We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Adelaide hotels

Chifley on South Terrace

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   226 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Chifley on South Terrace to your Saves list
Chifley on South Terrace
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
49%
Ranked #34 of 54 hotels in Adelaide
A recent review
  • Reviews (228)
  • Photos (29)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (63)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    85
    76
    30
    13
See reviews for
29
93
27
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Chifley on South Terrace
See the most recent reviews
Pool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We changed hotels midway through our stay as I felt stranded away from everything. The room service selection was poor. There is no movie channel and I didn't consider our room to be cleaned very well . On the plus the waitress at breakfast was very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights at The Grand Chifley in an exec king room which was well appointed, comfy bed, and had a nice view over park and hills. Staff were very helpful, although a guests compendium in the room would have helped with advice on hotel facilities and Adelaide attractions. Free parking was an added bonus and never had trouble... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very pleasant, clean and comfortable choice. Centrally located just a short stroll from city centre & dining hub. Very pleasant & helpful staff. Whilst somewhat dated the hotel is kept in good order. Rooms are generous with all standard facilities. An extended stay provided us with the opportunity to test all the hotel has to offer including the excellent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Glenn Thanks for your review which I have shared with the hotel team. We are all pleased you enjoyed your visit. Hanuman Restaurant is a great option for guest's wanting an authentic Indian/Thai/Nonya dining experience. Our adjoining property, Grand Chifley Adelaide (approx 50m walk), also offers Modern Australian cuisine at its restaurant "Zouk" for those who are looking for... More

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this place on Last Minute on a Secreat Hotel deal. It said 4 star and CBD. Well, i'm not too sure how this place is a 4 star. It was probably 4 star about 50 years or so ago. I honeslty don't understand why Last Minute features this hotel on their website and I couldn't find a place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Comfortable accomadation in nice cbd location with free parking. The hotel is quite old but that offers a certain charm inc high ceilings. Pool was refreshingly cold with towels provided. Reception staff were pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review

Hi Justin C Thanks for reviewing your recent stay. To slightly misquote the words of Rudyard Kippling - "You are a braver man than I" for going swimming at this time of the year and I would think refreshingly cold may be a bit understated, however, it is a great pool nonetheless and at 30m perfect for doing laps. We... More

Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed for 1 night upon our return to Adelaide. Place has obviously seen better days but surely with a few dollars spent could be so much better. Negatives 1st - place appears shabby in some areas & room could do with a refresh especially the bathroom, car parking may be an issue with people who have disabilities, no hot breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review

Dear TravellingScorps Thanks for leaving a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. The pancake machine is great isn't it! Very neat and perfect pancakes every time. We do offer a full breakfast at our adjoining property and chargeback facilities are also available - handy if you want to charge either breakfast or dinner meals & drinks back to... More

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had one night to spend in Adelaide prior to catching footi game the following day, so we opted for the mystery hotel with wotif. Brief was to be between $90-100 and close enough to CBD so we could walk to restaurants. We found we had booked the Chifley on South Tce, having previously stayed at the Grand Chifley which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Cazamatt22 Thanks for the review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Sorry your stay was marred by the activity of other guest's. Generally, our rooms do afford privacy and are relatively quiet however we can certainly understand how these activities may have been intrusive. Should you return to either of our Adelaide properties in the future please do... More

McCracken, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Overall impression was one of shabbiness with poor maintenance and minimal staff and services. We arrived at 8pm (following a 13-hour flight from Dubai) to find the computers down and no room key available to us. Door was propped open on our arrival and we were promised the key overnight. This did not happen. Room size was good. Went down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Jude B Thanks for reviewing your recent stay at our property. We are sorry you were inconvenienced due to the IT issues we were experiencing that evening with our computers. I am pleased to advise the problem was fixed on the evening and we have been trouble free since. We have also amended our procedure that in case we... More

wooloomooloo
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
93 hotel reviews
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

OK, so this place would not look out of place in Soviet Russia, but the Chifley people work well with what they have and I really enjoyed my stay here. Spacious room, which I found to be clean and comfortable. I liked the quieter location at the 'other' end of the Adelaide CBD, opposite acres of parkland, yet close to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review

Dear dr_Iggy Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and have shared your comments amongst the team as well as with Hanuman restaurant staff. We look forward to welcoming you back when next you are in town. Kind Regards Damian Gillings Executive Assistant Manager More

Millicent, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Other than the new light shades in the rooms this place is so outdated. The lift scared us as it clunked and seemed rather unsteady. The room wasn't overly clean and the toilet seat was stained and dreadful. There were even third party stray hairs on the bathroom floor and wall tiles! The bed was very uncomfortable and old. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Sunshine300773 Thanks for the feedback, I am sorry your experience was not as expected. I invite you to contact me personally at the hotel so I can investigate your stay and the points you have raised further. Your comments concerning cleanliness have been shared with housekeeping for immediate improvements and the supervisors will be paying more attention when checking.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Chifley on South Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Chifley on South Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley on South Terrace

Address: 226 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chifley on South Terrace 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Chifley on South Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley On South Terrace Hotel Adelaide

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
93

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer