We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie

18 Currie St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Share an Experience

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    133
    73
    31
    16
See reviews for
24
128
39
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (303)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for 3 nights & were pleased with our choice. The room was a reasonable size & felt clean. The hotel is very conveniently situated for shops, eateries & sightseeing. We did not eat here, the staff were helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie. It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay and I will pass on your comments to our staff. Again thank you for your feedback. More 

Dundalk Ireland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed six nights and were annoyed to discover that the 1 mgb free wifi applied for the entire stay and not, as was usual in other "chain" hotels we used during our Australia, on a 24 hour basis.Luckily an excellent public free service is available nearby on Rundle Street. Because of the mean wifi allowance we purposely did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie. I was disappointed to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and this is something that I will address with my team. Again thank you for your feedback. More 

Springfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a conference last week, and found it to be quite clean and hospitable. The lobby was fine, and the restaurant also fine, although the service a tad slow. Just a tad. The air conditioning didn't turn on, but it wasn't an issue because it wasn't hot. I would imagine they would sort this out in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie. I have taken note of your comments regarding the airconditioning and will follow this up my maintenance manager. Again, thank you for your feedback. More 

Warwick, QLD, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at in October 2014 for 5 nights, This hotel offers the convenience of an inhouse laundry, pool, spa, gym and restaurant. Close to Rundle Mall. Clean spacious rooms, comfortable beds The car parking is off site, which is a bit inconvenient,if using this be sure to be very clear on entry/exit instructions with your parking ticket and that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of some of our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at the hotel grand chancellor on currie street between 6th - 11th March 2015. Really helpful staff which was important to me as I am a wheelchair user travelling on my own. Adelaide is a lovely city and the hotel is in a convenient location to reach all the local attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Again, thank you for your feedback. More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed a week, mainly for the Womadelaide Festival. The convenient location is the hotel's best feature. My room was cleaned and serviced every day and the price was reasonable, although a small discount for single occupancy would have been appreciated. All the staff including those at the front desk were friendly and helpful. Some more storage space for clothes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to enjoy the Womadelaide Festival. Again, thank you for your feedback. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here recently on a Friday and Saturday during the Fringe Festival. It was well placed and easy to walk to most of the city attractions. I stayed here principally because of the rate so wasn't expecting much. The room had nice high ceilings and hanging space but no drawers for clothes....strange. The bathroom was roomy but had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for you recent review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We appreciate the comments we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative. I have taken note of your comments regarding your room and will address this with my team. Again thank you for your feedback. More 

London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had just 2 nights, for the Adelaide Fringe Festival. So the hotel was busy. Concierge was great, helping with outings and restaurant bookings. Rooms comfy and nice to have great beds after 3 weeks on the road. Really great location with Rundle Street and the Fringe so close by. Let down by their policy of charging for WIFI after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SalesAdelaide, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay. We value the constructive feedback we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative. We were glad to read you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We checked in and were surprised to find a comfortable bed and a nice big shower. The towels were also nice, big and soft. The biggest let down was housekeeping. The shower had mould in it, and our towels weren't changed after the second night even though we didn't hang them up. All in all though it was quite good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SalesAdelaide, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding our Housekeeping, however rest assured I have addressed this with our Executive Housekeeper. Again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was looking forward to a romantic weekend away with my partner and no kids. Get to our executive king spa room and it is hotter in our room than outside (it was a 40c day!) The air con didn't work, it was unsafe and impossible to stay in the room. There were a couple fans setup so they obviously knew... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SalesAdelaide, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie. We value the constructive feedback we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative. We were very disappointed to read you did not enjoy your recent stay with us, rest assured I have addressed this... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question