We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 Adelaide hotels

Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Adelaide)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
68%
Ranked #18 of 55 hotels in Adelaide
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
TimfromCanberra Canberra, Australia
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    179
    92
    22
    10
See reviews for
41
126
41
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed in April. The location on Hindley is a bit loud - my taxi driver called it 'The Kings Cross of Adelaide' - make what you will of that. Check in was swift and easy. It's one of the few hotels I've been in that doesn't require card access to your floor - and given there are no safes in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review

Dear TimfromCanberra Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative. I will ensure to take your feedback into consideration when planning the next stage in our refurbishment program and that... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. The room was clean and the staff were generally friendly. The breakfast spread did not reflect the wide variety of fresh local produce. Nevertheless, the hash brown and spaghetti were delicious. A special compliment to the Concierge staff, Mr. Dimitri who was kind and helpful to offer assistance to book day tour as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review

Dear Mini_Cheryl Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. It is always a pleasure to read positive feedback about our team members. I will ensure the pass your kind words onto Dimitri; I am sure he will feel delighted and humbled. Once again thank you for your feedback... More

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room we were given on the 9th floor was clean and pleasant but the air con was very noisy. Bed was quite comfy and big, lots of pillows. The shower was a problem. Lukewarm at best and no different when I ran a bath, not a pleasant experience. The breakfast was also uninspiring, soggy pastries, gluggy eggs and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review

Dear Robyne A Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative. I apologised for the disappointment caused by the air conditioning and temperature of water in your room; I will... More

Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed recently on a Thursday night up on the 8th floor. The noise was absolutely terrible coming from the bar on the ground at the back of the hotel, this went on with live music until midnight, then more music and noise until after 1am. I called at 11.15 and again at 11.35 and asked for another room, was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review

Dear kaz773 Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. I am truly sorry to hear that you did not get the good night’s sleep that you were anticipating; if we had an alternative room available, we would have been more than happy to assist you with a room... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a King size executive room and were given a small queen size room. When I mentioned this to the management to their credit changed our room to the twelth floor, that was a King size room. And so they should have, seeing we paid for a King Room. They did this very quickly, so you have to question whether... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review

Dear 883kathye Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative. I apologise that you did not initially receive a room with a king bed as booked and for the quality... More

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our 2 nights stay, service was ok the room and view was excellent. The room had just been updated very comfortable excellent furniture and I couldn't believe it 2 comfortable chairs to sit in, not like most hotels 1 chair. Breakfast was good value and well worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review

Dear Steve M Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative. It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay. Our breakfast is definitely great... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
24 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good value for money. Spacious accommodation and very quiet even though the area was rather manic, the actual accommodation was well back from the main street. Staff were helpful. It felt like we were in the "red light" district (we were). I never felt unsafe, but the area was a hit seedy. It was close to the shops, bars and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review

Dear KiwiKerry53 Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative. It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay. We look forward to welcoming you... More

Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this hotel thro Hotelclub. Great deal including breakfast and wifi. Car parking security undercover in basement under hotel just $18/- a day. A steal compared to other car parks. Breakfast was excellent. Staff in breakfast area were very friendly and humble. We could even get cooked eggs of our choice. Unlimited high quality coffee and cappuchinos and surprise was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review

Dear JoshFromOz Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative. It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commending the staff and hotel... More

Banstead
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was OK and the room reasonably large. We were on the tenth floor in room 1008, at the back of the hotel, and the view was not inspiring! We had booked a deluxe room but reception said they had 'upgraded' us. In retrospect I wonder if this was in view of my wife and I being of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review

Dear hatmanBanstead Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley due... More

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on the 11th floor with a great view. Very nice facilities, close to CBD, public transport and Rundle Mall. Value for money. Restaurant is good, catered quite well for people with allergies. Beds are extremely comfortable and clean. WIFI is brilliant and doesn't lag. Staff are all very friendly and polite. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Member Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative. It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commending the staff... More

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn
Address: 65 Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Adelaide)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 180 well appointed rooms, including 40 suites. Each suite has a spacious lounge and kitchenette, ideal for longer stays. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.