customer Thanks for your comments. But at the same time Staying one night and commenting on cleanliness is not appropriate. People are stating here for weeks and hasn't complained me of any of the above you mentioned. At any point we don't have to lie regard the services provided. it's the responsible of every Guest to clean their own... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel

Address: 41 Barrack Street | Corner Barrack and Goulburn Streets, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart`s Accommodation And Hostel
Hobart`s Hotel Hobart
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel Tasmania

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay