We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 392 Tasmania accommodations

White Sands Resort

21554 Tasman Highway | Iron House Point, Four Mile Creek, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added White Sands Resort to your Saves list
White Sands Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
61%
Ranked #201 of 392 Specialty lodging in Tasmania
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
melbourne-girls-shop Launceston, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (42)
  • Photos (21)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 4 nights there recently and mostly it was fabulous . As others have mentioned there is a great view , clean etc but it lets in self down in some big ways . the food - the restaurant is nice looking and service is really good But the food seems to have been prepared some time ago and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mercer Island, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The locale was just too far from Bicheno, where we went on the ATV's. I was going to book two nights there so that we could go back from that tour to the White Sands. I'm glad I didn't because it was just too far to our next stop, Hobart. It is a rustic "resort" with wooden cabins, a surfing/swimming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mauricio P, General Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

We were disappointed to read your comments regarding location of our business and the appearance of the room being “rustic”. Situated halfway between St Helens and Bicheno, we are ideally located for you to enjoy all the east coast has to offer including Freycinet National Park, the Bay of Fires and nearby wineries. However it is a place to stay... More

Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Well, I am talking about the restaurant, not the accommodation. I booked a Valentine day lunch for me and my wife. The location is lovely, the resort looks fantastic, although deserted in Feb! I have been there a number of times, as a resident in Bicheno, 20 mins drive south. Lovely looking swimming pool but NEVER seen anyone in it.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mauricio P, General Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to send us the review. My apologies that we did not asked about your meal. Asking guests for feedback is part of WSE guidance to the staff. We need to know if our customer is satisfied and we need to address any feedback. With regards the your comment... More

Binalong Bay, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked two weeks prior when we turned up got a free upgrade so was very excited bout that. Among arrival the villas were lovely, neat and tidy loved the big opening doors out onto the huge decking with a view to die for. Even though weather was cloudy managed to do all the activities with the kids, the pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mauricio P, General Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lauren, First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to post this review. We value your opinion and feedback is important to us. I am glad that you liked stay with us I will share your comments with the White Sands team and ensure this feedback will serve as an encouragement to continue to... More

Devonport, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Very poor, no drinking water, 1 washing machine for the entire place, no ensuites, coin operated bbqs, substandard for price we paid, booked a long time ago for our family, from qld, very, very poor, would not recommend but staff member I spoke too very polite. said management would get back to us, mmmmmmmm plus no screens on lovely stacker... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mauricio P, General Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept our apologies we did not meet your expectations and this did not allow you to enjoy your stay with us. We were disappointed to read your comments regarding structure of our premises. We strive to offer all our guests an enjoyable, pleasant experience, but it appears on this occasion we have failed. I will share your... More

Tasmania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I visited this resort with family from Queensland and we were very happy with this lovely resort. It was close to the beach, quiet and private and the units were clean, comfortable and very cosy.We would definitely recommend this resort. The staff were very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mauricio P, General Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your positive feedback for recommending it to others. I will share your comments with our team and ensure this feedback will serve as an encouragement to continue to deliver a high quality of our service. We hope to see you again when you next visit from Queensland! Warm Regards... More

Wollongong
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Arrived in a group, staff got us through the check in process quickly and without fuss. Cabins were superb, although i think a water cooler with drinking water in each cabin is something they should include. Restaurant and bar was great and our group had a fantastic time. Pity it was winter and we couldn't make use of the beautiful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mauricio P, General Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was thrilled to read you had an excellent stay with us. With regards the drinking water the White Sands Estate is serviced by water from a 15 acre reservoir located at the top of the property. This lake is a natural catchment area and is replenished by water... More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Found it pretty disappointing that we can't even drink the tap water. Had to boil the kettle and wait for it to cool before I could have a drink. I've never experienced that before, I'm in shock! The front of the estate is very impressive and the restaurant is nice but the cabin is pretty poor, especially in comparison. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mauricio P, General Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept our apologies that we did not meet your expectations and this did not allow you to enjoy your stay with us. With regards the drinking water the White Sands Estate is serviced by water from a 15 acre reservoir located at the top of the property. This lake is a natural catchment area and is replenished... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We booked 2 nights at White Sands but we ended up leaving after the first night and loosing our money because it was not what we expected. We are like nice hotels, usually we stay at 4-5 star, this hotel was really not good. We got the "luxury" cabin and it was more like a 3 star, the room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Mauricio P, General Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept our apologies we did not meet your expectations and this did not allow you to enjoy your stay with us. We were disappointed to read your comments. We strive to offer all our guests an enjoyable, pleasant experience, but it appears on this occasion we have failed. With regard the internet We are located on the... More

Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Really wonderful location with great waitress and bar staff. We had great difficulty making our booking with many prices quoted and numerous confusing phone calls. I would recommend it but hope that reception staff can up their service and organisation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage White Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to White Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Resort

Address: 21554 Tasman Highway | Iron House Point, Four Mile Creek, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your White Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
White Sands Estate - ocean view villas, beachfront conference facilities, Ironhouse Brewery, Bar and cafe and extensive facilities. Situated halfway between St Helens and Bicheno, we are ideally located for you to enjoy all the east coast has to offer including Freycinet National Park & the Bay of Fires. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
29

See which rooms travelers prefer