We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Coober Pedy accommodations

BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort

Hutchison Street (Just off the Stuart Highway) | P.O. Box 345, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Hotel amenities
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coober Pedy
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tennant Creek, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here in a tent on our way down south, then our way home a month later. The park was way better than expected. Our thoughts: Pros: -Friendly staff -Beautiful newly renovated amenities block and camp kitchen that were so good I wanted them in my own home! There was even a huge flatscreen tv in there. - Pizzas... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at Stuart Range caravan park for a couple of nights to explore Coober Pedy and again on our way back from Alice Springs. It is a great play to stay and as we were "weary travellers" we treated ourselves to pizza on both stays. Pizza's were fantastic, caravan park facilities clean and no problem with water. We appreciate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, we aim to please. Happy travels and all the best. More

Byron Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
74 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed a few nights here as we explored Coober Pedy. Nothing attractive about the park with high fences to keep out the undesirables. No water so we bought it across the road. Facilities were quite clean. A few caravans were broken into here the 2nd night we were there. Next time we'll stay at the Stuart Range

Was this review helpful? Yes
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review

Hi Robert & Karen, I would just like to clarify that this review is for the Oasis Tourist Park who was formerly a BIG4 park. We are BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, the place that you came to after them. We do not have high fences and we have just joined BIG4 Holiday Parks of Australia in December, we were... More

Yulara, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

arrived in the middle of Summer 40dg... NO pool / pool not open. Would have been nice to be advised of this upon booking or before paying at check in, standard room ok for over night tiny TV ! Fridge not turned on ! Beds made with sheets only and doona folded under pillows ??? I thought Big 4 property's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I understand your disappointment with us not having our pool open for use. We are equally frustrated that the pool can not be used, I would love a dip and happy customers of course. If we had a choice we would open it. The truth is last year we experienced ground movement which in turn... More

Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Starting with the good. This was one of the few places that didn't charge me extra for an extra child as most room rates are only for 2A& 2C where I have 3children. Lady on the phone in the morning was very helpful and friendly. The room was what I expected for a caravan park; it was a basic room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at a several other places on different occasions passing through Coober Pedy and this is one of the better ones. Another good one is the Mud Hut. The room was clean, spacious, cool and quiet. The decor is circa 1985, but that's quite modern by CP standards! It was pleasant enough anyway and nothing more offensive than exposed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights. During our stay, the park was very, very quiet apart from the first night when the Australian army camped here during their travel to/from Darwin. (It was very noisy and difficult to get a shower while the army were at the ground.) If you use the caravan park as a base to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
traralgon
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Do not advertise or charge for a pool when its empty. Dirty room Television not working kettle broken. staff would not make a decision. Renovating soon is not an excuse. Big 4 c/park were more accommodating ( pun intended ) wayne

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Albury, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The book in staff were excellent the abutilon block was second to none, the extra water charge was acceptable and reasonable. However the caravan park area is a bit far from reception so dogs are left to roam at their owners discretion and not always picked up after. And because of the distance from the office too many people drove... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clontarf, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very poor welcoming with a unpleasant staff. On their website, the owners precise that the rate is expensive due of the cost of the water and electricity in Coober Pedy but in reality it doesn't include showers which are 20 cents coin for 3 min. (so for a correct shower it will cost you 60 cents or more). More, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort

Address: Hutchison Street (Just off the Stuart Highway) | P.O. Box 345, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty lodging in Coober Pedy
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stuart Range Caravan & Tourist Park is a 4 star park located just off the Stuart highway and Hutchison Street in Coober Pedy, a unique Opal mining town in the Far North of South Australia. We are a T-Qual assured business and ATAP accredited.Once here visitors can expect a variety of accommodation including powered and unpowered camping and caravan sites, 4.5 stars Superior 1 & 2 bedroom apartments constructed using red Cedar joinery and all fitted with modern fixtures and stainless steel kitchen appliances. Our Standard rooms (soon to be renovated) are basic motel rooms that are most popular as an overnight stay. We have a new Camp kitchen, laundry and amenities block and offer guided bus Tours of the town, magnificent Breakaways, underground attractions and surrounding areas. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort to your Saves list